9/14, Atlas.PM 228, +2.5 74, +4 93, +4.75 100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Of course the bean thought she wouldn't need to get up at 1am for the 6 hour test. He was running in the pinks last night, not wanting to seem to budge. I was so, so very tired from work yesterday and just wanted a sound rest last night...

That was not to be the case. Atlas was quite the fuss last night. About 3am he got rewarded with a 1/4 can of EVO. Yes, I was running late last night and bought several cans from work. Expensive, but at least low carb. Silly bean though didn't test. I probably should have done the groggy test.

An AMps this morning of 251. So I don't know if that is real or already a bounce in progress. We're holding the dose through the rest of today.

Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24842
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251

This is the start of your 7th cycle at this dose, right Blue? It sure is nice to see a yellow start, isn't it? This is his first decent AMPS sine the beginning! YAY Atlas!!! :mrgreen: Good boy!! I bet you would like to try those blues on for size again right? Go for it dude!
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, +2 352

AAAARRRRGGGGHHHHH! :dizcat

Too bad we don't have a smiley of a bouncing cat!

I've got all day to think about a doscrease...

Well, off TBP....
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251

hey, attie! im a lil yellow today too...have a good day while Blue is at TBP.

binks
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251

Was this the first time you've fed EVO? Jill mentioned over the weekend that Alex will often throw higher numbers for a brief time with a new food -- even if it's very low carb.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251

No this isn't the first time we've fed EVO, but the first time since going on Lantus.

We just did a reading after I got home and we're at 273.

Is it possible that big bad red number was a late food spike? Because it sure appears he dropped back down after I left for work.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228

Shhh.....be very,very quiet....we're hunting blue numbers and maybe a surfboard?!

Is it finally falling into place!!! :o
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228

hey, Blue...binks has a surfboard he'd be more than happy to let Attie use any old time!!

looking good!

celi & Binks
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

whoa! you might want to feed a little bit of hc or hc gravy on top of lc here to slow the drop and retest @ +3.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

zooooom!

I agree, a wee bit of gravy might help slow things down. See ya at +3.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

whoa! green is cool - but slow down there Atlas. Has he been to the Mannie school of diving? :? I hope not...

nice numbers for Atlas.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

perfect. How about a tsp or two of LC to help Atlas stay on that surfboard... Then test in an hour.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

Let's just say I couldn't put the plate down fast enough. Attie knocked it out of my hand to get it to the floor faster!!! :lol:

I don't think he is in hypo "danger," but this is what is written up about NEEDING to test him. He did this on N too. I thought it was just the N?
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

Libby and Lucy said:
perfect. How about a tsp or two of LC to help Atlas stay on that surfboard... Then test in an hour.


See you in an hour! 11pm.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

We have a game of chase the MudCat!!!!

Oh my...I think Attie feels better now...

Test in 20 minutes.
 

Attachments

  • Muddy 007.jpg
    Muddy 007.jpg
    170.5 KB · Views: 1,247
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

I'd love to need Bink's surfboard right about now...

but...

Has there ever been discussion drinking11 of how to "prevent" the dreaded bounce effect?


You know and I know...Atttie is going to boing!!!! but, he is above the protocol numbers for a docrease?
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

some use food to manipulate the curve. in other words, they'll feed the curve to prevent kitty from dropping quickly and/or going too low. fast drops and numbers lower than what kitty is used to seem to be at the root of big bounces. sienne/gabby has been using this method because gabby loves the fast early drop. i use this method with alex to keep her in green without allowing her to drop too low. of course, sometimes she has other ideas! lol!

however, it's a slow and gradual process. most expect too much too soon.
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

Libby and Lucy said:
Mudcat looks a lot like my Chessie (GA).


She is a sweet thing...very skittish though.

She has been the one to really suffer as she was used to grazing, until Attie the kitty garbage disposal came along!!!
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas AMps 251, Pstt...PM 228, +2.5 74

Jill & Alex said:
some use food to manipulate the curve. in other words, they'll feed the curve to prevent kitty from dropping quickly and/or going too low. fast drops and numbers lower than what kitty is used to seem to be at the root of big bounces. sienne/gabby has been using this method because gabby loves the fast early drop. i use this method with alex to keep her in green without allowing her to drop too low. of course, sometimes she has other ideas! lol!

however, it's a slow and gradual process. most expect too much too soon.


I normally feed 1/2 dinner at about 6:30ish with the then bedtime snack & test at 9-10ish...

Mornings are similar in that they get 1/2 upon wakening and 1/2 before I leave for work.

Obviously the snack & test tonight was more like a jaw dropper. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/14, Atlas.PM 228, +2.5 74, +4 93

Jill mentioned how I have been using food to try to keep Gabby's numbers from diving. As a bit of context, Gabby has been known to have pre-shots in the 400s and a nadir in the 40s and then bounce! Her numbers were all over the map. We're past that (I think) although she still has a penchant for drama.

If you look at her SS, you'll see that she can have fast, early drops. Beginning at the end of April, what I've done is to front load the cycle with food. Gabby's food for the cycle is spread out at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3. Rather than one large meal, the food is evenly divided into 4 "servings." The day's food is on board, in small, evenly divided amounts as the Lantus onset begins. Over the 4 or 5 months that I've been doing this, Gabby's cycle has flattened out and there aren't the extreme bounces. (I also give a small snack at +8 which on many occasions has dropped Gabby's pre-shot number.)

I also intervene with HC so that her numbers don't drop too low. I'm trying to prevent her from earning dose reductions and keep her in numbers above the 50s for as long as possible. I think this has also helped to flatten out her curve. You can see where I've done this in the comments section on Gabby's SS.

If you decide to use this approach, the response is not instantaneous. It takes a period of weeks, if not months to have these changes take effect. I suspect it takes a bit of time because it results in small changes in overall metabolism.
 
It is hard to tell with Attie, if this will be a norm for him or not.

What I see more as the norm is the slow slide down to a nadir at +12. Even last night he was still dropping going into his evening nadir. The food technique might be the same as to fuel him up at +10 or +11, rather than deny food in the last two hours of the cycle.

We shall see how this all shakes out this morning.

Off to build the new condo!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top