9/13 Toeby AMPS 243, +3 106, +5 67, +7 128, PMPS 248, +3 122 - bounce?

Laurasboyz

Member Since 2020
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tch-back-to-slgs-from-tr.252669/#post-2851234

I'm still having a hard time understanding Toeby's numbers.

Last night he was yellow at +3, and his preshot this morning was yellow again.
It made me think that his reduced dose was not keeping him low enough.
Then, at +3 this morning his BG's were less than half of his preshot - he was 106, and at +5 he's 67.
To my mind, that's a fairly substantial and quick drop.
So now I'm wondering if he could have gone really low yesterday while I was out, and this is a bounce?
Any thoughts?
 
Your signature says SLGS but the ss says TR. Which is correct?

SLGS, Elise... I changed it on my International page, the one I fill data in on.... I assumed it changed the US page, but it didn't.
Sorry about that.
It's corrected now.
I changed to SLGS on September 9th, which if I understood Chris correctly, really only means I have changed the point at which i don't shoot (I'm no longer going to go as low as 50) and probably the frequency of dose changes - because of my data collection over the summer...

I'm at what I think is the lowest dose that I can measure now - 1 drop, so to me, the next steps can only be either no insulin, staying the course, or an increase back to 0.10.
 
SLGS, Elise... I changed it on my International page, the one I fill data in on.... I assumed it changed the US page, but it didn't.
Sorry about that.
It's corrected now.
I changed to SLGS on September 9th, which if I understood Chris correctly, really only means I have changed the point at which i don't shoot (I'm no longer going to go as low as 50) and probably the frequency of dose changes.
I'm at what I think is the lowest dose that I can measure now - 1 drop.

It’s ok. I was just clarifying. The problem as I see it is he’s not ready to go off insulin. With SLGS he’s earned a reduction but he’s not showing that he will have a successful remission and he’s on the lowest dose. There’s no such thing as waiting for 3 tests under 90 with SLGS. So I don’t know what to suggest other than switching back to TR. Maybe someone else will reply. @Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie Thoughts?
 
His supper preshot is high at 248 - I gave him a snack at AM +9, which has been recommended to me.

I gave him Friskies that I have marked down at being 14% carb, or Medium Carb (albeit on the high side of the range) and I think that must have pushed him way up.
Maybe it was higher than 14% or maybe he just reacted strongly to it??
He has been running around 180 at suppertime.
 
It’s ok. I was just clarifying. The problem as I see it is he’s not ready to go off insulin. With SLGS he’s earned a reduction but he’s not showing that he will have a successful remission and he’s on the lowest dose. There’s no such thing as waiting for 3 tests under 90 with SLGS. So I don’t know what to suggest other than switching back to TR. Maybe someone else will reply. @Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie Thoughts?
Any reason to not go back to TR? That would leave him at the doses longer.

You can also feed a higher carb food.
 
Any reason to not go back to TR? That would leave him at the doses longer.

You can also feed a higher carb food.

Hi Marje,
Forgive me if I come across dense, but I get a little lost in the semantics of the TR and SLGS.
I do NOT have any gumption any longer for giving him insulin with preshots in the 50-72 range.
He's gone low on me many times, and the last time, last Wednesday, he was really difficult to bring back up and out of lime greens - it was a bit scary.
I read that it is not really proper to modify the protocol too much, so I decided to switch from TR to SLGS last Thursday, so that if I asked for help, people would know I wanted a higher threshold for him.
I can call it TR but I'm not going to give him insulin if he gives me a 51 preshot reading.
I'm not sure what you mean by "leaving him at the doses longer" because I can't give him any less than I am right now?

The idea of feeding him higher carb food intrigues me... maybe that's the answer?!
It's been easy to find low carb pates - our LC shelf of tins and pouches is flush with Fancy Feast, Performatrin, Wellness, Weruva, etc.
I have found it hard to find many MC varieties that he will eat, in 10-14 %.
But if that's the answer, maybe I need to spend more time looking at the lists and seeing what the local stores have.

Edited to add: we do feed Stella and Chewy's, his brother's favourite, and I think that might be MC...
 
Last edited:
Try looking for something in the 8-9% carb range. Still low carb, but higher low carb. That might allow you to give him that higher dose without him diving.

How long have you been trying the +9 feed experiment? Not sure it's working.
 
How long have you been trying the +9 feed experiment? Not sure it's working.

Hi Wendy!
I started trying to give him a +9 snack a month or so ago when it was first suggested to me.
I have to be with him for it because there is no guarantee he eats food that is down for him (i.e. to use a timed feeder).
Toeby will eat a +9 if I am home to mix up a snack with some warm water and feed it to him with some fanfare.
Other wise he is happy to sleep through most +9 times, and food sits in his bowl.
I haven't noticed a difference on the cycles that he gets a +9 to the ones he does not, but I know nothing.

The only guarantee is that both of them will ignore food until the bowls are taken up 2 hours before shot time at +10, and then they'll howl for something to eat at +10.5 or +11.
Most days I listen to my DH lecture them with a 15 minute warning that the bowls are getting picked up, and it falls on deaf, furry, (but cute) ears.
Cats.
;)
 
Hi Marje,
Forgive me if I come across dense, but I get a little lost in the semantics of the TR and SLGS.
I do NOT have any gumption any longer for giving him insulin with preshots in the 50-72 range.
He's gone low on me many times, and the last time, last Wednesday, he was really difficult to bring back up and out of lime greens - it was a bit scary.
I read that it is not really proper to modify the protocol too much, so I decided to switch from TR to SLGS last Thursday, so that if I asked for help, people would know I wanted a higher threshold for him.
I can call it TR but I'm not going to give him insulin if he gives me a 51 preshot reading.
I'm not sure what you mean by "leaving him at the doses longer" because I can't give him any less than I am right now?

The idea of feeding him higher carb food intrigues me... maybe that's the answer?!
It's been easy to find low carb pates - our LC shelf of tins and pouches is flush with Fancy Feast, Performatrin, Wellness, Weruva, etc.
I have found it hard to find many MC varieties that he will eat, in 10-14 %.
But if that's the answer, maybe I need to spend more time looking at the lists and seeing what the local stores have.

Edited to add: we do feed Stella and Chewy's, his brother's favourite, and I think that might be MC...
I understand and you do not sound dense. I appreciate your honesty.

So let’s forget TR and stick with SLGS. If you feed him a higher carb food in the range Wendy suggested, it could bring the lows up and prevent him from earning a reduction by dropping below 90. We’ve had it work before so how about trying that?

Could I ask a favor please? Can you click the US tab on his SS and drag it left so it’s in the default position? When we click on the link in your signature, it should open the US tab and it opens the World tab right now. Thank you!
 
Could I ask a favor please? Can you click the US tab on his SS and drag it left so it’s in the default position? When we click on the link in your signature, it should open the US tab and it opens the World tab right now. Thank you!

Done.
I enter my data on the World tab as my glucometer can only give me mmol/L readings (there's no option for mg/dL), and his vet wants to see mmol/L, so that's why it was in the first position.
I'll try to be sure the US tab is back into the default position on those times I ask questions.

It's worth noting that changes made on the World tab don't always get pulled over to the US tab, so World page users always have to check to see if their info carries over.
I have shades of colours added for my own use on the World tab, that you don't see on the US tab.
The days he gets Budesonide are shaded grey, and I have beige boxes on any days he vomits.
 
Haha...
Can I just add that I love Murphy's Law.... we just bought $132.20 worth of cat food yesterday afternoon, most of which was low carb pates and pouches... LOL
Sigh.
:banghead:
 
Done.
I enter my data on the World tab as my glucometer can only give me mmol/L readings (there's no option for mg/dL), and his vet wants to see mmol/L, so that's why it was in the first position.
I'll try to be sure the US tab is back into the default position on those times I ask questions.

It's worth noting that changes made on the World tab don't always get pulled over to the US tab, so World page users always have to check to see if their info carries over.
I have shades of colours added for my own use on the World tab, that you don't see on the US tab.
The days he gets Budesonide are shaded grey, and I have beige boxes on any days he vomits.
Thank you. If you are having issues getting data to transfer to the US sheet, please PM me and I’ll check it for you to see if it has lost formatting.
Haha...
Can I just add that I love Murphy's Law.... we just bought $132.20 worth of cat food yesterday afternoon, most of which was low carb pates and pouches... LOL
Sigh.
:banghead:
Oh gosh! Well….. They don’t usually expire too quickly and if we can get him into remission, they’d be usable but it’s a pain to go buy other food when you’ve just spent that much. I understand that!
 
Back
Top