9/13 Snoball AMPS=132 PMPS=147

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobinCot

Member Since 2013
Decided to get in the water today.

Gave a fur shot to Nuzzles this morning. So frustrated. This cat does not need a fur shot. Her skin is so thin and her hair is so long, it was bound to happen but it worries me that she won't have any insulin in her system today :sad:
 
Re: 9/13 Snoball AMPS=132

Robin,

I don't know the back story on Nuzzles but a thought because Autumn was in horrible shape when I adopted her and she is long haired. Where are you shooting Nuzzles? Also you mentioned her skin is thin...Cushing thin or just horribly under weight thin?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/13 Snoball AMPS=132

I am using short needles and shooting the shoulder scruff. It is the only place I can pull up skin without matted fur on top.

Nuzzles is my temporary foster who is in really bad shape due to the neglect of her owners who took her as a diet-controlled diabetic and somewhere along the line they got lazy and fed her dry food. They ignored her declining health and dumped her in a shelter at 14 years old, 4.5 pounds, with matted fur, UTI, ear infections, etc. The rescue agency was called and recognized her when they picked her up at the pound. She is much too skinny to hunger her into transition right now. We are trying to build fat on her. She has none so skin is very thin and needle often goes right through tent. I angled the needle down instead of sideways but it still went through and squirt my hand. She goes to her permanent foster on Tuesday. Hopefully she will be able to pay more attention this dear kitty. I am hoping she will become active on this board so we can continue to help her. She rarely gets a number on the meter but swings very low at night.

So sad but she is a sweetheart. I can see why they are trying to save her - she attaches very easily to people. Right out of the kennel she came right up to me and started nuzzling my neck and giving kisses. Back then she had a silent cry but now she manages a squeak. She just wants to follow me around and cry and be scratched and sits on my arm and nuzzles while I am trying to log numbers on the charts.
 
Re: 9/13 Snoball AMPS=132

*tears* OMG She is Autumn all over again. If you want the complete back story look for Lulu on DCIN's blog spot. But the reader's digest version: left 10+ months with no insulin or diet change, 548bg and moderate ketones. So matted that I couldn't even get a needle in her skin. Plus so dehydated that her ears were like thin beef jerky.

Here is how I turned her around. first shaved her and discovered the mats had worn holes in her skin. Then plopped a full can of pate Friskies in front of her and as fast as she emptied it I would refill it. In the early days she was eating 3-4 cans a day. If Nuzzles will eat wet and I'm assuming she will since she was eating once diet controlled ditch the dry and just shovel all the wet she can stuff in her face at her.

What a lot of folks don't realize is that not all carbs are created equal. Carbs from proteins are easier for her body to break down than those from grains. Plus you want calories not carbs to add weight. and you can feed her a ton of food but without enough insulin she can't use any of it so the higher the carb load in the more insulin needed to off set it so she can gain. weight. Insulin is the key to unlock the cells of the body so it can use what she eats.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 9/13 Snoball AMPS=132

Unfortunately Nuzzles will not eat anything wet - not even the HC stuff, not raw, not tuna, not bacon, no people food... and she picks through and pulls the Wellness Core dry food to the floor so she can get to the kitten chow. It is quite the mess after she has eaten. I have been putting wet in the middle of her dry food so she gets used to the smell - she eats around it. Gaining muscle weight is first and foremost right now. I hate it - I vowed that dry food would never be brought into my house again but had to back down to keep this little girl alive. When I give the shot properly, I can get it through the skin and she doesn't even flinch. She struggles with testing only because the inside of her ears have issues. If it were up to me, I would definately shave her. Those little knots on her tummy are so uncomfortable. She loves the cold floor. The rescuers who own her don't want to stress her out. I don't know why or even how people do this to these defenseless little souls. It is hard to say but the kindest thing they could have done (besides giving her back to rescue - which was an option) is euthanize her. She should not have to live like this because of their neglect. Their answer when the rescuers called them was that they "couldn't be bothered."

When she came out of the vet they lowered her dosage down to 1u BID Lantus because she dipped to 100 overnight. I have gradually increased it to 2u and got some numbers to register but not many. Her SS is dismal. The dry food is going to kill her but I can't starve her right now. All I can do is pray that the new foster (who I am told is a nurse and has adopted all her cats as rescues and just lost two of them) will work with this board to get her well again. She will be new to FD.

Nuzzles is quite the tenacious little thing. Climbed herself over the lower baby gate the first week I had her. Walks right past all the hissing civvies and Snoball without a care in the world except for where I am and what I am doing.
 
Snoball is staying flat and the meter on Nuzzles test said "why bother" :lol:

I did get a full 2 units in her tonight
 
Hopefully that flat cycle is an omen of an upcoming active one. I so feel for you with Nuzzles I remember how many times I sat and cried over and for Autumn when we first adopted her. I could understand not seeing well enough to give insulin, but I couldn't understand how someone couldn't at least keep her brushed & then learning she at some point been shot with a shotgun just sicken me. How can people be so cold to these sweet souls?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Hey Mel, Sno is pretty flat most of the time. Not a 'hint' with him, it seems.

I can't into the other discussion ya'll are having, it's too painful for me. But I hope your happy!!! Cause of you 2, I've decided to foster/adopt another sugar cat when I get my own place. :evil: :lol: Can't help it. :-D
 
They are addictive

Just say when I and we will help you pick a good one and if it needs transported through NE I'm driving a leg. :-)

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
I'm sure there are many on the east coast that need a home, but should I not find one closer, I'll hold you too it! :-D
 
Bless your heart my friend, Debbie. Glad to hear it you are going thinking of adopting another sugarkitty!

I will be sad to see Nuzzles go but will be glad when she is in a home where she is the only sick kitty and can get much needed attention.
 
Nice numbers Sno! :thumbup

I would have NEVER given thought to having another sugar cat while Lucian was on Lantus. Because I am so much less stressed now, I can see me doing it. Lucian is not the norm, by any means, but now he acts more like an fd cat should. I'm not near as mentally, emotionally or physically stressed as I was before he went on Lev. I could handle another one like that. :-D But not till I get my own house.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top