Re: 9/13 Snoball AMPS=132
Unfortunately Nuzzles will not eat anything wet - not even the HC stuff, not raw, not tuna, not bacon, no people food... and she picks through and pulls the Wellness Core dry food to the floor so she can get to the kitten chow. It is quite the mess after she has eaten. I have been putting wet in the middle of her dry food so she gets used to the smell - she eats around it. Gaining muscle weight is first and foremost right now. I hate it - I vowed that dry food would never be brought into my house again but had to back down to keep this little girl alive. When I give the shot properly, I can get it through the skin and she doesn't even flinch. She struggles with testing only because the inside of her ears have issues. If it were up to me, I would definately shave her. Those little knots on her tummy are so uncomfortable. She loves the cold floor. The rescuers who own her don't want to stress her out. I don't know why or even how people do this to these defenseless little souls. It is hard to say but the kindest thing they could have done (besides giving her back to rescue - which was an option) is euthanize her. She should not have to live like this because of their neglect. Their answer when the rescuers called them was that they "couldn't be bothered."
When she came out of the vet they lowered her dosage down to 1u BID Lantus because she dipped to 100 overnight. I have gradually increased it to 2u and got some numbers to register but not many. Her SS is dismal. The dry food is going to kill her but I can't starve her right now. All I can do is pray that the new foster (who I am told is a nurse and has adopted all her cats as rescues and just lost two of them) will work with this board to get her well again. She will be new to FD.
Nuzzles is quite the tenacious little thing. Climbed herself over the lower baby gate the first week I had her. Walks right past all the hissing civvies and Snoball without a care in the world except for where I am and what I am doing.