9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 +4.5=72 +5=94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Last night's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125210

Yesterday's Recap:
AMPS = 206
+4 = 146
+8 = 111
PMPS = 143
+3 = 109
+6 = 34 *Fed 1 tsp HC FF Gravy Lovers Chicken
+6.5 = 62
+7 = 60 *Fed 1/3 can of FF Turkey
+7.5 = 91

Scully earned her second reduction last night by dropping to 34 at +6. Mama bean is tired this morning! I expected a high number this morning from a bounce, but she's looking really good. We've reduced her dose from 1.25 U to 1 U this morning at her AM dose. I will continue to hold this dose, but I have an issue with tonight's injection. DH and I are going to be gone from +6 of her AM cycle today until about +6 of her PM cycle tonight. No one will be here to monitor, but my mom is going to come over to feed her dinner and give her her insulin. QUESTION: What dose should I have my mom shoot tonight? She will NOT test before shooting. I will get a test this morning at +4 and +6 before we leave, and as Scully is a grazer, food is left out for her to eat whenever she wants. I was leaning toward .5 U, but I would appreciate any and all advice from those of you with much more experience and knowledge than me. Thanks in advance for your help!

Tara & Scully
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

There will be others to chime in....
but imho, your plan is a good one.

You'll know as the cycle progresses today.....
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Scully has already dropped to 45 at +4. What was I thinking giving her a full 1 U this morning when I knew I wouldn't be around after +6 of this cycle??? She ate about 1/3 can of FF Turkey at around +3.5. She's eating 1 tsp FF Gravy Lovers Chicken right now. I'll retest in 20 minutes. No signs of hypo. She's acting fine.

Unlike last night, I will make sure to get two rising BG readings NOT influenced by food. My mistake on that last night. I figured "91" at +7.5 was safe and she wouldn't drop below 50 after that.
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Another diving kitty this morning? :shock: What is goin' on around here?

When is Scully's usual nadir?
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

She's pretty consistent at +5 - +7, with the majority right around +6.
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Hopefully she'll come up for you before you have to leave. If not, I would probably leave lots of high-carb food out when you go. I wonder if skipping altogether tonight might not be a bad idea. With low numbers the past two cycles, it might help the depot drain a bit??? Hopefully others will chime in soon.
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 +4.5=72 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

She's risen to 72 at +4.5. I will retest again in 30 minutes without feeding. And you can be sure I will NOT leave this house until I'm certain Scully is safe. I'm inclined to think maybe we should skip tonight's dose, too. I'm open to any and all suggestions.
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

That 45 was probably the depot from the 1.25 you shot last night. I wouldn't reduce again as we don't normally do back to back reductions.

For tonight, another option that might work time wise, and also help drain the depot, is two back to back 18 hours shot cycles. That means shooting at +18 tonight (which would have been her normal +6), then skipping tomorrow morning - and sleeping in :cool: , then shoot tomorrow night at regular PMPS time, which would be 18 hours after her last shot.
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 +4.5=72 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Glad to see she's gone up (whew).....and that Wendy was able to give you some suggestions about tonight's shot.
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 +4.5=72 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Wendy, I like that 18 hour idea. On the reduction, I wasn't planning on reducing again from 1 U down to .75 U. Is that what you meant? Or did you mean not to reduce from 1.25 to 1 U? Sorry, I just want to be completely certain I understand. Thanks!
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 +4.5=72 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

I meant what you are planning - stick to the 1U for now. There have been a few people lately that have used the 18 hour schedule. Kitties don't seem to get off track as much as skipping.
 
Re: 9/13 Scully AMPS=172 +4=45 +4.5=72 PM DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

OK great! I was a little worried about losing momentum when she's been doing so well recently, so hopefully the 18 hour dose will keep her going .... safely! Thank you sooo much!!
 
Good morning, Tara.

Good catch this morning. Scully seems to be on a mission. Wendy is one of our smartest advisers and you are in great hands with her, and Shelly, too. The 18 hour cycle is perfect for your situation. It will also give Scully's ears a break! :-D I hope you enjoy your day - it's great that you can get out and have someone to feed and check in on Scully while you're gone. FD can be very stressful - especially when your kitty is determined to sprint down the dosing scale the way Scully seems to be!
 
Wendy is one of our smartest advisers and you are in great hands with her, and Shelly, too.

Definitely not me - I just try to provide "err on the side of caution" advice until more experienced users can chime in. ;-)

Glad to see Scully didn't dip back down on you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top