? - 9/13 Harvey AMBG 37 +.5 40 +2 70 +3.75 44 +5 44 +6.25 58 +7.5 67 +12 90 PMBG 90 +2 108 +4.25 111 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 9/13 Harvey AMBG 37 +.5 40 +2 70 +3.75 44 +5 44 +6.25 58 +7.5 67 +12 90 PMBG 90 +2 108 +4.25 111

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member since 2011
9/12 Recap
.75 units bid
AMPS: 182
AM+4: 155
PMPS: 156

Last Condo

We got home late last night (went straight to bowling – first night of season).

No shot this morning, obviously. Just tested and he's at 90. He is eating. Should we shoot tonight or not? If so, how much? Right now, we're leaning towards skipping. Need to decide in next 15 minutes.

Picked up Harvey this morning, and Dawn greeted me with “Take your cat home! He’s doing it again!” She was only half-joking. He gave her a rough time this weekend.

As I posted Saturday, he didn’t look well, not eating or urinating. Pooped on himself. Threw up a little overnight. His AMPS was 100, her “no shot” number, so she skipped. She called me and said he was dehydrated, so I gave permission for fluids. He perked up after that and ate. Didn’t pee until later in the day. She gave more fluids that night. He ate better so he got his shot.

Sunday morning he looked much better. Wouldn’t eat, at first, so she gave him his Ond & Cypro, and after that he started meowing and pacing in his cage. He was a little unsteady getting in and out of the box, and wasn’t pooping, but was trying, so she gave him Lactulose. He ate a bit after that, but he dropped to the 40s. She gave him more fluids (I never thought to tell her not to give them if his BG was low). He hit the 20s. She started texting me in a panic. She had a lot of trouble getting blood from his ears (which had never been a problem for her before). I was on the open water with no signal, and when we finally got to Long Beach I checked my phone and called her. By then she had him up to 57. She was really worried about him, and we discussed taking him to the ER, but I got her calmed down and we made a plan that she felt comfortable with. Needless to say, no shot that night!

He did better yesterday, but this morning he was back down again. She didn’t get a midcycle test last night – was exhausted and her boyfriend didn’t wake her up when he was supposed to for her to test. Harvey greeted her with a 37 at AM shot time! She got him up to 70, but he dropped back down again to 44. That’s what he was at when I got there. I rubbed some karo on his gums and packed him up. He was very lethargic and weak. She was very concerned. I was, too.

I called our regular vet and they were booked solid with only one vet on duty. I took him home and he perked up a bit. He stumbled around, went straight to his food dish. He ate an entire can of FF in an hour! His back legs are very weak – he falls over when he tries to walk too fast. He was meowing weakly at first but finally stopped that. I called UCD Oncology and got an appointment for 9 tomorrow morning. If he’s any worse tonight, we’ll go to the ER.

I’m not sure I’ll sleep tonight. I'm watching him like a hawk. He’s lost a pound in the past two weeks, even though he’s eaten his “needed” amount of calories almost every day. I have a sinking feeling it’s the lymphoma. Please keep him in your prayers.

 
Last edited:
9/12 Recap
.75 units bid
AMPS: 182
AM+4: 155
PMPS: 156

Last Condo

We got home late last night (went straight to bowling – first night of season).

No shot this morning, obviously. Just tested and he's at 90. He is eating. Should we shoot tonight or not? If so, how much? Right now, we're leaning towards skipping. Need to decide in next 15 minutes.

Picked up Harvey this morning, and Dawn greeted me with “Take your cat home! He’s doing it again!” She was only half-joking. He gave her a rough time this weekend.

As I posted Saturday, he didn’t look well, not eating or urinating. Pooped on himself. Threw up a little overnight. His AMPS was 100, her “no shot” number, so she skipped. She called me and said he was dehydrated, so I gave permission for fluids. He perked up after that and ate. Didn’t pee until later in the day. She gave more fluids that night. He ate better so he got his shot.

Sunday morning he looked much better. Wouldn’t eat, at first, so she gave him his Ond & Cypro, and after that he started meowing and pacing in his cage. He was a little unsteady getting in and out of the box, and wasn’t pooping, but was trying, so she gave him Lactulose. He ate a bit after that, but he dropped to the 40s. She gave him more fluids (I never thought to tell her not to give them if his BG was low). He hit the 20s. She started texting me in a panic. She had a lot of trouble getting blood from his ears (which had never been a problem for her before). I was on the open water with no signal, and when we finally got to Long Beach I checked my phone and called her. By then she had him up to 57. She was really worried about him, and we discussed taking him to the ER, but I got her calmed down and we made a plan that she felt comfortable with. Needless to say, no shot that night!

He did better yesterday, but this morning he was back down again. She didn’t get a midcycle test last night – was exhausted and her boyfriend didn’t wake her up when he was supposed to for her to test. Harvey greeted her with a 37 at AM shot time! She got him up to 70, but he dropped back down again to 44. That’s what he was at when I got there. I rubbed some karo on his gums and packed him up. He was very lethargic and weak. She was very concerned. I was, too.

I called our regular vet and they were booked solid with only one vet on duty. I took him home and he perked up a bit. He stumbled around, went straight to his food dish. He ate an entire can of FF in an hour! His back legs are very weak – he falls over when he tries to walk too fast. He was meowing weakly at first but finally stopped that. I called UCD Oncology and got an appointment for 9 tomorrow morning. If he’s any worse tonight, we’ll go to the ER.

I’m not sure I’ll sleep tonight. I'm watching him like a hawk. He’s lost a pound in the past two weeks, even though he’s eaten his “needed” amount of calories almost every day. I have a sinking feeling it’s the lymphoma. Please keep him in your prayers.
oh my. This is not at all good. I'm glad you got Harve more stable, but I'm waiting for your report after he's seen by the UCD oncologist.
 
We're piling on tons of prayers from here. Personally I'd hold off on shooting until you get a better feel for everything that's going on....
 
I agree on the no shot tonight.....No need to add any more worry to the night than you're already going through

Sending prayers and vines for Harvey and truly hope whatever is going on is quickly fixable and not the C-word :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
9/12 Recap
.75 units bid
AMPS: 182
AM+4: 155
PMPS: 156

Last Condo

We got home late last night (went straight to bowling – first night of season).

No shot this morning, obviously. Just tested and he's at 90. He is eating. Should we shoot tonight or not? If so, how much? Right now, we're leaning towards skipping. Need to decide in next 15 minutes.

Picked up Harvey this morning, and Dawn greeted me with “Take your cat home! He’s doing it again!” She was only half-joking. He gave her a rough time this weekend.

As I posted Saturday, he didn’t look well, not eating or urinating. Pooped on himself. Threw up a little overnight. His AMPS was 100, her “no shot” number, so she skipped. She called me and said he was dehydrated, so I gave permission for fluids. He perked up after that and ate. Didn’t pee until later in the day. She gave more fluids that night. He ate better so he got his shot.

Sunday morning he looked much better. Wouldn’t eat, at first, so she gave him his Ond & Cypro, and after that he started meowing and pacing in his cage. He was a little unsteady getting in and out of the box, and wasn’t pooping, but was trying, so she gave him Lactulose. He ate a bit after that, but he dropped to the 40s. She gave him more fluids (I never thought to tell her not to give them if his BG was low). He hit the 20s. She started texting me in a panic. She had a lot of trouble getting blood from his ears (which had never been a problem for her before). I was on the open water with no signal, and when we finally got to Long Beach I checked my phone and called her. By then she had him up to 57. She was really worried about him, and we discussed taking him to the ER, but I got her calmed down and we made a plan that she felt comfortable with. Needless to say, no shot that night!

He did better yesterday, but this morning he was back down again. She didn’t get a midcycle test last night – was exhausted and her boyfriend didn’t wake her up when he was supposed to for her to test. Harvey greeted her with a 37 at AM shot time! She got him up to 70, but he dropped back down again to 44. That’s what he was at when I got there. I rubbed some karo on his gums and packed him up. He was very lethargic and weak. She was very concerned. I was, too.

I called our regular vet and they were booked solid with only one vet on duty. I took him home and he perked up a bit. He stumbled around, went straight to his food dish. He ate an entire can of FF in an hour! His back legs are very weak – he falls over when he tries to walk too fast. He was meowing weakly at first but finally stopped that. I called UCD Oncology and got an appointment for 9 tomorrow morning. If he’s any worse tonight, we’ll go to the ER.

I’m not sure I’ll sleep tonight. I'm watching him like a hawk. He’s lost a pound in the past two weeks, even though he’s eaten his “needed” amount of calories almost every day. I have a sinking feeling it’s the lymphoma. Please keep him in your prayers.
OF course prayers and purrs from all of us. Please give Harvey a kiss on his nose from Antie Kathy.
 
Sending lots of good thoughts and feel better vines for Harvey. And hugs for you. :bighug::bighug::bighug: I would definitely skip the shot too...
 
I'm glad you skipped tonight. Now isn't the time to "shoot low" - which you already know.

Sending all the healing power of Lantus Lev Land to your sweet boy. And a special hug, too.
maxresdefault.jpg
 
(((Tricia))), SKIP tonight for sure.

Yo Deputy Harvey, I want you to feel better and to eat yer fuds. I'm sending you some super dooper vines. Feel better, good buddy,
LagoonMeister Rusty
 
More hugs and healing white light coming from me. I'm hoping it's just part of the cycle of ups and downs that comes with IBD/lymphoma. :bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much everyone. :bighug: Sorry I didn't respond sooner. We did skip. Harvey ate a couple of bites of food, but didn't want much. I just gave him some tummy meds and am about to give him some fluids. He's very lethargic. I am very stressed. Please keep those vines and prayers coming. I just can't lose him so soon after the others... :(:nailbiting:
 
Oh my gosh, how stressful (((Tricia))) I'm sorry Harvey is not doing well:(. I've been thinking of you a lot the last few days hoping he was feeling better, I wish I lived closer so I could be there for you instead of just in spirit/online. Harvey, feel better soon and eat your fuds, please. Appy and healing Vines, prayers, and hugs!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, everyone. He ate a little more, licked up the juice from some Max Cat venison. He got his fluids (75 mls), which have not completely absorbed yet after two and a half hours. He seemed to perk up a little after the first 25 mls were in. He kept lifting up his left leg like it was really hurting, so I gave him .1 mls of Bupe. He insisted on going upstairs again to get a drink. :rolleyes: He's holding pretty flat despite no insulin in more than 24 hours.
 
Hugs, Tricia :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am just reading about this now. I am keeping Harvey and you in my good thoughts,
and sending a truckload of healing vines to Harvey.
 
Thanks, Gill, Dyana and Suzi. Harvey is eating pretty well now. I am now thinking part of his problem is that his eyesight has deteriorated. He got lost trying to get to the litter box and peed on the floor, something he never does. I don't think he has much vision left. We need to get him strong so he can have his cataracts removed.
 
. I am now thinking part of his problem is that his eyesight has deteriorated.
Does Harvey BG drop when he is stressed?
Just wondering as his eyesight is bad, perhaps he got quite disorientated at Dawn's and that the stress caused his BG to drop.??
Some more scritches for Harvey.
Hope you can get some rest before your 9am appointment.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad he's eating better and I'm sure he's happy to be home in familiar surroundings and have you to snuggle.
 
Fluids definitely can contribute...Trix had that issue when she was on the juice. I hope Harvey is feeling much better today....
 
Sending prayers and healing vines, I really hope Harvey is back to his normal self soon. :bighug:My other cat has cataracts too and he is practically blind now. The vet didn't mention about a possibility to have them removed. Maybe it's just not done in my country to cats. How amazing that your Harvey could get his sight back.
 
Sending prayers and healing vines, I really hope Harvey is back to his normal self soon. :bighug:My other cat has cataracts too and he is practically blind now. The vet didn't mention about a possibility to have them removed. Maybe it's just not done in my country to cats. How amazing that your Harvey could get his sight back.

I believe you need to have a specialist-an eye surgeon, who completed a residency in animal's eyes. I think it's an extra 2 or 3 years of study and apprenticeship, after completing veterinary school and internship, so they are not easy to find, and they are very pricey.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top