Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey
Member since 2011
9/12 Recap
.75 units bid
AMPS: 182
AM+4: 155
PMPS: 156
Last Condo
We got home late last night (went straight to bowling – first night of season).
No shot this morning, obviously. Just tested and he's at 90. He is eating. Should we shoot tonight or not? If so, how much? Right now, we're leaning towards skipping. Need to decide in next 15 minutes.
Picked up Harvey this morning, and Dawn greeted me with “Take your cat home! He’s doing it again!” She was only half-joking. He gave her a rough time this weekend.
As I posted Saturday, he didn’t look well, not eating or urinating. Pooped on himself. Threw up a little overnight. His AMPS was 100, her “no shot” number, so she skipped. She called me and said he was dehydrated, so I gave permission for fluids. He perked up after that and ate. Didn’t pee until later in the day. She gave more fluids that night. He ate better so he got his shot.
Sunday morning he looked much better. Wouldn’t eat, at first, so she gave him his Ond & Cypro, and after that he started meowing and pacing in his cage. He was a little unsteady getting in and out of the box, and wasn’t pooping, but was trying, so she gave him Lactulose. He ate a bit after that, but he dropped to the 40s. She gave him more fluids (I never thought to tell her not to give them if his BG was low). He hit the 20s. She started texting me in a panic. She had a lot of trouble getting blood from his ears (which had never been a problem for her before). I was on the open water with no signal, and when we finally got to Long Beach I checked my phone and called her. By then she had him up to 57. She was really worried about him, and we discussed taking him to the ER, but I got her calmed down and we made a plan that she felt comfortable with. Needless to say, no shot that night!
He did better yesterday, but this morning he was back down again. She didn’t get a midcycle test last night – was exhausted and her boyfriend didn’t wake her up when he was supposed to for her to test. Harvey greeted her with a 37 at AM shot time! She got him up to 70, but he dropped back down again to 44. That’s what he was at when I got there. I rubbed some karo on his gums and packed him up. He was very lethargic and weak. She was very concerned. I was, too.
I called our regular vet and they were booked solid with only one vet on duty. I took him home and he perked up a bit. He stumbled around, went straight to his food dish. He ate an entire can of FF in an hour! His back legs are very weak – he falls over when he tries to walk too fast. He was meowing weakly at first but finally stopped that. I called UCD Oncology and got an appointment for 9 tomorrow morning. If he’s any worse tonight, we’ll go to the ER.
I’m not sure I’ll sleep tonight. I'm watching him like a hawk. He’s lost a pound in the past two weeks, even though he’s eaten his “needed” amount of calories almost every day. I have a sinking feeling it’s the lymphoma. Please keep him in your prayers.
.75 units bid
AMPS: 182
AM+4: 155
PMPS: 156
Last Condo
We got home late last night (went straight to bowling – first night of season).
No shot this morning, obviously. Just tested and he's at 90. He is eating. Should we shoot tonight or not? If so, how much? Right now, we're leaning towards skipping. Need to decide in next 15 minutes.
Picked up Harvey this morning, and Dawn greeted me with “Take your cat home! He’s doing it again!” She was only half-joking. He gave her a rough time this weekend.
As I posted Saturday, he didn’t look well, not eating or urinating. Pooped on himself. Threw up a little overnight. His AMPS was 100, her “no shot” number, so she skipped. She called me and said he was dehydrated, so I gave permission for fluids. He perked up after that and ate. Didn’t pee until later in the day. She gave more fluids that night. He ate better so he got his shot.
Sunday morning he looked much better. Wouldn’t eat, at first, so she gave him his Ond & Cypro, and after that he started meowing and pacing in his cage. He was a little unsteady getting in and out of the box, and wasn’t pooping, but was trying, so she gave him Lactulose. He ate a bit after that, but he dropped to the 40s. She gave him more fluids (I never thought to tell her not to give them if his BG was low). He hit the 20s. She started texting me in a panic. She had a lot of trouble getting blood from his ears (which had never been a problem for her before). I was on the open water with no signal, and when we finally got to Long Beach I checked my phone and called her. By then she had him up to 57. She was really worried about him, and we discussed taking him to the ER, but I got her calmed down and we made a plan that she felt comfortable with. Needless to say, no shot that night!
He did better yesterday, but this morning he was back down again. She didn’t get a midcycle test last night – was exhausted and her boyfriend didn’t wake her up when he was supposed to for her to test. Harvey greeted her with a 37 at AM shot time! She got him up to 70, but he dropped back down again to 44. That’s what he was at when I got there. I rubbed some karo on his gums and packed him up. He was very lethargic and weak. She was very concerned. I was, too.
I called our regular vet and they were booked solid with only one vet on duty. I took him home and he perked up a bit. He stumbled around, went straight to his food dish. He ate an entire can of FF in an hour! His back legs are very weak – he falls over when he tries to walk too fast. He was meowing weakly at first but finally stopped that. I called UCD Oncology and got an appointment for 9 tomorrow morning. If he’s any worse tonight, we’ll go to the ER.
I’m not sure I’ll sleep tonight. I'm watching him like a hawk. He’s lost a pound in the past two weeks, even though he’s eaten his “needed” amount of calories almost every day. I have a sinking feeling it’s the lymphoma. Please keep him in your prayers.
Last edited: