Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73 +7 87 +9 147
We have a list of things to think about when having the dentals done Celi....each vet varies from another in how long they want the kitty to fast.
I will speak of my experience....They are to fast from midnight right through until after the dental. No insulin the morning of the dental. (last dental for Shadow, I reduced his dose on my own the night before after talking it over with people here. I was afraid of him going too low overnight and with my having him fast, that would be a problem if his insulin drove his numbers down.)
Some vets cancel the dental if the numbers are too low in the morning of the dental.
I drop them off at 8am and usually pick them up between 2pm and 4pm. One time I needed to give Clavamox for 2 weeks after the dental due to infected gums, last time I did not have any ABs for Shadow after. (it is recommended that you do not take the Convenia shot...lasts 14 days...Clavamox is safer if ABs are needed)
My two never seemed wobbly or sick when I picked them up and they ate normally that evening.
However, some kitties are really knocked out by the anesthesia and one has to take it slow when reintroducing food. A tablespoon at a time to start and then in an hour, a little more food.
Depending on the work that needs to be done, the kitties usually have better BG numbers within a few days after the dental...Binks is looking good already so that is not the case with him
You might want to take a look at this too:
http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com/lib ... hesia.html
I am sure others will come by with suggestions for you to think about....