9/13 Binks +9 147 pmps 166 +1 170 +3 149 +11 269

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 vet checkup 2day

Good morning Celi & Binks...
Beautiful numbers on Binks' SS..see what the right dose finally can do? :mrgreen:
Sending good vetty vines to Binks and you today...hope it all goes smoothly and that you have a good meeting with the vet....
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 vet checkup 2day

Hey Binks! Good luck at the vet! Don't worry - it will be over soon. My bean wants to take me today too: I have an injured paw. I think she worries too much. ~~ Mannie

Nice amps!
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 vet checkup 2day

wow...everybody's up & around in LL today! thanks for the catch, Pat...hopefully i'll remember what car i drive & where we're going. :)
thanks for the well-wishes everyone...

and sienne...i think you are right...this has been a great even run for him.

celi


now for the IMPORTANT question: i know this kimono really brings out the color of my eyes...but does it make my butt look fat??
hey, mannie...want to ride with us? you gotta see how this bean drives, dude! hope your paw feels better.

Dorothy B
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 vet checkup 2day

Mr. Binks looks good today!!
Hope you guys have a good vet visit!!
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73

good vet trip- everything in verra good shape except had to schedule a dental cleaning next monday. vet copied all fdMB paperwork...still excited about the forum and DCIN.
binks doesnt enjoy the drive but loves the vet.

fed minimeal at +5...only had 1/2 rations this a.m.

thanks for all the well wishes, everyone!

celi

FEED DE B !!!

binks
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73

i'm glad you asked that, Pat...

the vet is going to call me in next day or so. she wanted to do some research on how best to work it so he's getting the Lantus, but not fasting...

any thoughts?

celi and binks
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73 +7 87

he's hanging in those greens...

had to go to MY vet appt, which should have been 45 mins, but of course was 1hr, and half...left MC out for him...but still at 87.

lucky bean
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73 +7 87

What a beautiful SS Binks...er..Dorothy has lately! Glad the vet visit went well! I'm no help on the dental instructions, I'm sure others will be along to help you out! Keep on surfing, Dorothy! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73 +7 87 +9 147

i told him "look, if you can't decide on which name suits you, why dont you combine the initials...and use BD? now he's all sulky cuz he thought i said "beady", maybe meaning his eyes...geez, sometimes these sensitive ones...

celi & offended B
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73 +7 87 +9 147

We have a list of things to think about when having the dentals done Celi....each vet varies from another in how long they want the kitty to fast.

I will speak of my experience....They are to fast from midnight right through until after the dental. No insulin the morning of the dental. (last dental for Shadow, I reduced his dose on my own the night before after talking it over with people here. I was afraid of him going too low overnight and with my having him fast, that would be a problem if his insulin drove his numbers down.)

Some vets cancel the dental if the numbers are too low in the morning of the dental.
I drop them off at 8am and usually pick them up between 2pm and 4pm. One time I needed to give Clavamox for 2 weeks after the dental due to infected gums, last time I did not have any ABs for Shadow after. (it is recommended that you do not take the Convenia shot...lasts 14 days...Clavamox is safer if ABs are needed)
My two never seemed wobbly or sick when I picked them up and they ate normally that evening.
However, some kitties are really knocked out by the anesthesia and one has to take it slow when reintroducing food. A tablespoon at a time to start and then in an hour, a little more food.

Depending on the work that needs to be done, the kitties usually have better BG numbers within a few days after the dental...Binks is looking good already so that is not the case with him

You might want to take a look at this too: http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com/lib ... hesia.html
I am sure others will come by with suggestions for you to think about....
 
Re: 9/13 Binks amps 136 +1 127 +5 73 +7 87 +9 147

wow...great looking numbers today!!!

Dental...nope...but I am sure others will be around to give you great advice!!!
 
Re: 9/13 Binks +5 73 +7 87 +9 147 pmps 166

wow, pat...i know you do it for love, but you should do this for a living. thanks for the info...the vet asked me to get some thoughts from the forum...gotta love the ones that are willing to get input.

hi, Blue! how's Atlas?

having a lil trouble getting around, so havent had a chance to visit any condos 2day...binks been going round calling me "hobbledy-bean" 2day.

i dare say he's not mourning the lack of hourly ear pokies...


hope everyone's having an enjoyable & healthy day
celi & binks
 
Re: 9/13 Binks +5 73 +7 87 +9 147 pmps 166

Do me a favour?
I don't ask for much do I?
:lol:

Can you mark your SS for when the dental is, that will help us for a reminder.
And remind here in your condo's a couple days in advance too.

K, that's all! :-D
 
Re: 9/13 Binks +5 73 +7 87 +9 147 pmps 166 +1 170

after all you guys have done for us, i'd get you a Lexus if i could, Ronnie.
in the meantime, i'll just update the SS and post the reminder a few days early :)

Binks and Festus
(for those old enough to recall Gunsmoke)
 
Re: 9/13 Binks +5 73 +7 87 +9 147 pmps 166 +1 170

SmartKitty.gif


um yea, a Lexus is nice, but we don't drive.
I'll settle for a new bike thou! :lol:

Have a good nite Celi!
 
Re: 9/13 Binks +5 73 +7 87 +9 147 pmps 166 +1 170

Here's a list that Jill sent to me a million years ago. (my vet did not do 1 & 2)

1). pre-dental antiobiotic - clindamyacin (begin 5 days prior to dental)
2). have pre-dental x-rays done.
3). have bloodwork done.
4). monitor blood pressure with doppler machine.
5). monitor heart rate.
6). IV fluids - only if needed. place an IV cath prior to procedure so there is quick veinous access, but don't need fluids unless kidneys are compromised.
7). anesthesia - Isoflurane? or sevo? either of these are good choices.
8). do you administer pain meds during the dental and after? would like buprenex if there are extractions.
9). post dental antiobiotics - administer clindamyacin for 5 days post-dental. do not give 14 day covenia shot.
10). use fortiflora (probiotic) while on antibiotics.
11). perform post dental x-rays to make sure nothing was missed.

vet told me to fast her for 8 hours before the procedure. water was allowed. give full dose of insulin the night before... half dose or skip shot in the morning (depending on her numbers). she's on levemir. instructions for kitties on vetsulin may be different. instructions may also vary from one vet to another.

in case no one has mentioned it, the anesthesia can have a blood glucose lowering effect after the dental for some cats. you may opt for a reduced PM dose after the dental just in case shadow is one of these kitties. be sure to monitor that night.

Hope that helps you a little more Celi. :razz:
 
Re: 9/13 Binks +7 87 +9 147 pmps 166 +1 170 +3 149

looks like Cap'n A-stab is headin' for bed, so i guess i'll have to post my own +3. hope i didn't miss any parties with my buddies today...

g'nite, guys!

Binks
 
Re: 9/13 Binks +7 87 +9 147 pmps 166 +1 170 +3 149

Careful what you wish for, Ronnie! With binks' love for all things judy garland...he'd most likely send a replica of the bike ridden by the Wicked Witch!

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top