Jen&Eddie
Member Since 2013
Eddie's 8/10 Condo
Yesterday: AMPS/162, +1/274, +2/222, +2.5/236, +6.5/125, +6/120, +10.5/344, PMPS/400, +1/390, +2/370, +3/273, +5/203, +6/196, +11/121
Today: AMPS/101 (10%), +1/102 (10%), +2/71 (13%), +2.5/50 (17%), +3/52 (10%), +3.5/39 (ICE CREAM/17%), +4/59, +4.5/70, +5/62, +5.5/69, +6/73, +9/169, +10.5/318, PMPS/465, +1/387, +2.5/254, +3.5/188, +4/154, +5/130, +6/113
Good morning LL,
Eddie's decided I needed to call in sick this morning, hence the morning condo. Thankfully I have nothing on my work calendar today, so it shouldn't be a huge deal for me to come in late today. Didn't get an Eddie condo up last night, as I fell asleep after work, and woke up at a time when most people without diabetic cats would be going to bed, was awake for a couple hours, then fell back asleep on the couch until about 4:00 AM this morning (hence the PM +11 test! :lol: ).
Anyway, Eddie earned a reduction on 9/10 when he hit 39. Since he's iffy about holding reductions, I shaved him 1/8 unit down to 1.75 rather than taking a full 0.25u reduction, which we had done successfully in the past. Since he didn't bounce right away after surfing green for several hours after the 39 during the PM cycle of 9/10, I didn't shoot through the bounce. This morning was the third dose of the reduction. Yesterday, he looked like he might surf blue during the AM cycle but then bounced badly before PM - probably a delayed bounce off the 39. He slid all the way down from the bounce last night and I happened to catch a +11 this morning because the kitties were bouncing on my sleeping head on the couch this morning, and Eddie was at 121. Since he was lower (101) at AMPS this morning, I knew it would probably be a busy cycle, so I fed higher carb. starting with AMPS in an effort to hold him up...but to no avail. We hit 39 at +3.5, and lucky Eddie got some ice cream again.
So, I'm wondering what, if anything to do with his dose tonight? Is there enough of a difference in the depot between 1.875u versus our new dose of 1.75 for that to account for the 39 this morning? He was also obviously bounce clearing, and Eddie is notorious for the momentum he gets behind a bounce clearing slide. On the other hand, he did get a fair bit of extra carbs this AM (see food notes above) and still hit 39. Thoughts?
Happy Friday LL! Vines and hugs to all beans and kitties in need and congratulations to Marilyn and Polly on successful completion of SRT and on Skunky's OTJ trial.
Yesterday: AMPS/162, +1/274, +2/222, +2.5/236, +6.5/125, +6/120, +10.5/344, PMPS/400, +1/390, +2/370, +3/273, +5/203, +6/196, +11/121
Today: AMPS/101 (10%), +1/102 (10%), +2/71 (13%), +2.5/50 (17%), +3/52 (10%), +3.5/39 (ICE CREAM/17%), +4/59, +4.5/70, +5/62, +5.5/69, +6/73, +9/169, +10.5/318, PMPS/465, +1/387, +2.5/254, +3.5/188, +4/154, +5/130, +6/113
Good morning LL,
Eddie's decided I needed to call in sick this morning, hence the morning condo. Thankfully I have nothing on my work calendar today, so it shouldn't be a huge deal for me to come in late today. Didn't get an Eddie condo up last night, as I fell asleep after work, and woke up at a time when most people without diabetic cats would be going to bed, was awake for a couple hours, then fell back asleep on the couch until about 4:00 AM this morning (hence the PM +11 test! :lol: ).
Anyway, Eddie earned a reduction on 9/10 when he hit 39. Since he's iffy about holding reductions, I shaved him 1/8 unit down to 1.75 rather than taking a full 0.25u reduction, which we had done successfully in the past. Since he didn't bounce right away after surfing green for several hours after the 39 during the PM cycle of 9/10, I didn't shoot through the bounce. This morning was the third dose of the reduction. Yesterday, he looked like he might surf blue during the AM cycle but then bounced badly before PM - probably a delayed bounce off the 39. He slid all the way down from the bounce last night and I happened to catch a +11 this morning because the kitties were bouncing on my sleeping head on the couch this morning, and Eddie was at 121. Since he was lower (101) at AMPS this morning, I knew it would probably be a busy cycle, so I fed higher carb. starting with AMPS in an effort to hold him up...but to no avail. We hit 39 at +3.5, and lucky Eddie got some ice cream again.
So, I'm wondering what, if anything to do with his dose tonight? Is there enough of a difference in the depot between 1.875u versus our new dose of 1.75 for that to account for the 39 this morning? He was also obviously bounce clearing, and Eddie is notorious for the momentum he gets behind a bounce clearing slide. On the other hand, he did get a fair bit of extra carbs this AM (see food notes above) and still hit 39. Thoughts?
Happy Friday LL! Vines and hugs to all beans and kitties in need and congratulations to Marilyn and Polly on successful completion of SRT and on Skunky's OTJ trial.