9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +3.5/39, +9/163, PMPS 465, +6/113

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 8/10 Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/162, +1/274, +2/222, +2.5/236, +6.5/125, +6/120, +10.5/344, PMPS/400, +1/390, +2/370, +3/273, +5/203, +6/196, +11/121
Today: AMPS/101 (10%), +1/102 (10%), +2/71 (13%), +2.5/50 (17%), +3/52 (10%), +3.5/39 (ICE CREAM/17%), +4/59, +4.5/70, +5/62, +5.5/69, +6/73, +9/169, +10.5/318, PMPS/465, +1/387, +2.5/254, +3.5/188, +4/154, +5/130, +6/113

Good morning LL,

Eddie's decided I needed to call in sick this morning, hence the morning condo. Thankfully I have nothing on my work calendar today, so it shouldn't be a huge deal for me to come in late today. Didn't get an Eddie condo up last night, as I fell asleep after work, and woke up at a time when most people without diabetic cats would be going to bed, was awake for a couple hours, then fell back asleep on the couch until about 4:00 AM this morning (hence the PM +11 test! :lol: ).

Anyway, Eddie earned a reduction on 9/10 when he hit 39. Since he's iffy about holding reductions, I shaved him 1/8 unit down to 1.75 rather than taking a full 0.25u reduction, which we had done successfully in the past. Since he didn't bounce right away after surfing green for several hours after the 39 during the PM cycle of 9/10, I didn't shoot through the bounce. This morning was the third dose of the reduction. Yesterday, he looked like he might surf blue during the AM cycle but then bounced badly before PM - probably a delayed bounce off the 39. He slid all the way down from the bounce last night and I happened to catch a +11 this morning because the kitties were bouncing on my sleeping head on the couch this morning, and Eddie was at 121. Since he was lower (101) at AMPS this morning, I knew it would probably be a busy cycle, so I fed higher carb. starting with AMPS in an effort to hold him up...but to no avail. We hit 39 at +3.5, and lucky Eddie got some ice cream again.

So, I'm wondering what, if anything to do with his dose tonight? Is there enough of a difference in the depot between 1.875u versus our new dose of 1.75 for that to account for the 39 this morning? He was also obviously bounce clearing, and Eddie is notorious for the momentum he gets behind a bounce clearing slide. On the other hand, he did get a fair bit of extra carbs this AM (see food notes above) and still hit 39. Thoughts?

Happy Friday LL! Vines and hugs to all beans and kitties in need and congratulations to Marilyn and Polly on successful completion of SRT and on Skunky's OTJ trial.
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39

Sorry, can't help with your questions. Eddie does seem determined to get that ice cream, though. Up, my man and try to make things a little easier, ok.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59

As Kim (& Twice) once said to me, "Holy bounce breakers, Jersey." Just insert Eddie's name in that statement! :shock:

When Jersey was toeing the 50 line, I went ahead and took a reduction. At the time, some others had told me not only to consider the number itself but also how hard it was to get her up/keep her up. I know that doesn't answer your questions at all, but I just wanted to throw one more variable into the equation to make this decision even more difficult for you. :lol:

In seriousness, though.....I'll be watching to see what experienced members have to say. Whatever you decide to do, paws are crossed that it will work. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59

Thanks Marilyn and Shelly!

Eddie just doesn't make it simple to figure out what to do with him. @-) He rarely follows the same pattern for more than a couple weeks, so whatever worked before (higher dose, food manipulation, etc.) stops working, and we have to figure out something else. @-)
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59

Shelly & Jersey said:
Deliberate plotting on his part, Jen, deliberate plotting....... ;-)

Deliberate plotting...to get more ice cream! dancing_cat
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59, +4.5/70, +5/

30's mean business. I'd skinny him down again tonight. He might have wanted a bigger decrease last time.

And now I've got a craving for ice cream. :lol:
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59, +4.5/70, +5/

It's great to see Eddie going down the dosing scale successfully. I wish he could get Max to join him.
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59, +4.5/70, +5/

Wow! How lucky that you were able to take the day off. Eddie really wanted you at home today (to serve ice cream, apparently)! Nice catch. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Congratulations on the reducie.
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59, +4.5/70, +9/

I left for work at AM +6 since he was staying up without additional food for over 2 hours. Ran back home really quick at AM +9 to see where he was at, and Eddie was super excited to see me. He was at 169, so the bounce has started, but looking back, these early dives have often caused him to be in the stinky pinkies by +9, so I'm not going to complain too much. ;-)

Wendy&Neko said:
30's mean business. I'd skinny him down again tonight. He might have wanted a bigger decrease last time.
And now I've got a craving for ice cream. :lol:

Thanks Wendy. That's what I'll plan on doing, although I may shoot through the bounce tonight. It occurred to me after giving Eddie his ice cream this morning, and licking the extra off the spoon, that I had just licked the designated cat food spoon, and had also been using it to scoop ice cream. Guess that ice cream will be just for Eddie. :-D

tiffmaxee said:
It's great to see Eddie going down the dosing scale successfully.

Hi Elise! It's exciting, but I sort of dread reductions, too, since we went all the way down from 2.5u to 1u at one point, and then had to climb all the way back up to 2.75u. The climbing all the way back up part is a bummer. I hope maybe eventually the bouncing will settle down some, too, although he is clearing them really fast.

Tricia & Cinco said:
Wow! How lucky that you were able to take the day off. Eddie really wanted you at home today (to serve ice cream, apparently)!

Hi Tricia, yeah, thankfully my work calendar was clear this AM. I figured it was going to be a busy cycle, and told DH before he left for work that it was his turn to call in sick to do PCPCPC and I guess he thought I was kidding. :-|

Fingers crossed that the bounce isn't too horrible and/or that it clears quickly.
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +2/71, +3.5/39, +4/59, +4.5/70, +9/

Sorry, but I had to laugh about the ice cream spoon. I'm sure it still tasted good. I'm sure Eddie won't mind having his own ice cream.

Congrats on the reducie. I hope Eddie doesn't bounce too high tonight.
 
Re: 9/12 Eddie AMPS 101, +3.5/39, +9/163, PMPS 465, +3.5/188

Hi Carla! Thanks for stopping by. I think Eddie is a fan of the new low numbers ice cream routine. ;-)

Huge bounce tonight, which was not unexpected. I did shoot through the bounce, and Eddie appears to be in a HUGE hurry to get out of yucky numbers and back into blues (and maybe even greens at this rate??) tonight.

Eddie - if you're in such a big hurry to get off the red and pink floors, wouldn't it be easier just to not go there in the first place? ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top