9/11 Elmo AMPS 550 +4 162 +5 161 +6 140 + 7 139 + 7.5 114 + 8.5 155 PMPS 91. NO SHOOT

He's doing well-- nice blue surf, Elmo! And in the daytime too!
Yes, in the day light hours ...when sleep does not occur for me !!! My goal right now is to keep him from diving and causing a black bounce....I'd rather his surfing be higher and hopefully stay away from the dreaded HI snd black ...hate seeing what those do to him ...is that a correct thot process on that ? @Nan & Amber
 
That's the hope-- by slowing the dive and keeping him in more familiar numbers (such numbers to be hopefully decreased over time!), you are trying to put a damper on bounces. Of course, some kitties just like the trampoline no matter what you do :rolleyes:-- let's hope Elmo gets tired of his!
 
Also I think I'm seeing that when he does a quick, deep dive that I need to immediately go for , at the least, a LC MC mix....LC doesn't seem to phase him
 
That's the hope-- by slowing the dive and keeping him in more familiar numbers (such numbers to be hopefully decreased over time!), you are trying to put a damper on bounces. Of course, some kitties just like the trampoline no matter what you do :rolleyes:-- let's hope Elmo gets tired of his!
Yes yes yes ...if he hits a yellow should I try to keep him there ? Like right now , with no food , he is mid 100s...it's a lovely blue but I'd rather he be higher ...today I've let him be in blue ..will watch his response...think I'd rather he be yellow after dreaded HI and black ...
 
My goal right now is to keep him from diving and causing a black bounce
Next time, try and not feed at +6 and repeat - you are trying to find his lowest (safe) point and let him surf at that for the longest possible. Food later in the cycle will shorten the affect of the insulin.

Good boy Elmo!
 
So now leave him be for an hour and see where he is ? He really has no pattern , rhythm or rhyme that I can discern ...it's frustrating ..not sure what to do next ??? Been poking him every half hour most of day ...glad I bought higher gauge lancets :)
 
Is steering him to stay in yellow " safe surfing " for Elmo at this point in time ?? Should I steer him away from blues to avoid the black bounce ?? This is the stuff running around in my head ...glad to have y'all for experience and insight :bighug:
 
Is steering him to stay in yellow " safe surfing " for Elmo at this point in time ?? Should I steer him away from blues to avoid the black bounce ??

I'm not sure anyone other than Elmo can answer these questions, to be honest! And I don't know that you want to drive yourself too crazy trying to fine-tune these things with a specific target like that-- there are always going to be multiple factors at play and you can't control all of them. Sometimes it's just the speed of the initial drop that does it, for example, no matter where he surfs after that.

To answer your question, I was looking at Elmo's spreadsheet a bit, and noticed two recent days (9/5 and 9/8) where he never got below yellow but bounced anyway. The 9/8 was noticeably more mild than the 9/5-- maybe he's already starting to get used to the lower numbers?
 
To answer your question, I was looking at Elmo's spreadsheet a bit, and noticed two recent days (9/5 and 9/8) where he never got below yellow but bounced anyway. The 9/8 was noticeably more mild than the 9/5-- maybe he's already starting to get used to the lower numbers?

I'm going to revise this slightly. Looked again at 9/8, and I'm not sure that even qualifies as a bounce-- maybe just the regular up-and-down of a cycle. But the point still stands, he is maybe already getting used to yellows, and even dropping from red to yellow in a cycle!
 
I'm going to revise this slightly. Looked again at 9/8, and I'm not sure that even qualifies as a bounce-- maybe just the regular up-and-down of a cycle. But the point still stands, he is maybe already getting used to yellows, and even dropping from red to yellow in a cycle!
Thanks so much , Nan :bighug: Part of this is his age ...not wanting to put him thru a lot for the time that remains ...if he was younger, as he was 3 years ago, yes ....but with an iffy thyroid and iffy kidneys and now this ....Not that we are impatient for immediate results .....we are willing to let this play out for foreseeable future ....just want him comfy ...he is and has been a sweetheart these 19 plus years and is so far tolerating the pokes and prods pretty well ..our goal is his comfort, not to extend his life .....hard to know, hard to know
 
It is a very difficult day for me too. I will never forget. Ever.

My company was located on the 91st floor of WTC1. Thankfully everyone made it out.

This is an article/interview that was done by Lloyds of two of our employees. I downloaded it a few years ago - it is no longer available on the web.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1EtFL1W_tDwwMbnfKFU7FK9sLIrQXO9_V
I read the article. Sorrow, grief, anger, relief for the survivors, and back to heart rending sorrow. I know there are some people, probably younger people that wouldn't remember "where were you when it happened?" but I will as long as I have memory. Nowhere near the catastrophe, but getting ready for the first day of a new job and watching the news..watching footage of a plane crash into a tower and just horrified.

Thank you for sharing that article Lizzie, we should not forget.
 
Hi Beth! You don't really want to take the AMPS off your title, but some of those middle tests, like the half hour tests for example. Just my thought! Keep that last 114 though. You want your numbers to tell the story . . .
You've come a long way already:) I love how you want your sweet Elmo to be comfortable in his elder years.
 
Thank you for sharing that article Lizzie, we should not forget.
I was driving to work. About 10 min away. All I kept thinking was "is it our building? Is it where our office is?" It was confusing because we always called them WTC1/WTC2 vs North & South towers which was how the news was reporting.

There were very few tv's in the building at that time. No internet (overloaded) so we were all crowded around the tv's in the gym. When our building fell (wtc1/north) we were all crying. We didn't know if they had made it out. I went to the bathroom and threw up.

The next couple of days were crazy. We went to Frys and bought computers, monitors and printers and then rented a u-haul and a couple of guys drove the stuff up to NJ to set the displaced employees up in our port office there. Our primary hardware vendor hired a truck to drive to Atlanta to pick up more computers and servers in Atlanta and get them to NJ by the time our network guys got there. (Remember all flights were grounded and we knew everything would be back logged). We had the employees back up within a week.

All the executives from NY were in Houston for board meetings.
 
Thank you, Paula :bighug: Thot it was my phone or me :eek: So you start removing an early test to make room for latest test ? Start by removing AMPS ? Thank you for all your help :bighug:

Leave the AMPS. Take out the +2, +3.5, +4, +5 for now as long as they are on the ss. Do keep the +7.5
 
:bighug:
I was driving to work. About 10 min away. All I kept thinking was "is it our building? Is it where our office is?" It was confusing because we always called them WTC1/WTC2 vs North & South towers which was how the news was reporting.

There were very few tv's in the building at that time. No internet (overloaded) so we were all crowded around the tv's in the gym. When our building fell (wtc1/north) we were all crying. We didn't know if they had made it out. I went to the bathroom and threw up.

The next couple of days were crazy. We went to Frys and bought computers, monitors and printers and then rented a u-haul and a couple of guys drove the stuff up to NJ to set the ❤️ employees up in our port office there. Our primary hardware vendor hired a truck to drive to Atlanta to pick up more computers and servers in Atlanta and get them to NJ by the time our network guys got there. (Remember all flights were grounded and we knew everything would be back logged). We had the employees back up within a week.

All the executives from NY were in Houston for board meetings.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:❤️
 
What do I do y'all ?? He has been dropping like a rock all day....I am NOT confident in shooting a 91 ..that I know
 
Lowest he went today was 114 and then I fed some MC and he shot back to 155 ...let him alone cos testing all day ..now this :eek:
 
Beth, with all the steering you did today to keep him from free falling and with that pre-shot, I'd be reluctant to tell you to shoot that 91. Under normal circumstances with TR you'd work your way down to shooting that number but you've never had such a low pre-shot.

Have you fed Elmo already? when did you last "prop" him up? I'd at least stall and see if he is rising on his own yet if you haven't fed for at least 2 hours.
 
LINDA !!!! You are my sanity !! He nibbled ab half an hour ago ....should I feed him now ? Did recheck test and it was 87
 
He has been headed this way all day ....tried my best to level him out to at least high blues ...
 
Oh, gosh, Elmo! You really have your own way of doing things, don't you???

Did recheck test and it was 87

Well, that's flat from the 91, but hardly encouraging if you were thinking of shooting. Was the 87 a "stall" 87 (i.e., after waiting a half hour) or just a "check strip" re-check? If the second, I think stalling (without food) is still worth a shot just in case he'll let you shoot, but I don't have high hopes on this one, given his overall trajectory!
 
Oh, gosh, Elmo! You really have your own way of doing things, don't you???



Well, that's flat from the 91, but hardly encouraging if you were thinking of shooting. Was the 87 a "stall" 87 (i.e., after waiting a half hour) or just a "check strip" re-check? If the second, I think stalling (without food) is still worth a shot just in case he'll let you shoot, but I don't have high hopes on this one, given his overall trajectory!
Was a check strip ....I can recheck in 10 minutes ...
 
Oh, and congratulations on another :D.

Now we just have to have him work on his timing some more [Elmo: "hey, I thought you wanted me to do my diving during the day rather than night-- what more do you want from me???"]
 
Yeah !!! All the smart people agree !!! What can he have to eat ??? Is wanting food ...going to check once more ...do I need to try to slow down his drop ??
 
Back
Top