9/10 Smudge: AMPS 284, +3 148, +6 112, +9 165, PMPS 207, +2 153, +5.75 152

Generally when following TR, a skipped shot restarts the cycle count. That green yesterday would mean you hold the dose for 5 days, 10 cycles.
But since Smudge is newly diagnosed and had DKA, I think @Bron and Sheba (GA) is better suited to answer your question.
 
After a skip when following TR, the cycle count starts again.
However with DKA in the picture, we can look at increasing sooner if needed.
As you have just seen green, Angela is correct, you hold the dose for 10 cycles from the first green.
Are you testing daily for ketones in the urine? It is important we know if there are any ketones at all every day at this point.
How is Smudge’s appetite. Are you giving him plenty of snacks during both cycles?
 
After a skip when following TR, the cycle count starts again.
However with DKA in the picture, we can look at increasing sooner if needed.
As you have just seen green, Angela is correct, you hold the dose for 10 cycles from the first green.
Are you testing daily for ketones in the urine? It is important we know if there are any ketones at all every day at this point.
How is Smudge’s appetite. Are you giving him plenty of snacks during both cycles?
Thank you Bron. I ketone test daily if possible - I have the ketone meter ready at every test and when the poke draws enough for both the human and ketone meter, I run it. His ears are still "learning to bleed" and are sore, so trying to take it easy. I will be getting tests every other day at the least. The vet said they are not concerned about ketones for now because of how he was able to clear the 1.2 that morning (from the skipped dose) within a matter of hours with food and water (I did not give fluids).

His appetite is always fantastic. He eats 4 full cans of FF Classic every day (a full can at "meal" time, and a half can 4 times throughout the day/night). He also gets lots of freeze dried chicken treats for every poke, which typically fall in between the half can feedings. Occasionally he will be extra hungry and I'll open 5th can if he needs it.
 
That is very good his appetite is so good. Food helps keep ketones away.
I don’t agree with your vet about not worrying about ketones. If you can get a test in each day, that will tell us if the balance of the food and insulin and fluids is right and if a trace of ketones does appear, we can get onto it quickly so it does not become a problem.
If you could put all the results of the ketone tests into the remarks column of the SS, that would be very helpful thanks.
 
That is very good his appetite is so good. Food helps keep ketones away.
I don’t agree with your vet about not worrying about ketones. If you can get a test in each day, that will tell us if the balance of the food and insulin and fluids is right and if a trace of ketones does appear, we can get onto it quickly so it does not become a problem.
If you could put all the results of the ketone tests into the remarks column of the SS, that would be very helpful thanks.
148 @ +3
0.1 AMBK.

Hungry and asked for his mid-morning snack. :smuggrin:
Looks like he may coast into the green again today.
 
Awesome ketones test result! And very nice +6. No need to rush this increase, can probably stick to what the protocol says.

Smudge's DKA is still very much evident in the rear view mirror, so we need to maintain vigilance regarding ketones. We've seen too many kitties here return to a bad state quickly. I've grown fond of Smudge's nose smudge, so want to keep seeing that face.
 
Awesome ketones test result! And very nice +6. No need to rush this increase, can probably stick to what the protocol says.

Smudge's DKA is still very much evident in the rear view mirror, so we need to maintain vigilance regarding ketones. We've seen too many kitties here return to a bad state quickly. I've grown fond of Smudge's nose smudge, so want to keep seeing that face.
I'm still trying to wrap my head around increasing itself (the why with the when), so continued guidance there would be great.

His nose smudge is too cute. I found he has a small one on his chin too from one of his chin scratch requests.
 
Back
Top