9/10 Smudge: AMPS 284, +3 148, +6 112, +9 165, PMPS 207, +2 153, +5.75 152

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by allicatmeow, Sep 10, 2023.

  1. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    Staci & Ivy and Angela & Cleo like this.
  2. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Generally when following TR, a skipped shot restarts the cycle count. That green yesterday would mean you hold the dose for 5 days, 10 cycles.
    But since Smudge is newly diagnosed and had DKA, I think @Bron and Sheba (GA) is better suited to answer your question.
     
    allicatmeow likes this.
  3. Mikanmama

    Mikanmama Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2023
    Good morning Alli!
    Nice going yesterday with a green BG! :D
    Hope Smudge comes down nicely today for you! :bighug:
     
    allicatmeow likes this.
  4. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    After a skip when following TR, the cycle count starts again.
    However with DKA in the picture, we can look at increasing sooner if needed.
    As you have just seen green, Angela is correct, you hold the dose for 10 cycles from the first green.
    Are you testing daily for ketones in the urine? It is important we know if there are any ketones at all every day at this point.
    How is Smudge’s appetite. Are you giving him plenty of snacks during both cycles?
     
    Angela & Cleo and allicatmeow like this.
  5. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    Thank you Bron. I ketone test daily if possible - I have the ketone meter ready at every test and when the poke draws enough for both the human and ketone meter, I run it. His ears are still "learning to bleed" and are sore, so trying to take it easy. I will be getting tests every other day at the least. The vet said they are not concerned about ketones for now because of how he was able to clear the 1.2 that morning (from the skipped dose) within a matter of hours with food and water (I did not give fluids).

    His appetite is always fantastic. He eats 4 full cans of FF Classic every day (a full can at "meal" time, and a half can 4 times throughout the day/night). He also gets lots of freeze dried chicken treats for every poke, which typically fall in between the half can feedings. Occasionally he will be extra hungry and I'll open 5th can if he needs it.
     
    Turkeylegjunior7 likes this.
  6. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That is very good his appetite is so good. Food helps keep ketones away.
    I don’t agree with your vet about not worrying about ketones. If you can get a test in each day, that will tell us if the balance of the food and insulin and fluids is right and if a trace of ketones does appear, we can get onto it quickly so it does not become a problem.
    If you could put all the results of the ketone tests into the remarks column of the SS, that would be very helpful thanks.
     
    Turkeylegjunior7 likes this.
  7. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    148 @ +3
    0.1 AMBK.

    Hungry and asked for his mid-morning snack. :smuggrin:
    Looks like he may coast into the green again today.
     
  8. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    112 @ +6
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Awesome ketones test result! And very nice +6. No need to rush this increase, can probably stick to what the protocol says.

    Smudge's DKA is still very much evident in the rear view mirror, so we need to maintain vigilance regarding ketones. We've seen too many kitties here return to a bad state quickly. I've grown fond of Smudge's nose smudge, so want to keep seeing that face.
     
    Staci & Ivy and Turkeylegjunior7 like this.
  10. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    I'm still trying to wrap my head around increasing itself (the why with the when), so continued guidance there would be great.

    His nose smudge is too cute. I found he has a small one on his chin too from one of his chin scratch requests.
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When following TR, we hold doses that see green for 10 consecutive doses. That word consecutive is key. Reminder: Counting Cycles
     
  12. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    PMPS @ 207.
    Lowest I've seen that doesn't make me totally uncomfortable and nervous!
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  13. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Great job shooting!! Can you get a +2 ?
     
  14. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    Thank you! :nailbiting: Yes, absolutely can get a +2. I want to try to wakeup for a +6, which would be 1:00A for me, so I dunno.
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  15. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Let's see what the +2 is, then you can decided when you need to take the next test :)
     
  16. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    153 @ +2
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  17. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    That's a nice blue :cool:. Can you get a +3?
     
  18. allicatmeow

    allicatmeow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2023
    I fell asleep but woke up worried! Got 152 @ 5.75.
     
    Angela & Cleo and Wendy&Neko like this.
  19. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Nice blue surfing tonight. :cool:
     
    allicatmeow likes this.

Share This Page