9/10 Harvey AMPS 100 Not Eating. Vines needed. Update.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Dawn called this morning, concerned. Harvey wouldn't eat and his AMPS was 100, which is her "no shot" number. She said he hasn't peed since yesterday and wanted permission to give him fluids as she felt he was dehydrated. I said yes, just glad she has some, as I didn't take her any. She said she got him to eat a little HC and he came up to 132. We decided to skip the shot.

She said he had a normal poo earlier, but he had poo all over his butt. He let her clean him up, which surprised and concerned her.

She's going to call me with an update later. Feeling very guilty and :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:. I'd appreciate any vines you can spare.
 
Dawn called this morning, concerned. Harvey wouldn't eat and his AMPS was 100, which is her "no shot" number. She said he hasn't peed since yesterday and wanted permission to give him fluids as she felt he was dehydrated. I said yes, just glad she has some, as I didn't take her any. She said she got him to eat a little HC and he came up to 132. We decided to skip the shot.

She said he had a normal poo earlier, but he had poo all over his butt. He let her clean him up, which surprised and concerned her.

She's going to call me with an update later. Feeling very guilty and :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:. I'd appreciate any vines you can spare.
tons of vines growing toward you.

Naturally you already know this, but with diarrhea, your tummy hurts. Harve's probably going to feel much better soon.
 
I just texted her. I knew she was checking in several clients this afternoon and didn't want to call yet. If she doesn't respond soon I'll call.

We sail back to LA tomorrow and drive home Monday. I pick him up Tuesday morning.
 
Just got off the phone with Dawn. Harvey perked up a little after fluids. Still hasn't peed, but she checked his bladder and said it felt pretty empty, so he absorbed it all. She's going to give him more fluids tonight. His BGs have stayed in the low 100s, even with the skipped shot. She opened a different flavor while we talked and he ate almost a quarter of the can! She's going to text me with his PMBG to see if she should shoot. I feel a little better, but please keep the vines coming.
 
more vines from the land of enchantment....
images
 
Just got off the phone with Dawn. Harvey perked up a little after fluids. Still hasn't peed, but she checked his bladder and said it felt pretty empty, so he absorbed it all. She's going to give him more fluids tonight. His BGs have stayed in the low 100s, even with the skipped shot. She opened a different flavor while we talked and he ate almost a quarter of the can! She's going to text me with his PMBG to see if she should shoot. I feel a little better, but please keep the vines coming.
more hugs, vines, purrs (and from 16 cats, well, something ought to move!):bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
healing vines.jpg
 
If you feel Harvey is in any sort of danger or facing unwanted consequences don't be shy,
push whatever is needed inside. Syringe feeding is not fun for kitties nor to care taker but
it does the job. A 2 point shot is to mix food with liquid, fill a syringe and slowly feed the cat.
Food with gravy would do an amazing job to avoid a NS and bring up low numbers.
Just need to do it slowly and give him a break after a little shot. He'll start eating afterward
then you can add some ''incentive'' like dusting dried chicken on top of the food (mixed with
water). He'll get over it, don't worry, those are not permanent measures, just preventive.

That's what I would instruct my care taker to do in these circumstances.
If Harvey doesn't like it he will hate HER, not you :)
.
 
Sending tons of prayers, and appy and feel-better vines to Harvey, and hugs to his mama bean. Don't feel guilty, it's apparently part our kitties' jobs to develop things that worry us when we're away and can't be there to help! ;) :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top