Re: 9/1 Shadow AMPS 115 +2~88
Hi! What beautiful numbers! Your cat is doing soooo well, and I'm sure it's your rapt attention to her that is helping her to do that. Great job!
As far as late shots, the fact that Max has the double dip factors in here, for me. If his BG appears to be "falling" at shot-time AND I know that my shot times have been all over the place most recent to seeing a falling number, I can't really rely on the data to indicate that there is a falling BG. This factors quite a bit into my reasoning: I'm pretty strict about the 15 minute thing.
For instance, my shot time is 9:00; if I miss by over 20 minutes I use the procedure to get back by shooting at 9:05 instead of 9:00 the next time. Then, at the next shot I am back on time. I don't note this on my spreadsheet usually because I do think it's minor deviation from the schedule, but I hope by following this as policy I am keeping the spreadsheet useful. However, if I miss by more than 30 minutes, I am anxious to get back on time. I note it on the sheet, and I shoot 30 minutes early the next time as long as the BG is not below about 90 or so. Then, I watch him carefully until I see that he is truly rising around +3.5, and I shoot on time the next time. This probably seems quite backward, doesn't it?
However, now that he's running low, I'm trying to balance the possibility of getting off track (by accidentally shooting 30 minutes late) and therefore, being less likely to get reductions as quickly as possible with trying to keep his spreadsheet useful such that it shows me what the Lantus is doing when he is getting an on-time dose consistently. Does that make any sense? I figure that making up for a 30 minute late shot asap is better than inching my way back 15 minutes at a time in terms of keeping him on track to get reductions, but that if I am inching my way back when I'm only 20 minutes late, the spreadsheet is not going to be too wonky from that. I miss a shot by more than 30 minutes and I did not make up for it quickly by shooting 30 minutes early the next time, I move the point at which I'm going reassess the dose forward by about 6 shots.
Another issue that factors in is that if I shoot any later than 9 p.m., I tend to be practically unable to get up for Max's +3 or +3.5 test in the night, and I'm worried I'll miss a below 50 number. Sometimes I can't get up even if I shoot at 9. (It's funny; if the alarm goes off I may sleep through it, but if Emma cries or Max wakes me up with purring in my ear or crying out, I can't stay in bed to save my life -- must be a mother's instinct.) It worries me that I'll miss a hypo or at least miss a chance to get a reduction. I would LOVE to hear from an "expert" if what I am doing makes any sense, or if I am missing something important here with this whole theory.
If I miss by 45 minutes or more, well, I'm pretty upset, and that doesn't happen very often thank goodness. I go back in 15 minute increments or I try to take one 30 minute leap back depending on how things are going in my life, and how worried I am about Max, and it's probably all based on anxiety rather than reasonable thinking. I figure the spreadsheet is a disaster for the next 6 cycles AFTER I finally get back to 9:00 anyway, and I'm just going to have to be patient and wait it out relying on NO +10 to +11 checks to tell me anything at all about whether he's falling or rising at pre-shot. It doesn't seem to matter much when he's above 100 at pre-shot anyway, but if he were to get a below 60, I would probably stall the next shot to be as safe as possible or skip all together.