? 9/1 Destiny AMPS 217 - Suggestions, tips?

Desi Mom

Member Since 2021
It has now been 1 month since I have been giving Destiny insulin shots. Looking over her numbers, does anyone have any advice, thoughts, ideas, suggestions, etc? Should I be doing anything different?

I have another long weekend coming up in which I can work on getting more data. I think her ears are sore though. She is starting to fight me or try and squirm away when I go to prick either of her ears. I am back to having to pin her down like I did in the beginning.

I think 8/28 was another bounce, like 8/8. I was gone most of the day, but when I was home, she acted the same way she did on 8/8. She just laid there not feeling well and barely ate any food all day.

I think I will increase her dose to .5F and see if that gets her lower.

Thank you for your help.
 
It has now been 1 month since I have been giving Destiny insulin shots. Looking over her numbers, does anyone have any advice, thoughts, ideas, suggestions, etc? Should I be doing anything different?

I have another long weekend coming up in which I can work on getting more data. I think her ears are sore though. She is starting to fight me or try and squirm away when I go to prick either of her ears. I am back to having to pin her down like I did in the beginning.

I think 8/28 was another bounce, like 8/8. I was gone most of the day, but when I was home, she acted the same way she did on 8/8. She just laid there not feeling well and barely ate any food all day.

I think I will increase her dose to .5F and see if that gets her lower.

Thank you for your help.
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I can't offer any suggestions since I don't have enough experience. I can recommend that at the beginning of your post, you ask Bandit's Mom or tiffmaxee for advice. They are both great. I have added them to the top of my reply to you. Hopefully, one of them can help you.
 
Sorry to respond so late!

I presume you cannot get tests on some days because of work, which is why you are following SLGS and not TR? Would it be possible to get a +2 before you leave for work? Maybe if you move your shot time up a bit? Just a suggestion :)

With SLGS, drops below 90 earn a reduction in dose. Destiny earned a reduction from 0.5 to 0.25 with that drop below 90 on 8/23 and 8/24.
With SLGS, you also hold the dose when you see nadirs between 90 and 150.

She is bouncing because she drops too hard at onset. Would it be possible to feed a little at +1 to see if that reduces the diving and the consequent bouncing?

Since you have the weekend off, maybe you could get more tests to see how low she is going on 0.5U before you take a call to increase?
 
I presume you cannot get tests on some days because of work, which is why you are following SLGS and not TR? Would it be possible to get a +2 before you leave for work? Maybe if you move your shot time up a bit?
Correct. I leave at +1 and get back home between +10 and +11. Unfortunately, I can't really adjust the morning shot time because I can't adjust the evening shot time. :(
This week though, I have Thursday and Friday off (have to use up some vacation time) and the office is closed on Monday for Labor Day, so I have a nice 5-day weekend to monitor her closely.

She is bouncing because she drops too hard at onset. Would it be possible to feed a little at +1 to see if that reduces the diving and the consequent bouncing?
This makes total sense. I will make sure she starts eating something at +1 and see if that slows down the drop.

Since you have the weekend off, maybe you could get more tests to see how low she is going on 0.5U before you take a call to increase?
I gave her .5F this morning before I read your reply. I fed her at +1 though, and she was really hungry, so I let her eat a lot.

I really appreciate your response. Thank you very much for your help.
 
Back
Top