9/1 Comfrey AMPS 190 - new here

ComfreyMyCat

Member Since 2021
Hey everyone,

I'm just blown away as I explore by the dedication and care going around in this community. I'm so glad that we found our way here! As I read in someone's post, "it's the best place you've never wanted to be."

Questions/comments first:

  1. For the SS, our labs (specifically on the [LABS] tab) aren't 1-1 with what is in the tab. Also, the reference ranges for Comfrey's labs are different in some instances. So...
    1. Can I change the reference ranges to align with his labs?
    2. If I reorder things and remove/add values to match his results sheets, will that make it more difficult for helpers? Should I just leave order as-is and keep a separate workbook (i.e. not the forum one) with additional results?
  2. Based on my readings here on TR and on "Become Data Ready," it seems like we're in a good place for now and should be looking to go up .25 Units soon (possibly this weekend?) if our numbers remain in the 100-200 range Can someone please confirm my understanding? Please see the comments in our SS re: the wrong initial dose and take note of the changes to-date. Also, we just started testing and I plan to do a 3-hour interval curve once we get a little more comfortable testing together.
I appreciate any feedback!
 
Welcome!

Since you have specific questions, you may want to edit your subject heading to include the ? prefix. You can remove it after they have been answered, but it will draw the eyes of more people, especially with experience :)

In order to follow TR, you'll need to get at least 4 readings a day: each pre-shot and then another test during each 12-hour cycle. More is better when you both are more comfortable with it. In general, yes, if your cat keeps these same numbers for the next several days and doesn't see any green nadirs, you would increase the dose by .25U.

But in your specific case, I think it's too soon to say whether you should plan to change the dosage. Since you've only started getting mid-cycle data and we don't have any readings after the PM shot, we don't know yet how well this dose is working (especially since cats often go lower at night). We need more data to see how your cat is reacting to this dose of insulin.

Though his numbers are higher than normal, they look really good for a newly diagnosed cat!

Welcome again, and please never be afraid to ask questions! I can't tell you how many times I've asked the same questions over and over...
 
Hi Comfrey's Human! Welcome to FDMB and the Lantus forum! :-)

For the SS, our labs (specifically on the [LABS] tab) aren't 1-1 with what is in the tab. Also, the reference ranges for Comfrey's labs are different in some instances. So...
  1. Can I change the reference ranges to align with his labs?
  2. If I reorder things and remove/add values to match his results sheets, will that make it more difficult for helpers? Should I just leave order as-is and keep a separate workbook (i.e. not the forum one) with additional results?
Yes, you can order the items any way you want and can change the reference ranges to match what's on your labs


Based on my readings here on TR and on "Become Data Ready," it seems like we're in a good place for now and should be looking to go up .25 Units soon (possibly this weekend?) if our numbers remain in the 100-200 range Can someone please confirm my understanding? Please see the comments in our SS re: the wrong initial dose and take note of the changes to-date. Also, we just started testing and I plan to do a 3-hour interval curve once we get a little more comfortable testing together.
Wow! That muct have been a scary experience. Glad you caught thay early enough and are home testing! Like @Librarianista pointed out, with TR, you need at least 2 tests per cycle including PM tests (many cats go lower at night). With TR, you would hold the 1U dose 10 cycles since you are seeing nadirs between 100 and 200. If you could get some tests in both cycle in the next couple of days, we can get an idea on how low the dose is taking Comfrey. Lantus dosing is based on nadirs. He probably needs an increase to 1.25U but we need more data to take that call.
 
Back
Top