8/9 Copernicus AMPS=406 +3=339 +6=389 PMPS=484

Krista & Copernicus

Member Since 2026
PP

I'm just confused. A bounce should be temporary. His numbers are trash again. How was he having so many hypo events in the hospital and at discharge at 13 units, but he's having highs at 11 units that I haven't seen since May. I feel like we are going backwards. Am I going to get to 13 and have highs when he was just in the 40s at 13 last week. :( He just sleeps all the time. I even did fluids tonight. I used to see lower numbers with fluids and I didn't even get that today.
 
Do you have a PMPS number from August 7th? The +6 that day was the lowest number he's seen in the last week. Just wondering if there was an even lower PMPS that day which then caused a bounce. It did look like he bounced later that night but might also have been NDW as you increased the dose that night.

You could try increasing to 13 units next. Without blood sugar information for the 28-30th of July when he was in hospital, I'm guessing what the BG data looked like just before he starting seeing blues and greens. Those larger depots (like from 19 units) can last longer than 6 cycles. It's possible the 19 unit depot is what caused the lower numbers. Meaning you'll have to get closer to 19 units again.
 
Do you have a PMPS number from August 7th? The +6 that day was the lowest number he's seen in the last week. Just wondering if there was an even lower PMPS that day which then caused a bounce. It did look like he bounced later that night but might also have been NDW as you increased the dose that night.

You could try increasing to 13 units next. Without blood sugar information for the 28-30th of July when he was in hospital, I'm guessing what the BG data looked like just before he starting seeing blues and greens. Those larger depots (like from 19 units) can last longer than 6 cycles. It's possible the 19 unit depot is what caused the lower numbers. Meaning you'll have to get closer to 19 units again.
August 7th PMPS was 388. I will try and get the hospital data but it may take awhile. This almost looks like kidney injury to me after he went into those 700s.
 
If you can't get the hospital data easily, don't worry about it. There is enough data to show that he's on too little insulin now. I was going to use the data from the hospital to see if you could just go back up in dose any faster. Was the vet school using your Lantus to give him his insulin? Or their own?
This almost looks like kidney injury to me after he went into those 700s.
He wasn't there that long. Neko was overly fond of the 600+ numbers on the human meter. Not sure what that means on the AT, but on the human meter wouldn't register past 600, just said "Hi". AT's tend to read higher than human meters. While those black numbers are ugly, seeing them for a short period of time shouldn't cause injury. The numbers on 11 units now look a lot like end of June when he was on 11 units. Just wish I could figure out what caused the nicer numbers at the hospital. Besides the lack of food.
 
If you can't get the hospital data easily, don't worry about it. There is enough data to show that he's on too little insulin now. I was going to use the data from the hospital to see if you could just go back up in dose any faster. Was the vet school using your Lantus to give him his insulin? Or their own?

He wasn't there that long. Neko was overly fond of the 600+ numbers on the human meter. Not sure what that means on the AT, but on the human meter wouldn't register past 600, just said "Hi". AT's tend to read higher than human meters. While those black numbers are ugly, seeing them for a short period of time shouldn't cause injury. The numbers on 11 units now look a lot like end of June when he was on 11 units. Just wish I could figure out what caused the nicer numbers at the hospital. Besides the lack of food.
They used my Lantus pen. And I started a new pen right about when he was discharged. I'll start marking that in my spreadsheet.
 
Did they use your insulin syringes as well?
If not, I suppose it’s a remote possibility that they used u-40s instead of u-100s.
Good brainstorming, but unlikely because he went hypo in 2 different ERs, the vet school and then a community hospital. After the vet school forgot to feed him I took him to a different place.
 
If you can't get the hospital data easily, don't worry about it. There is enough data to show that he's on too little insulin now. I was going to use the data from the hospital to see if you could just go back up in dose any faster. Was the vet school using your Lantus to give him his insulin? Or their own?

He wasn't there that long. Neko was overly fond of the 600+ numbers on the human meter. Not sure what that means on the AT, but on the human meter wouldn't register past 600, just said "Hi". AT's tend to read higher than human meters. While those black numbers are ugly, seeing them for a short period of time shouldn't cause injury. The numbers on 11 units now look a lot like end of June when he was on 11 units. Just wish I could figure out what caused the nicer numbers at the hospital. Besides the lack of food.
An acute kidney injury came with those high numbers. Because they forgot to feed and test and he was so nauseous from the buprenorphine that he got dehydrated. That on top of already taxed kidneys from acromegaly and diabetes can't be a good combination. His kidney values were more elevated after the incident. He is due for a recheck this week.
 
If you can't get the hospital data easily, don't worry about it. There is enough data to show that he's on too little insulin now. I was going to use the data from the hospital to see if you could just go back up in dose any faster. Was the vet school using your Lantus to give him his insulin? Or their own?

He wasn't there that long. Neko was overly fond of the 600+ numbers on the human meter. Not sure what that means on the AT, but on the human meter wouldn't register past 600, just said "Hi". AT's tend to read higher than human meters. While those black numbers are ugly, seeing them for a short period of time shouldn't cause injury. The numbers on 11 units now look a lot like end of June when he was on 11 units. Just wish I could figure out what caused the nicer numbers at the hospital. Besides the lack of food.
I just cannot believe what happened. I went through the fur and insulin dripped out. This could not have happened at a worse time. This has never happened before. His pre-shot is 529. I know he got at least 6. :(
 
Back
Top