8/9 - Cleo - AMPS(234);PMPS(209);+2(156);+4(109);+10(197)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS (234); PMPS (209); +2 (156)

We've had times like that, where we deserved a reserved parking spot at the vet's. :roll: Hope the vet finds the reason for the high WBC. Zener had peripheral neuropathy problems and we started giving him zobaline. It took a couple of months, but he got better and doesn't seem to have any problems now.
Liz
 
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS (234); PMPS (209); +2 (156); +4 (109)

thanks Marje and Liz!

Marje - I've noticed that Cleo usually nose dives pretty quick at the beginning of her cycle, but her nadir seems to usually be around +4 or +5, so it doesn't surprise me when she gets the more dramatic drops early on anymore! She was hanging out with me and acting her usual self, so I held off til +4 and she is still at a nice low blue (109), so I think we're going to be drama free tonight (knock wood)!

Liz, I really appreciate the comment on the neuropathy. We've been giving Cleo potassium and B-12 methylcobalamine (same stuff as Zobaline, just in a sublingual pill). I think when I start getting to the end of my current B-12 batch, I'll order some Zobaline and try that. I'm really hoping it helps her and we see some improvement. In the meantime, it certainly does her no harm, so we will continue the treatment and hope there's some improvement in the coming weeks/months.
 
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS (234); PMPS (209); +2 (156); +4 (109)

On a different note, I'm not super clear what to do with Cleo's dosing. She gets down to about low-blues (just over 100) for nadir at her current dose of 1.5. When we tried to step it up to 1.75 at the beginning of the week, that was clearly too much for her as she had a night on 8/5 that definitely earned her a dose reduction back down to 1.5.

Assuming her numbers stay like they have been for a few days - nadirs in the low 100s, what would you advise for dosing?
 
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS (234); PMPS (209); +2 (156); +4 (109)

Hi Kathy :smile:

Hmm. Looking at your SS. This is Cleo's 8th cycle on the 1.5u. In all likelihood, the residual action from the 1.75u dose will have subsided now. To me, that's where the logic of the protocol guideline of "hold new dose for 5-7 days" comes in - with the residual effects from the previous dose out of the way after those first few days, you get to see what the current dose can do towards the end of that 5-to-7-day period. Based on protocol logic, then, I'd say give it another day or two and see what numbers you actually get. Like Marje said, Cleo may yet have plans for this dose and its effects, despite her nadir habits and whatnot. (I notice on your SS that in the past few AM-cycles, you've hardly tested. Did I miss the reason why? Sorry if I did.)

*If* you were to come through the next couple of days without much movement (in either direction: nadirs even lower than the *already healthy-zone greeen* ones she's having now, or creeping up), you have the option of going for a fine-tuned dose: fattening rather than increasing a dose can work beautifully for cats that are sensitive to dosecreases, and Cleo may have decided she's one of those. But again: I'd give her another couple of days. Let's see what the others think.

Jane
 
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS (234); PMPS (209); +2 (156); +4 (109)

Will do Jane!

The reason for not testing in the morning cycles is that I haven't been able to be home to do so. I work days and so does my DH. All of the previous days I've tested in the AM cycle, I've either been going into work late to get a +1 or +2, or sneaking out early/skipping afternoon/evening commitments to get home for a +10 or +11. With all the vet visits this week getting the +10 or +11 readings has been impossible and unfortunately, likely will be today (8/10) as well. The best I can do is getting better readings on the weekends for AM cycles...
 
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS(234);PMPS(209);+2(156);+4(109);+10(197

On a sidenote, since I'm up at this crazy hour, I got a +10 from Cleo and she's just under 200 (197), so definitely on a rise going up toward AMPS. I'll be back in a couple hours with a new thread for that...
 
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS(234);PMPS(209);+2(156);+4(109);+10(197

Of course, Kathy! I completely understand. It wasn't meant as a criticism, just as a question :smile: You're getting a really good amount of data. If you can get some more, for those AM-cycles, on weekends, that will be even better, but you're already doing great!
Jane
 
Re: 8/9 - Cleo - AMPS(234);PMPS(209);+2(156);+4(109);+10(197

No worries Jane, just trying to explain. Sorry if it came out overly defensive. Sometimes tone gets lost in text. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top