8/8 Fin AMPS 397 +3 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

tecwmn

Member Since 2010
Fin's behavior is back to what it was like when I first got him, miserable and angry. Poor kid. Dose increased to 3.5u twice a day. Will check for ketones again when he pee's, but so far those have been negative. He is eating fine, his water consumption and urine has increased but not alarmingly so.

In my head I am trying to imagine a day when Fin is consistently regulated...I just want him happy and healthy. Sometimes I feel like I am failing him somehow, like I should be doing more. I am doing my best to be patient but seeing him like this just increases my frustration that he has been like this for so long before I even adopted him. He needs a good quality of life and I need to make sure he gets it.

At what point do I say Lantus isn't working, let's try something new? Am I being too cautious? Should I be doing something different? My heart breaks to see him unhappy and it makes me want to DO something for him (besides curling up behind him at the water bowl). Maybe I am just PMS'ing because my emotions are bubbling over and I feel at a loss today. I really thought I could have him down into the 100's by now... :sad:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21837
 
Re: 8/8 Fin AMPS 397 : ( Dose increase today

Ok, no sad faces in your subject line.

Chin up...it'll get better. The patience and frustrating days are hard...but it will happen.
It's just part of the sugar dance dancing_cat

You are not failing him!
Get yourself some chocolate and give Fin a big hug cuz you love him to pieces and he's there with you to help him along.

Understood? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/8 Fin AMPS 397 : ( Dose increase today

Your post made me laugh, and boy did I need that. Thanks!
 
Re: 8/8 Fin AMPS 397 : ( Dose increase today

If you're going for some spotchecks in this cycle, you did a nice curve the other day. That info will help a lot.
You can go with a mini curve, about every 3 hours if you like.


Is there dry food around that he gets into?

Good, you should be laughing! :lol: see? we laugh with you! (I need more ~O) )
 
Re: 8/8 Fin AMPS 397 : ( Dose increase today

If you don't mind, could you take the :( out of your subject line? We generally use that for a critically ill or dying cat. (Unwritten rule -- you wouldn't have known.)
 
Re: 8/8 Fin AMPS 397 Dose increase today

It's ok Barbi - I told ya no sad faces in your subject line! :-D

Hope you're feeling better!
 
Re: 8/8 Fin AMPS 397 Dose increase today

Cheer up. :-D Eat Chocolate!!!

WE all go through periods of wondering if we are doing right by our furbabies. You are doing all you can and Fin knows you are helping him. The sugar dance is hard , it take a lot of dedication. You have that or you wouldn't be here. You haven''t found Fin's correct dose yet. Once that happens the pancreas begins to heal, and that again takes it's own sweet time. Breathe and enjoy your furball.
 
some cats take longer to get there than others. I remember feeling soooooo frustrated when I was here with Lucy, and lots of other kitties came in, went OTJ quickly, and left. It seemed like everybody else was shooting a dose of 1 or 2 units. Lucy didn't hit her breakthrough until 4.25. It seemed like it took a hundred years to get there, especially because I spent 6 months on other insulins before I came here. She did get there, though.

I'm sure Fin just hasn't found a dose that makes him happy yet, but when it happens, it happens all of a sudden. One day you'll go to test and see a green number! And then if you're like me, you'll squint at the meter a few times wondering why you can't see the third digit. :lol:
 
Thanks for the words of encouragement Libby, and sharing your own story. I will probably clean my glasses if I see a double digit number and try my spare pair. :shock:
 
If you go to the store, you can get some patience sprinkle to put on top of ice cream..... oh... sorry, I purchased it all, it's backorder now... sorry! ;-)

Kidding aside, you are not failing Fin, you are following the protocol step by step. We all shared the same frustration to some degree. Please hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top