8/8 CharlieAMPS434+3 378+9 428PMPS431+3 313+4 281+5 248

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/8 Charlie AMPS 434 +3 378 +9 428

Let's bring it down a bit, Miss Charlie!

(Love the bounce picture!!!)
 
Re: 8/8 Charlie AMPS 434 +3 378 +9 428

Nice spreadsheet Amy & Trixie! LOTS of blues and greens. Charlie's spread sheet looks more like a painting by Jackson Pollock. :-D
 
Re: 8/8 Charlie AMPS 434 +3 378 +9 428

LOL...I think that picture fits a lot of LL kitties! Trix had her colorful days in the beginning, and she still loves to throw me curve balls once in a while. I've learned to NOT get too comfy about those blues and greens, that's for sure!
 
Re: 8/8 Charlie AMPS 434 +3 378 +9 428 +12 401

Question for you guys:

Even though Charlie is in the red zone, her test just now showed us that she's starting to come down (+12 was 401).

Do we shoot? Or wait and retest in the next 15 minutes to be sure it's going up & not down.

Advice?

In the end, we waited 15 minutes, retested, and Charlie's BG was at 434, so we shot .5

Think we followed the right protocol. Right?
 
Re: 8/8 Charlie AMPS 434 +3 378 +9 428 PMPS 431

The difference between Charlie's +9 and +12 was pretty minimal, even though she was heading down. With numbers that high, I personally wouldn't have hesitated to shoot that +12, even with the slight downward trend...but that's me - I've got lots of data on Trix. I'm sure someone with experienced eyes may have different opinions!

But yes, you did follow protocol the way it is written!

Great job, though, waiting a few, retesting, and shooting! Remember that when you do stall, you don't want to feed: you want to know that the numbers are naturally rising, as opposed to being driven up by food. Also, when you stall, your next shot will be 12 hours from the time you actually shot.
 
Re: 8/8 Charlie AMPS 434 +3 378 +9 428 PMPS 431

Amy was correct. The other thing you need to keep in mind is that there's 20% variance in any number due to the meter. Even between your +9 and +12, those numbers were pretty much the same.

It also helps to remember with a pre-shot that you will be feeding, which raises numbers and that Lantus onset typically takes about 2 hours during which time the number may go up. In other words, you would have been perfectly safe to shoot. We really only get concerned about a dropping number when your cat is in the lower ranges and even then, it's only when you haven't had much experience with using food to bring numbers up.
 
Re: 8/8 Charlie AMPS 434 +3 378 +9 428 PMPS 431

Hi! I see once again Charlie went down from red PS into +3 in the pink zone, maybe that is becoming her pattern. I understand your hesitation about shooting a lower than expected PS for fear of potential plunge. When I faced that, folks here encouraged me to stay the course, follow the protocol and I have not even balked this week, yet :smile: .
Leslie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top