? 8/8 2021 Milo need dosing advice for PMPS in 1 hr ,15 min.

Hi Bron i have had trouble with posting on the SS board He was 77.4@+ 4.24 and + 81 @+ 5.5
i am doing his PMPS in 10 min. hope that you'll see this i have not converted these results to US Numbers yet but here they are.
 
Hi Bhooma! Thanks for letting me know its ok to reduce to 1.75 Units! It was only a few days since we increased to 2 Units<back and fort we go with these 2 numbers..
Hi again Bhooma, so maybe i am getting confused here...i gave Milo 1.75 Units for his PMPS dose.
Do i now hold this dose for another 7 days, unless he dips lower right? I somehow thought i saw that once
you switch the dose in "midcycle" you will only hold the dose for 5 days...?
Also what's with these 'back and forth BG #? as we are now adjusting between 2 units and 1.75 Units..?
Is he "insulin sensitive' maybe to the smallest increments in dosing? I feel a bit discouraged..
On August 11 we are seeing his vet for checkup and another Fructosamine test.
If you got this far Bhooma ,thanks for reading.
 
Do i now hold this dose for another 7 days, unless he dips lower right? I somehow thought i saw that once
you switch the dose in "midcycle" you will only hold the dose for 5 days...?
With SLGS you hold each dose for 7 days - unless kitty earns a reduction by falling below 90 - then it's an immediate reduce from the very next cycle.

Also what's with these 'back and forth BG #? as we are now adjusting between 2 units and 1.75 Units..?
Is he "insulin sensitive' maybe to the smallest increments in dosing? I feel a bit discouraged..
A cat's need for exogenous insulin keep going up and down depending on how much insulin its pancreas contribute. The pancreas suddenly wakes up and contributes more and you need less insulin and go down in dose. It decides to take a break and you will need to give more insulin. That's the nature of the beast and we have to just follow the numbers!
The same dose will be too little at one point and too much the next week. Can drive the best of us crazy at times :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top