8/7 Yogi AMPS 343 plus ketones

nikkiaz

Member Since 2010
Hello -

We've been on here with four cats. Our latest, Yogi, achieved remission by diet in 2024. He had 2 DKA incidents in 2024 - one at the shelter and one a month after we adopted him (possibly set off by an URI shot). We have been spot checking him since he went into remission.

He started being frantic around meals in late June/July 2026, so we began testing him again. Was off his food a bit so had a vet visit on 7/20/2026. She confirmed that he was out of remission and also had pancreatitis. He also had ketones in his urine. Got Cerenia and subqfluids for home. Restarted insulin (Semglee). Vet was not worried about DKA with the small amount of ketones in his urine, but we measured them at 7.9 at home (via blood meter). Vet insisted on giving him a rabies shot at that visit (if that makes a difference).

We managed to get the ketones down to less than one, but they are creeping up again (this morning was 3.6).

We are immensely frustrated with his BG readings - they are all over the place. Regular vet said she doesn't have the knowledge to help him now, and referred him to internal medicine at another practice - first available appt. was in late August. (Only other IM in town had appts in November).

He is eating fine, acting mostly normal (not playing as much though), being a jerk to others (as usual).

Any suggestions, thoughts, etc. would be gratefully welcomed. Spreadsheet is up to date (times were weird for the first bit because we started him back on insulin right away as per vet and have been adjusting). We also were waiting awhile after meals before giving him his shot because we were idiots.

Thank you.
 
Sorry you are getting your frequent flyer miles with feline diabetes, but welcome.

Could you put a bit more detail in the signature as per this threads: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! Such as recent DKA date, food he's getting, any other medications which can impact blood sugars. I see via the SS that's he's getting try food. Any way to move him to wet food? With a recent DKA kitty with ketones, we like to keep on top of dose increases and that can be done with Tight Regulation, but that requires all low carb wet or aw diet.

I'm glad you increased back to 0.75 units. And I'm happy to see the frequent ketones testing on the spreadsheet. Are you still giving fluids? Adding water to his meals? Both can help flush out ketones. Is he eating well? He should be getting 1.5 times his normal calories when recently out of DKA.

One last thing, could you move the 2026 tab one to the left so it's the first one we see when we open your spreadsheet.
 
Sorry you are getting your frequent flyer miles with feline diabetes, but welcome.

Could you put a bit more detail in the signature as per this threads: New? How You Can Help Us Help You! Such as recent DKA date, food he's getting, any other medications which can impact blood sugars. I see via the SS that's he's getting try food. Any way to move him to wet food? With a recent DKA kitty with ketones, we like to keep on top of dose increases and that can be done with Tight Regulation, but that requires all low carb wet or aw diet.

I'm glad you increased back to 0.75 units. And I'm happy to see the frequent ketones testing on the spreadsheet. Are you still giving fluids? Adding water to his meals? Both can help flush out ketones. Is he eating well? He should be getting 1.5 times his normal calories when recently out of DKA.

One last thing, could you move the 2026 tab one to the left so it's the first one we see when we open your spreadsheet.
Hi Wendy&Neko -

Thanks for the reply. I think we fixed the issues that you identified with the signature block.

His last DKAs were in March and April of 2024.

He only gets 5 pieces of Young Again dry food with his Sheba wet food, and that is only with dinner. We can eliminate that if needed. He is eating well though - finishes all his food enthusiastically.

He gets subq fluids (50 ml) every other day. We are adding water to his meals and snacks also. Should he still get 1.5x the food if his DKAs were two years ago?

Thank you again for your assistance.
 
Back
Top