8/7 Skooter PMPS 193 +2 112 +3 89 +4 80 +5 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Skooter is trying to give momma a heart attack condo (08/07)]


I am thinking of giving him a token dose this morning. Yesterday morning his +11 was 125 and his AMPS was 163 and he took a nose dive. Last night's cycle I thought I was safe with the 209 and again, nose dive. I don't want to COMPLETELY screw up his schedule and not give any insulin, but I am not feeling comfy even giving the reduction he earned yesterday dose, which would be 1.25. I am not even 100% sure if I should take the reduction. I am thinking I could try the 1.25u (in the PM cycle), as he is not really bouncing that much and see what happens.

Even if he is trending up at his actual AMPS, I am not comfy shooting because of looking at yesterday's numbers. I am pretty sure I can sneak awake today long enough to test and give him a midday meal, but I won't get home at the earliest until +6.25 to +6.5 as I am on the phones this morning.

At this point, I am thinking a token dose of .5 for the AM cycle. I do not want to derail what he is doing and if it were a Saturday or Sunday AM cycle, I would go full throttle and change any plans I have, but unfortunately, not an option today or tomorrow, but I am just not at all comfortable shooting a full dose after yesterday.
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149

Good luck with whatever you decide to shoot. I'm sure Skooter will get back on track quickly if you shoot a reduced dose. Safety is the most important thing.
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149 AMPS 167

I went with a token dose of .5 for this morning.

He is at about the same spot this morning as he was yesterday morning and just not 100% comfortable giving him a full dose as at the earliest I can be home at +6.25 and +6.5 to check him. I will leave out some food in a couple different areas (so he doesn't go for it right away) and pray he is ok.

I know this may screw up his track to getting OTJ, but I just wasn't comfortable giving the full dose.

Hopefully everyone isn't too disappointed in my decision, but I kind of went "balls to the walls" with the last two AM cycles and it was just too much for me on a work day.

As for tonight's dose.....I am still unsure if I should go with the reduction he earned of 1.25 (as I know typically back to back reductions are frowned upon) or if I should continue with the 1.5 until he earns a reduction again (which I have a feeling will be sooner rather than later).
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149 AMPS 167

I, for one, am relieved that you went with the lower dose this morning. You need a break and I'm sure it won't get Skooter too much off track.
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149 AMPS 167

I think the .5 dose was a wise option for today since you don't know if he will dive again.
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149 AMPS 167 +1.25 143

Hi guys .. well no dosing advice from me, but great looking numbers skooter! And sometimes, it's just better to play it safe, then to be sorry later right? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149 AMPS 167 +1.25 143

i think i'd go back to 1.5u tonight, mainly because it looks like there was just the 47 in yesterday's daytime cycle, and after giving the token dose this morning (probably a good choice) he'll have depleted his depot a bit.
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149 AMPS 167 +1.25 143

Hi there :cool:

Good choice on the BCS this morning.
If he is on a mission, he will not be derailed by missing one unit on one cycle.

I agree with Julie regarding resuming 1.5u tonight, However I'd feel better if you had the timed feeder for tomorrows AM cycle. It will give you peace of mind. :cool:
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter +11 149 AMPS 167 +1.25 143 +6.25 118

Hi Molly.

Good call on the reduced dose. Looks to me like Skooter isn't missing that 1.0 unit at all, and he's surfing SAFELY in blue, which must give you great peace of mind. I think he'll be back up to his tricks tonight, though, so be ready!! :-D
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193

A little bit higher than I would have liked, but it is what it is.....

It will be interesting to see what tonight brings.....If I would have gotten the original feeder I ordered it would be here by now. But alas, it will arrive at my BIL's house tomorrow and he will bring it over before our event tomorrow night. I hate to mess with Skooter's numbers twice so close together, but this will be one of the last things I planned Before Diagnosis (BD). I also missed this event last year, so I hate to be selfish, but....

He is doing great tonight, rubbing his mouth on my foot and still being a lot more social. Even a few weeks ago he would go in another to spend most of his time. He is starting to spend more and more time with meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee now :)

I am not sure what to do about his doses for tomorrow. I will be on the phones until about +6 so I wont get home to test until about +6.5 and once again, I won't be able to stay with him much more than to test. Since I had to stay with him longer yesterday, I didn't get the stuff done that I was planning so now I have a lot more work that I can't leave until they get done tomorrow. Plus a few new urgent items that got dropped on my desk today.

Well he just jumped into my lap and is snugglin up wif me now.....
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193

Awwww....Skootersnuggles are the best!

It's great that he's feeling so much better and being so much more social.

Really great PMPS especially considering the BCS!
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193 +2 112

This shooting 6/6 is taking a little getting used to, but it is rather nice to be at +4 around 10pm....


Now for the TRUE emergency.....NCIS season 10 is almost done :(
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193 +2 112

HI there :cool:

Skooter is doing great! Could be an interesting night - ;-)

You are not being selfish because you don't want to miss the event tomorrow night. It's important that life does not become all FD all the time.

Since you don't have the feeder for the AM cycle and you need to remain gainfully employed, depending on how tonight goes you may want to do another BCS in the AM. If you are planning to use the timed feeder for the PM cycle tomorrow please make sure and test it to ensure it functions properly.
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193 +2 112 +3 89 +4 80

Looks like he is starting to slow down.....I am guessing no reducie for him....I am hoping to get him back on track this weekend.....especially since I will have the timed feeder.....


I will check in with a +5 :)

I am thinking a BCS of .75 instead of the .5 I did this morning for tomorrow morning, which is half of his normal dose......thoughts?
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193 +2 112 +3 89 +4 80

In my experience with BCSs (which I did a whole lot of) it's a 'seat of the pants' call.
Keep in mind Skooter is in a period of change - in the downward direction for both BG and insulin.

You are not quite to the bottom half of this cycle and although Skooter has been an early nadir kitty so far, that can change.
You will know after your +11. Your instincts are good.
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193 +2 112 +3 89 +4 80

Thanks Sandy :)

I really hate to slow his progress, but I would rather delay his OTJ than to have something happen to him where he doesn't even get the chance to go OTJ. After hearing so many stories recently of people coming home to a kitty in the middle of a hypo, I just do not want to run that risk. Starting on Saturday morning, I should be able to get him back on track....I consider this just a small hiccup in the long journey. I am still confident that Skooter will work his way down as even with the reduced dose he is getting into the pretty green numbers.

When I started this journey and kept going up and up and up in insulin to 5u, I never ever thought OTJ was possible for Skooter. It kinda makes me teary-eyed to think that is even a possibility now. Granted I am an overly emotional baby, but lol.


As of right now, I am thinking either a .5 or .75 dose tomorrow. If his numbers look good at his +5 (which doing after finish posting), then I will give him his last meal of the night and try and get some sleep. I will get up for a +11 and see how we are looking in between the +11 and the AMPS.....
 
Re: 8/7 Skooter PMPS 193 +2 112 +3 89 +4 80

It's safe to say Skooter is 'in the groove' and focused in one direction :mrgreen:
Neither the skipped shot nor the BCS knocked him off track - and those dips into the 40s were not followed by days long trips into the stratosphere. . .

Skootersmom said:
When I started this journey and kept going up and up and up in insulin to 5u, I never ever thought OTJ was possible for Skooter. It kinda makes me teary-eyed to think that is even a possibility now.
I know the feeling well. :cool:

Quick sketch of BK:
It was 6 months before he saw his first green and it was like 1 cells worth on the ss
It was 1 year before BK had his first taste of HC :roll:
By October 2008, after about 9 months, we had increased our way to 45u daily (Lantus and a fast acting bolus insulin combined).
Then he had a tooth fragment removed. Within 1 week, I stopped using the fast acting insulin altogether - his insulin needs dropped to 27u daily.
(that was an easy reduction, since there was not a depot).
Then came the stumbling tumbling free-fall down the Lantus dose ladder. Back to back skipped shots with BCSs sprinkled in - you bet .
The protocol went out the window - BK was on one serious mission - I was trying to hold back wild horses
Thankfully the dust settled and last 2 of the 21 total months were the home stretch - and a very very different place :mrgreen: .
 
WOW! And I was getting upset over the 5u that Skooter was on.

If we get to an OTJ trial, I think the hardest thing for me will be not testing him constantly through the day. But then I have to remember, when he is on the trial, there isn't a risk of him hypoing, which I am guessing is one of the reasons for just the two tests a day? Otherwise, I am sure people would continue testing as they have been and then trying to over analyze numbers and trends that really don't need the analysis because at that point its all based on the kitty's own insulin and you aren't manipulating anything by administering insulin.

But one step at a time....I need to get him to the trial first....
 
Yeah, when BK got up to around 6u or so. I hated that he was the cat with the 'highest dose on the block'
Little did I know what was ahead :?

Skootersmom said:
If we get to an OTJ trial, I think the hardest thing for me will be not testing him constantly through the day. But then I have to remember, when he is on the trial, there isn't a risk of him hypoing, which I am guessing is one of the reasons for just the two tests a day? Otherwise, I am sure people would continue testing as they have been and then trying to over analyze numbers and trends that really don't need the analysis because at that point its all based on the kitty's own insulin and you aren't manipulating anything by administering insulin.
That pretty much sums it up.

Skootersmom said:
But one step at a time....I need to get him to the trial first....
Correct :cool:
 
A near perfect cycle for Skooter tonight! How lovely. I think you have a permission slip to get some I-) I-) I-) .

Keep up the good work, Molly. Your reward has already started - Skootersnuggles are back! :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top