8/7 Muffin +9 165 amps 113 How do I know when to decrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21703

Today I had a bacon club chalupa from Taco Bell - Muffin went completely nutso over the chicken in it, like she hasn't eaten for weeks! I've got to figure out what it is they use that makes her so crazy. She's barely interested in plain chicken that I cook for her. Whatever they put on theirs, I need to get some for canned food...

Numbers were a little high this morning...I forgot to pick up Sam's (civvie) dry food snack yesterday afternoon. Generally, tho, she's been looking really good lately. How do I know when to try a dosecrease? (Is that the right word for a dose decrease? lol)

Oh and these are Alpha Trak numbers, if that makes a difference.
 
When/if you find out what that secret ingredient is will you let me know please?
Muffin's AMPS are very nice! I don't do dosing stuff...but I think someone will be along shortly to answer your question! Hope you guys have a good day!
 
Hi Anne,

I'll try to answer that...


From the protocol stickie, as Muffin was DX'ed June this year...

Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.


Careful with fast food chicken, may contain things like garlic, oils, seasonings etc...
Surely Taco Bell has a secret ingredient - my kitties don't turn down any cooked chicken! :lol:
 
I'd like to know too, Anne. Checkers loves the deli roasted chicken, but not mine. I buy the plain, no sauce.
Nice numbers for Muffin.
I'm so glad I'm not the only one who occasionally forgets to pick up the civvie's dry. I wish I could get him to eat just wet, but he screams at me, and I cave. :lol:
 
Ronnie, does that mean if she dips below 50 one time? Or on a regular basis?

And I only gave her one chunk, broken into tiny bite size pieces. Was just really nice to see her want something that badly, love something that much. Still no luck with canned :YMSIGH:
 
If your using the AlphaTrak, 80 is the reduction number, and you have a few of those.
If the reduction doesn't hold, or kitty has a pattern of not holding the reduction, you have the option to shave the dose (a skinny)


The under 50 is for non-AlphaTrak users, and that only needs one BG of under 50 to earn a reduction but you have to catch it (for newly DX'ed kitties)
 
A suggestion, might be a good idea to add AlphaTrak to your signature line and to your spreadsheet.

ETA: definately makes a difference if your using the A.T meter, add it to your signature ok?

And you can start new dose of 1.25u tonight. :mrgreen:
 
Added Alpha Trak to sig and ss, thanks for the advice Ronnie. Will start with 1.25u tonight!

+2.25 58, +3.75 54 Gave dry food snack @ 3.75
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top