8/7 Mike's Buddy PMPS#259

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/6 Mike's Buddy PMPS#155

He was 155 at PMPS check; yay! I was never good with fractions, but I went with the 25% of shot low numbers regulation. I have been at this since February but still feel I'm a newbie.
 
Re: 8/6 Mike's Buddy PMPS#155 ~a blue! But for how long

I hear ya on winning the lottery, Mike! Hope your weekend goes well and Buddy gives you some pretty numbers!
 
Re: 8/6 Mike's Buddy PMPS#155 ~a blue! But for how long

I'm wondering why you didn't shoot the full dose? 155 isn't low, and all the dose hopping isn't going to get Buddy where you want him to be. If you reduce every time he gets a good number, you won't have an opportunity to see if the dose will work for him. My suggestion is to hold the 2.25 and see if he earns a reduction. If you're not comfortable with 2.25, then reduce to 2u for a few cycles and get the mid-cycle tests to see how he does on that dose, then make decisions based on those numbers.
 
Re: 8/6 Mike's Buddy PMPS#155 ~a blue! But for how long

I agree with Libby. The post about the 150 cut off is for those who are brand new to using Lantus.
 
Re: 8/6 Mike's Buddy PMPS#155

Well, his 1st check an hour after the shoot was 80 and later it was 81. As the night progressed it did get up to 140 at best. So if he had been given the full dose, would it have caused a crash before I could have caught it? Granted I was getting up to check on him and may have timed it right to circumvent it but sometimes we don't always hit it right on the mark. Now it could go back up again today yes, but I think I am still not quite the vet at this just yet.
 
Re: 8/6 Mike's Buddy PMPS#155

Mike&Buddy said:
Well, his 1st check an hour after the shoot was 80 and later it was 81. As the night progressed it did get up to 140 at best. So if he had been given the full dose, would it have caused a crash before I could have caught it?

Remember that because of the shed, a skipped or reduced shot really has more effect on the next cycle (or sometimes the next 2-3 cycles) than the current one. Most likely last night's cycle would have run about the same if you had shot full dose, because the cycle was running on shed action. Where you are likely to see the effect of reducing the shot is in today's cycle or tonight's cycle. You did good by getting a +1, though, because you were able to see the drop and control it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top