mariko
Member Since 2011
Good morning,
Yesterday's condo
8/6 AMPS=157; +1=146; +2.25=94; +3.5=110; +10=85; +11=97
8/6 PMPS=94; +2=67; +3.25=74; +5=86; +7.5=94
8/7 AMPS=106; +2=65; +3=119; 8.75=124
8/7 PMPS=160'; +2=112
Lucy vomited clear liquid (little formy in part) early this morning, but she was still interested in eating.
So I was able to give her Pepcid hidden in a little ball of food 30min before the AMPS & breakfast. It's so much easier to give her Papcid when she wants to eat...
She ate the 1st breakfast well, half by herself and rest by finger-feeding.
The vet called me yesterday evening with Lucy's & Ginger's bloodwork results.
Overall, not so good, unfortunately.
Lucy
* Her CKD has progressed a little, compared to the previous test done about 6 months ago.
She is, and I think was, stage 2 CKD, and the vet said progression is still slow, but the creatinine level is elevated more than before.
Her phosphorus value is fine.
* Her protein levels are low, and the vet thinks Lucy is losing protein into her intestines and pooping out due to IBD.
She thinks Lucy's soft poops is due to this rather than bacterial imbalance.
Lucy may not be holding the prednisolone reduction too well, so we may need to increase the dose back up.
* Her pancreatitis value is still high. The spec fPL value is 38 ug/L. But it's slightly better than the previous 3 tests done in the past 6 months - above 50 and 42.
The vet thinks pancreatitis may never go away.
* No go for dental cleaning. The vet thinks that doing dental and putting her under anesthesia may do more harm than good.
She has some tartar, but nothing serious like abscess.
The vet's words - Lucy has so much going on, I don't want to do it!, and I agree.
* The only good thing is, her glucose is "tight", and the vet thought I was doing a great job managing her diabetes.
Ginger
* The vet thinks Ginger also has an very early stage of CKD.
Oh no!!!! Ginger never had any health issue! I'm really sad about this.
The vet wants to re-check her blood in 2 - 3 months to confirm the diagnose.
* As for Ginger's dental, she wants to wait until we do the next test, since it's not urgent.
I think the reason for this is because if her CKD progresses quickly, then maybe not worth doing dental is what she's thinking?
I'm so scared.
So, the doctor wants to do both cats' bloodwork again in 2 - 3 months, so I think I'll bring them in in October.
I've starting giving Lucy slippery elm bark powders and probiotic, so I'm hoping her protein value will improve by then.
I've also started giving her Omega-3 fish oil, basically to mask woody smell of elm bark powders.
I'm starting all of them very slowly, a little less than the recommended dose.
I'm going to get a copy of their lab reports, including the previous ones, on Friday.
I'm going to make a lab spreadsheet and upload here on Saturday, then will ask for eyes.
If you can interpret the lab results, please please take a look on weekend and help me!
Thinking about ((Ann & Maggie)).
Sorry for the long post, and thank you for reading.
Have a nice day!
Yesterday's condo
8/6 AMPS=157; +1=146; +2.25=94; +3.5=110; +10=85; +11=97
8/6 PMPS=94; +2=67; +3.25=74; +5=86; +7.5=94
8/7 AMPS=106; +2=65; +3=119; 8.75=124
8/7 PMPS=160'; +2=112
Lucy vomited clear liquid (little formy in part) early this morning, but she was still interested in eating.
So I was able to give her Pepcid hidden in a little ball of food 30min before the AMPS & breakfast. It's so much easier to give her Papcid when she wants to eat...
She ate the 1st breakfast well, half by herself and rest by finger-feeding.
The vet called me yesterday evening with Lucy's & Ginger's bloodwork results.
Overall, not so good, unfortunately.
Lucy
* Her CKD has progressed a little, compared to the previous test done about 6 months ago.
She is, and I think was, stage 2 CKD, and the vet said progression is still slow, but the creatinine level is elevated more than before.
Her phosphorus value is fine.
* Her protein levels are low, and the vet thinks Lucy is losing protein into her intestines and pooping out due to IBD.
She thinks Lucy's soft poops is due to this rather than bacterial imbalance.
Lucy may not be holding the prednisolone reduction too well, so we may need to increase the dose back up.
* Her pancreatitis value is still high. The spec fPL value is 38 ug/L. But it's slightly better than the previous 3 tests done in the past 6 months - above 50 and 42.
The vet thinks pancreatitis may never go away.
* No go for dental cleaning. The vet thinks that doing dental and putting her under anesthesia may do more harm than good.
She has some tartar, but nothing serious like abscess.
The vet's words - Lucy has so much going on, I don't want to do it!, and I agree.
* The only good thing is, her glucose is "tight", and the vet thought I was doing a great job managing her diabetes.
Ginger
* The vet thinks Ginger also has an very early stage of CKD.
Oh no!!!! Ginger never had any health issue! I'm really sad about this.
The vet wants to re-check her blood in 2 - 3 months to confirm the diagnose.
* As for Ginger's dental, she wants to wait until we do the next test, since it's not urgent.
I think the reason for this is because if her CKD progresses quickly, then maybe not worth doing dental is what she's thinking?
I'm so scared.
So, the doctor wants to do both cats' bloodwork again in 2 - 3 months, so I think I'll bring them in in October.
I've starting giving Lucy slippery elm bark powders and probiotic, so I'm hoping her protein value will improve by then.
I've also started giving her Omega-3 fish oil, basically to mask woody smell of elm bark powders.
I'm starting all of them very slowly, a little less than the recommended dose.
I'm going to get a copy of their lab reports, including the previous ones, on Friday.
I'm going to make a lab spreadsheet and upload here on Saturday, then will ask for eyes.
If you can interpret the lab results, please please take a look on weekend and help me!
Thinking about ((Ann & Maggie)).
Sorry for the long post, and thank you for reading.
Have a nice day!