8/7 Lucy PMPS=160;+2=112 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

8/6 AMPS=157; +1=146; +2.25=94; +3.5=110; +10=85; +11=97
8/6 PMPS=94; +2=67; +3.25=74; +5=86; +7.5=94

8/7 AMPS=106; +2=65; +3=119; 8.75=124
8/7 PMPS=160'; +2=112

Lucy vomited clear liquid (little formy in part) early this morning, but she was still interested in eating.
So I was able to give her Pepcid hidden in a little ball of food 30min before the AMPS & breakfast. It's so much easier to give her Papcid when she wants to eat...
She ate the 1st breakfast well, half by herself and rest by finger-feeding.

The vet called me yesterday evening with Lucy's & Ginger's bloodwork results.
Overall, not so good, unfortunately.

Lucy
* Her CKD has progressed a little, compared to the previous test done about 6 months ago.
She is, and I think was, stage 2 CKD, and the vet said progression is still slow, but the creatinine level is elevated more than before.
Her phosphorus value is fine.
* Her protein levels are low, and the vet thinks Lucy is losing protein into her intestines and pooping out due to IBD.
She thinks Lucy's soft poops is due to this rather than bacterial imbalance.
Lucy may not be holding the prednisolone reduction too well, so we may need to increase the dose back up.
* Her pancreatitis value is still high. The spec fPL value is 38 ug/L. But it's slightly better than the previous 3 tests done in the past 6 months - above 50 and 42.
The vet thinks pancreatitis may never go away.
* No go for dental cleaning. The vet thinks that doing dental and putting her under anesthesia may do more harm than good.
She has some tartar, but nothing serious like abscess.
The vet's words - Lucy has so much going on, I don't want to do it!, and I agree.
* The only good thing is, her glucose is "tight", and the vet thought I was doing a great job managing her diabetes.

Ginger
* The vet thinks Ginger also has an very early stage of CKD.
Oh no!!!! Ginger never had any health issue! I'm really sad about this.
The vet wants to re-check her blood in 2 - 3 months to confirm the diagnose.
* As for Ginger's dental, she wants to wait until we do the next test, since it's not urgent.
I think the reason for this is because if her CKD progresses quickly, then maybe not worth doing dental is what she's thinking?
I'm so scared.

So, the doctor wants to do both cats' bloodwork again in 2 - 3 months, so I think I'll bring them in in October.
I've starting giving Lucy slippery elm bark powders and probiotic, so I'm hoping her protein value will improve by then.
I've also started giving her Omega-3 fish oil, basically to mask woody smell of elm bark powders.
I'm starting all of them very slowly, a little less than the recommended dose.

I'm going to get a copy of their lab reports, including the previous ones, on Friday.
I'm going to make a lab spreadsheet and upload here on Saturday, then will ask for eyes.
If you can interpret the lab results, please please take a look on weekend and help me!

Thinking about ((Ann & Maggie)).

Sorry for the long post, and thank you for reading.
Have a nice day!
 
Re: 8/7 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=65 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

Hi guys .. wow, definitely lots going on for you and your kitties .. I hope the blood work all improves by October .. Numbers look nice for lucy this morning! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/7 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=65;+3=119 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

Hi Mariko,

Sorry the bloodwork didn't come out better, but hope that the vet's suggestions keeps things on an even keel, or even improving. Cleo has a vetty visit today (soon - I am hoping she will come out from under the bed on her own.) I am hoping for better numbers too, and for her heart murmur to not have worsened.

We just want them to feel good, since they don't read the numbers!

Jane
 
Re: 8/7 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=65;+3=119 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

Hi Mariko, sorry not what you wanted to hear, Hoping the test in Oct will come back better, I use dental pdas toclean teeth there is no way to get a tooth brush in there mouth maybe that will help for you too! Very nice numbers. :smile:
 
Re: 8/7 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=65;+3=119 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

I'm sorry the bloodwork results weren't as good as you had hoped. The good thing is you can treat your kitties and get them feeling good. Sending prayers and hugs to you. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/7 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=65;+3=119 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

Hi Mariko,
Nice numbers for Lucy today. Sorry for the increased values but sounds like your Vet is communicating and staying on tops of things with re-checks. Once you get copies of the Labs and the numbers posted and eyes on them, I'm sure you will get some good help here when ready.
Mags had tartar on her teeth, and her Vet didn't want to do a dental on her either when she started having so many medical issues. Sending both Lucy and Ginger lots of positive thoughts and healing vines. I did have some C.E.T poultry toothpaste that I would try and rub on her too few teeth. :-D Most of the time she preferred just licking it from my finger.

Thanks for thinking of me and Mags today and for your sweet message of condolence in Maggie's condo. I'll be sticking around to check on Lucy and Ginger. Before Maggie left for the Bridge, she asked that I please check on her buddies. She, as well, will be watching over Lucy and Ginger. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/7 Lucy AMPS=106;+2=65;+3=119 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

Did the vet give you levels on cobalamin and folate? You might want to ask about B-12 supplementation since it can help with food absorption in the gut. You also might want to drop Marje a PM. She's very knowledgeable about kidney issues and may have some insights.
 
Re: 8/7 Lucy PMPS=160 // BLOODWORK RESULTS

Peter, Jane, Linda, Carla,
Thank you for your visits and vines.

((Ann & Maggie))
Thank you for checking on Lucy and Ginger.
I know you are still very sad, and we all are, but I hope you are coping OK....
Hugs to you.

Sienne,
I don't think the vet mentioned cobalamin or folate.
I don't remember it ever mentioned in her previous tests either, so we may not have done a test for those.
I give Lucy a monthly vitamin B-12 injection. Is it no the same as the B-12 supplementation you mentioned?
Her dose is very small, only 0.05ml once a month.

Lucy had a diarrhea during the day today, and her PMPS number is much high for her.
After talking with the vet yesterday, I am worried that her IBD has come back. :sad:
I'll give her until Sunday, and then call the vet if her poop doesn't improve.....
 
Mariko

I'm so sorry you got all this news today. I will be happy to look at the actual numbers when you get the labs posted.

Try not to worry. If you catch CKD early, and it sounds like you have, there are alot of small things you can do to help keep your babies stable a long time.

Please PM me when you get the results posted and I'll help you sort through them.

Sending Lucy healing vines for her Ptitis. :YMHUG:
 
Mariko,

I'm so sorry about the scary news from the vet. You're a great momma bean, doing everything you can for your babies. Many big (((hugs))) for you. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top