8/7 Jessie AMPS 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessie's mom

Member Since 2011
This is the first time I have posted for Jessie here. I have not given her shot this morning. She had been consistently in the mid to upper 200 during the last week. Her Lantus pen was about 6 weeks old so it was thought maybe it was not effective any more. Yesterday I started a new pen, shot her .5 and her +6 went up to 302. Her AMPS had been 278. More importantly was her appearance and behavior. She seemed groggy all day, and then last night became aggressive toward her brother, attacking him, hissing at and biting me. Very difficult to calm down. I skipped her shot last night. What could have happened yesterday? Seems coincidental that it was the first dose of a new pen.
 
hello, welcome to Lantus Land

Jessie is the kitty and you are Jessie's mom, would you like us to call you Jessie's mom?
I was reading your previous threads from health, and it sounds like Jessie is a bit aggressive, how old is Jessie?

first things first, be ready to start reading stickies and printing, start with the Protocol we follow here in Lantus Land.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581


you'll want to learn how Lantus works, mainly, Lantus works best with consistency and patience on your part.
Shooting on a 12/12 schedule, nadir spotchecks, or any numbers besides the preshot's really helps others help you.


would you be able to share any health history?
any history of ketones?
Is Jessie on a low carb canned food diet now?

since you do not have a spreadsheet, hopefully you can set one up soon, see Tech forum for help, would you be able to share some
previous numbers in a 12/12 sequence,
AMPS #,
+1
+2
+3
and so on,
PMPS #'s, spotcheck numbers in between cycles etc...

When you say she seems groggy, do you test her? any numbers if so?

Others will be along to ask questions and offer support, in the meantime, read the stickies up above and the one's floating around (with the star icon)
 
Welcome to Lantus Land.

If you've got a spreadsheet, or if you could post more of Jessie's blood glucose (BG) test numbers and dosing that will give us a better idea of what's going on. I've skimmed your posts in Health. Has Jessie been on the 0.5u dose since you started shooting?

Are you testing for ketones? Does Jessie have any medical issues either now or at the time of diagnosis?
 
My name is Sandy, and Jessie is my kitty. I have had her and her brother for a couple of years, taking them from a previous owner who had them on a waiting list at a shelter. I don't know anything of her past health, as she has always been non-transportable, and they had given up on getting her to a vet. I believe she is 8 or 9 yrs. old.
She was diagnosed about mid June, and has been on .5 ever since. I feed her Friskie's pate, and some FF, but mainly I cook chicken breast, and purchase canned chicken. I was cooking ground turkey until I read that there is a recall on some ground turkey.

She has calmed down quite a bit in the past week and even now jumps up on the counter at testing time. I can't explain why she has become so willing almost overnight, but I am thankful. Maybe she can read and checked out my post on the message board when I was ready to just give it up! I think she was starting to feel better? or I found a treat she loves? or maybe it is because after that rant I finally felt differently about all this. I realize that I am committed to helping her, I feel more confidant in testing, and she better just get on board with it.

She is calmer today, purring again, and at +3, she is 249, but with No Shot! So I should say 3 hrs. after preshot number.
edit to add, no ketones.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top