Re: 8/7 Bj AmPs(448), +2.5 (243)
hi mike! got your pm and thought i'd just respond here. punkin has acro so his doses have gone as high as 15.5u before he was treated with SRT last september. at the moment his dose is 9ish units. we used the last vial til the end - i can't tell you exactly how long is the longest we've used a vial without going over his whole ss, but this last vial was about 7 weeks til it ws finished and i thought the lantus was just fine. people have reported using them for months, though. it just depends.
there are 2 things i'd look for to make me think the lantus wasn't good. the main one would be if BJ lost regulation - meaning you get his numbers under control and for an unknown reason he starts going up in numbers and you have to increase in dose. it can develop a look on the ss like you're shooting water - no typical lantus curve to the numbers, for example.
a secondary factor - if you see teeny bubbles inside the vial. the kind of bubbles that you can't get to coalesce. i haven't had that happen in a vial but did have it happen in a pen and i thought the lantus had puttered out at that point.
oh - i just saw you're in washington. i think the Sav-On chain is there too. I buy the pens in a pharmacy inside an Albertson's store. the pharmacy is connected to Sav-On. If you have an Albertson's, try there.