8/7 Bj PmPs(461), +2(289), +3.25(189)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike and Bj

Member Since 2012
AmPs (448)
+2.5 (243)
+4.5 (205)
+7.5 (244)
PmPs (461)
+2 (289)
+3.25 (189)

AM Meals: AM, small +1.5, small +2.5, med +4
PM Meals: PM, med +2, +3.2

Yesterday Recap:
AmPs (378) Main meal
+2 (406) meal
+4.5 (364) meal @ +4
+7 (369)
PMPS (367)
meal @ +1.5
+2.6 (213) meal
+4 (170) meal
+5.5 (173)
 
Re: 8/7 Bj AmPs(448)

hi mike! i saw your post about the bubbles and syringes and wondered if you have looked at the information and video on the yellow starred sticky? that will give you some good information on how to draw from either the vial or the pen and get the fewest possible bubbles. here's the link: Lantus & Levemir: Care, Handling & Storage

i use a vial as well, although for smaller doses the pen is more economical. just fyi, as long as you take care of the insulin, you ought to be able to use it til basically the end of the vial. people have had them last 6 months, so unless you see signs that the insulin is toast, keep on using the vial. the 1 month expiration on the label/packaging seems to be precautionary rather than fact.

also, some places will sell one pen at a time - i have one store in town that will sell one for $43, exactly 1/5 of their 5pen box price. you have to call around to ask. my chain store is a "Sav-On."
 
Re: 8/7 Bj AmPs(448)

Hi, Julie. Thank you for stopping by. :smile:

Yeah, I did watch that video a couple times. I'm doing a lot better now with the bubble control. Takes some practice. Drawing exactly .75u is my new challenge heh. I will read that whole page again too.

I'd really like to use my lantus til it runs dry so I'm going to see how far I can stretch it. I asked at WalMart today if he could sell me a single Pen but no... That's fine because Canada seems way too cheap to resist. I am definately going to call around though for when I need some in a pinch.

Thanks a bunch!
 
Re: 8/7 Bj AmPs(448), +2.5 (243)

hi mike! got your pm and thought i'd just respond here. punkin has acro so his doses have gone as high as 15.5u before he was treated with SRT last september. at the moment his dose is 9ish units. we used the last vial til the end - i can't tell you exactly how long is the longest we've used a vial without going over his whole ss, but this last vial was about 7 weeks til it ws finished and i thought the lantus was just fine. people have reported using them for months, though. it just depends.

there are 2 things i'd look for to make me think the lantus wasn't good. the main one would be if BJ lost regulation - meaning you get his numbers under control and for an unknown reason he starts going up in numbers and you have to increase in dose. it can develop a look on the ss like you're shooting water - no typical lantus curve to the numbers, for example.

a secondary factor - if you see teeny bubbles inside the vial. the kind of bubbles that you can't get to coalesce. i haven't had that happen in a vial but did have it happen in a pen and i thought the lantus had puttered out at that point.

oh - i just saw you're in washington. i think the Sav-On chain is there too. I buy the pens in a pharmacy inside an Albertson's store. the pharmacy is connected to Sav-On. If you have an Albertson's, try there.
 
Re: 8/7 Bj AmPs(448), +2.5 (243)

I get pens individually at my Target pharmacy. This is another thing you need to call around about, though, because I know not all Target pharmacies will break up a set. We're able to use every last drop from the pen (Trix is currently on 2.5U).

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 8/7 Bj AmPs(448), +2.5 (243)

Hi, Amy :smile:

Target huh? Heh, I had no idea they even had a pharm. Sweet, I will check that out.

Julie, thanks for the info as well. And I knew Sav-On sounded familiar but didn't click til you said Albertsons. Which happens to be the closest store to my house so awesome.
 
Re: 8/7 Bj AmPs(448), +2.5 (243), +4.5 (205)

+4.5 (205)

What a pain in the butt to find lancets at 26g. Curse WalMart for being out of everything in two stores. I had to settle for 28g from Walgreen$ which seems to work for now. Only double the price for what is probably made at the same factory. Took me three pokes though. Gah.
 
Hi Mike, you might want to feed him a little LC, as that was kind of a quick drop. 100 points in 75 minutes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top