8/6 Shakes - just dont know

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Hi Everyone!!
hope you all are having a great SAturday!
wish we were...
I really dont understand, and I am starting to think that there is something wrong.
I am glad we have a vet appt Monday
His numbers are all over the place
He used to get really nice duration but it seems that it is changing
some days he does and some days he is way off, like today
his amps 310
+4 - 150
+8 - 240
pmps - 385!! what!!
I gave him about 3.25 tonight so we shall see.
Also question. He has a dental on Monday.
They said not to feed after 8pm and at 7am (2 hours after his normal shot time) to shoot half dose??
does that sound right to you?
hope you all have a great night
Denise and Shakes
 
Hmmm, if you won't be feeding all evening, I don't know about shooting insulin into a food deprived kitty. I have always heard no food after midnight. You just don't want food in their stomach when they get the anesthesia. Also, anesthesia can make kitties more sensitive to their insulin, which is another reason I'd be cautious about giving a dose that morning. With my two I have always given food until midnight and I give no insulin the morning of a dental. They don't need to go hypo while on the table like that!
 
Thumper has never had a dental but I'm pretty sure everyone always says no insulin the morning of surgery.
 
For Harley's dental it was no food after 7pm and no insulin in the morning. But he was on a very small dose.

I can't remember who, maybe they will speak up, gave a reduced dose the morning of the dental.
 
Just a quick check in ...I have to run...but, with Kitty no insulin the morning of the dental and no food or water after 6 pm the night before.
 
Henry had his dental on 7/14.
He was to ave no food after 10 pm the night before dental, water ok .
No insulin in AM before dental and reduced dose for PM dose after to allow anethesia and pain med to wear off.
And, btw, the dental was not a miracle cure; he has beautiful teeth now, but his numbers were starting to get wonky right before dental and that continued after dental and UTI cleared. Of course, ECID and he had no infection or abcesses.
Good luck with the dental!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top