8/6 Max PMPS 104 +3.5 83 +10.75 110 +11.5 130

Status
Not open for further replies.

max&emmasmommie

Member Since 2012
From this morning: No break! Hubs is watching carefully and will test & feed test & feed. Huge drop!!!! Hubs knows what to do. Posting so you all don't worry! Waiting for update from DH.

Night: Gentle increase at +1.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93

At + 3.5 he was at 41. He's been eating LC on his own, but DH is feeding HC now and will test 20 min later.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93

Hi Dale!

Can DH post or are you having to act as go between?

Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93

Please keep the first Subject Line updated with the last test number, so that people can see at a glance how things are going. I have to log off for a while, unfortunately. While he's in the low 40s, I would just give some (like a teaspoon or so of) HC gravy and do like you are doing and test again in 20 minutes. You don't want Max to get too full.
I'll check back with you when I can.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93

He can't post. I'm on the road home, and I have to pull over to post or talk to DH. Maxs last reading was 44, and he had eaten 3 teaspoons of LC (not only one, bummer). He then refused HC, of course. So, I asked DH to rub Karo on his gums. He did and will test at +4.75.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93

Good update! I'll be waiting for the next update (and if you post again, try to edit your subject line?)

Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93 +4.3 41 +4.5 44 +5 46

He's at 46 at +5. I need to drive home quickly, and it will take at least 30 min. DH will test at + 5.35. It is +5.2 now. I won't post again until get home and see what's happening. Phone's battery is dying, and I have to save it for calls and txts with the Hubs. Thank you for all your support!!!!
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93 +4.3 41 +4.5 44 +5 46

You won't see this until you get home, but DRIVE SAFELY!
And when you have a few extra minutes later, go to amazon.com, and order a spare car charger for your phone and stick it in the glove box in case this ever happens again! Three or four bucks, tops. I think I have four of them stashed in various places. ;-)
Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +2 93 +4.3 41 +4.5 44 +5 46

I as wrong about being in the 5th hour! We are just approaching +5 now.

Recap:

165 @ Amps
93 @+1
41 @ +3.3
44 @ +3.5
46 @ +4.1
41 @ +4.5
47 @ +4.75
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +3.5 44 +4.1 46; +4.5 41; +4.75

When and what did he last eat?
Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +3.5 44 +4.1 46; +4.5 41; +4.75

He's at 55 at +5.1

Hi, Dyana,

Yeah, I guess 1.5 was just fine for this morning. Not sure what will happen tonight or tomorrow, but this freight train sure is trying to be early to station on this cat!!!!!

Dyana wrote: "Please keep the first Subject Line updated with the last test number, so that people can see at a glance how things are going."

Question: Is there any way around have to make a new post in the thread PLUS having to go to the very first post in the thread and edit the subject line in order to get the Headline to show your most recent test?

I wrote this yesterday:
The headline. Grrr. When I go to the subject line of the [VERY FIRST] post in the thread and modify it the modifications show up on the board as the headline. If I add new test results to any of the [OTHER] posts' headlines (or just the new one I'm posting at the time) it [DOESN'T] show up on headline that you will see when you look at all the day's posts. So, I frequently go to the first post's headline, and add test (or delete to make room for new tests) after each of my new posts in the thread.


Is this the only way to do this??? If so, could we get someone who knows how to make it different -- so the headline of the post you are putting up at the moment shows as the Main Headline on the board instead of only if that new information is in the headline of the very first post, too?
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +4.75 47 +5.1 55

(Breakfast at +11.5)
165 @ Amps
93 @+1
(Ate LC somewhere in here)
41 @ +3.3 (At LC - 3 teaspoons)
44 @ +3.5
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on gums)
46 @ +4.1
41 @ +4.5
47 @ +4.75
55 @ +5.1
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on each side of his gums; He's furious! Refused his chicken breast treat.)
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +4.75 47 +5.1 55

(Breakfast at +11.5)
165 @ Amps
93 @+1
(Ate LC somewhere in here)
41 @ +3.3 (At LC - 3 teaspoons)
44 @ +3.5
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on gums)
46 @ +4.1
41 @ +4.5
47 @ +4.75
55 @ +5.1
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on each side of his gums; He's furious! Refused his chicken breast treat.)
54 @ +5.5 (Ate chicken breast treat sometime in the last 20 minutes)
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +4.75 47 +5.1 55

Not a big fan of the karo, huh? I've never tried it to see how it tastes, but I've heard it's nasty stuff. I have tried Pure Bites fd shrimp though (but I was less than impressed...not very shrimpy to me)

In answer to your question about updating the subject line. As far as I know, the only way to update what everyone sees on the main index page is for the original poster to update the very first post. There may or may not be a global setting that can change that, but it would only be available to Rebecca or maybe another of the mods if it even exists.

so Max is hanging out in the mid-50s which means "lather, rinse, repeat" every 20?

Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +4.75 47 +5.1 55

Not a big fan of having his mouth messed with period.

Some people say to test him every thirty minutes after he ate HC because it won't show up until then, but, Yep!

I'm going to give him HC as soon as he'll eat it. Then, LC as soon as he'll eat it after that. He either earned his reduction today or it's too early to give a reduction after the last reduction anyway. I'm not going to spend the whole afternoon lathering, rinsing, and repeating if I can get him up above 70 before +8. He could hang out in the 50s until +9.5 knowing him.

Do you think I need to see him above 100 before I stop testing every 30?
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +4.75 47 +5.1 55

On the reduction.... I think it's too soon since the last one? I hope Marje or one of the others can say for sure, because I'm still "in training" with this. But he's dropped from 2.25sk, to 2, to 1.75 to 1.5 in 4 days. This was his first day (2nd cycle) on 1.5, right? I think he still might be living a little off the shed from his 2.25 or 2.0 cycles, but I'm not sure...

The number I've been reading a lot lately is "70" as far as how high you would like to see him go. And I think (but would have to go back and read other condos) that you want to see a rising number for 2 consecutive tests, not boosted by additional feeding? I'm going to have to look for specific quotes though...

I can't say I blame you for just wanting him to come up and stay up for this cycle. Over the past week, there's a whole lot of green on your spreadsheet, and not too much else! Which is exactly what you've been hoping for of course, but it hasn't exactly been nice and easy for you. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +4.75 47 +5.1 55

Dale,
This was from the very first "hypo" condo I ever sat and watched (and occasionally posted in). Mikey had dropped to 38 at 3 in the morning, and these were instructions from Marje to Jenn:


Nice job. Ok....a few things....
1. you need to test every 30 minutes for the next hour or so because HC and karo wear off. In general, it takes karo about 2 hours to wear off but ECID.

2. if he's hungry still, you can feed him LC food but don't overfeed....keep it small helpings in case he comes back down

3. If he continues to rise into the 100s, you can test every hour; you need two rising numbers not influenced by food to go to testing every two hours.

4. once all of the above applies, if he gets up over 200, you can go to bed for the night

Not sure if it all applies in this case. But this is where the "2 rising numbers without food" memory I had came from.

Carl

eta - this is from the Handling Low Numbers sticky -
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71

Marje and Dyana had to go. You got me!! And it looks like I missed all of the excitement.

Carl is correct -- generally. There are times when back-to-back reductions are a recipe for a failed reduction. Max, however, is on a mission. There have been other cats in similar mode (e.g., Randy's Max and Devon's Mocha). They race down the dose ladder giving their beans panic attacks along the way. Essentially what's going on is that the depot is overflowing or Max is slow in allowing the depot to catch up with the dose reductions. This is where it becomes a guessing game. It can be a matter of a bigger than usual reduction or even skipping a shot in order to get things to level out.

Dale -- once you've caught your breath and can think clearly, do you have a sense of what is going to be best for you and Max?
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +7.1 75

He's at 75. Good. I need to get more strips!

Carl,

Thanks, that's what I thought. It's very difficult if he cruises in the 50s for 6 or 8 hours a day. He never goes over 200, of course, unless I skip a dose. I can't be a mother to my child under those circumstances. If he's going to do this long term, I'll have to either abandon TR or take some risks.

Maybe I'll just try to find a pattern and feed him on a schedule with the assumption that his blood glucose is the same as it was on 8/3 during the daytime for 8 hours. My house is a wreck; my "clean" laundry is rotting in the washer; I have clean clothes but they are all over the bedroom, not in the drawers or on the racks; I haven't made lunch in THREE days now (good thing baby's still eating baby food out of a package for lunch; Hubs is on his own!). . . it can't go on like this.

(Never buy a High Efficiency washer; they have a flaw in that they get bacteria or mold or something in them because they use very little water. (It did this even before I had dirty diapers to wash). You have to either run a load with bleach in it (or just bleach but no clothes) or buy a special "cleaning solution" they sell for this problem that you run through it every week or two weeks. How stupid -- it's supposed to save water, but you are running an extra load of bleach water every week OR you are washing your clothes twice or three times until you figure out that the washer is making them stink! Until you run the bleach cycle it won't clean the clothes. God forbid it's hot and you leave wet clothes in the washer for a whole day after you run it. Then, you have to run bleach in it even if you just did that two days ago. Regular old fashioned washers don't do this -- if the clean clothes are left in there for 12 hours and they stink sometimes all you have to do is a "rinse and spin" cycle with no detergent at all.)
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71

Hi, Sienne! You did miss all the excitement, but I'm guessing you get your fair share around here occasionally!

What's best for me or what's best for Max?!!! Ha, ha. :shock:

He is not needing insulin the way he did when his gums were infected, is he?!!!! I was a little disappointed when his antibiotics were finished, and he was still having high BG. I just needed to wait. (If you don't like the weather just wait; it'll change!)

If I could take bigger reductions or skip shots, that would be best. As you can see, even when I skipped a shot on the evening of 8/4, we had near hypos every other cycle after that (or possibly three in a row) until I took the reduction to 1.75 yesterday morning although, technically, I was supposed to shoot 2.0 that morning. I don't think we can predict anything with this cat's pancreas, but it would be nice if I wasn't feeding AND testing. I'd like to be only testing and seeing 60s and 70s at the lowest. :? Too much to hope for?

How are you and kitties?
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +7 75

(Breakfast at +11.5)
165 @ Amps
93 @+1
(Ate LC somewhere in here)
41 @ +3.3 (At LC - 3 teaspoons)
44 @ +3.5
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on gums)
46 @ +4.1
41 @ +4.5
47 @ +4.75
55 @ +5.1
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on each side of his gums; He's furious! Refused his chicken breast treat.)
54 @ +5.5 (Ate chicken breast treat sometime in the last 20 minutes)
62 @ +6.3 (Refused HC)
71 @ +6.7
75 @ +7
At +7.5 will have been without food for 2 hours
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71

Me and my guys are just fine!! I'm on vacation this week so I went to the movies this afternoon.

There's a balancing act here that not only involves what's best for Max but what is best for you. I hate hearing that you're almost at wit's end. That's not good. It may be only for the short run but coming down the dose ladder is very stressful. I'm very tempted to suggest dropping the dose to 1.0u so you can worry a bit less. I can't guarantee that you'll see the effects tonight. Max seems to have a depot made out of titanium. If you skip, there's no guarantee that it will be any different than the last time. There's also no guarantee that dropping the dose won't put numbers higher than you'd like. it's a gamble. You're input and decision is the critical factor here since you know your cat and you're the one holding the syringe. You've got time to consider the options. Others may also weigh in with their thoughts. This isn't one of those situations where there's a clear cut answer.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

62 @ +6.3 (Refused HC)

Max: "Mom, not really hungry... please review 'Emergency Step #1' with Dad....I sort of porked out on the 3 spoonfuls of LC, and I've been bloated ever since"

But with no food for almost 2 hours, he looks like he's holding steady past what should be his nadir?

Carl

ETA - and that chicken breast treat should be just about zero carbs, so he hasn't had a "booster" since the karo.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

Ha, ha, Carl, I did review Emergency Step 1 with Dad. Dad said, "Max refused the HC, and I thought some food was better than nothing." I've been learning this stuff for months; he hasn't.

Sienne,

I really need to slow him down unless it will have a medium to high probability of making it impossible for him to go OTJ. (I understand there is no guarantee he will go OTJ, but I don't want to ruin his chances.) Even if we see higher numbers, I think that will be okay. It's not like a day or two of that is going to cause that much more damage than the 4 months of high BG he had right after diagnosis.

However, I'm concerned that there is some mystery here and that slowing him down is going to jeopardize his chances of going OTJ, but then I thought about it: I am going to crash if we don't slow him down. If I crash, this will all be for naught regardless.

Will it make OTJ less likely if we skip doses or take bigger reductions? If I KNEW it would ruin his chances I would power through. He's going so fast that it will be over before I know it. Hubs would have to trade off with me. Now that he has handled a near hypo by himself, he'll would be fine with it.

We are going to have to trade off anyway (just handling the interim between shots). Trying to leave the house, ever, always results in something going wrong; two different mornings this week I have aborted take off. I was bound and determined to go to this kids' thing today. This morning what went wrong was the meter being filched by Emita in the split second I was entering the data. However, I have to leave once in a while; and I have to get some work done (at home) this week before a meeting I will have on Thursday or Friday. I have this one project only, it will be over on Sunday, and I can't screw it up or be late getting it finished.

Any thoughts?
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

(Breakfast at +11.5)
165 @ Amps
93 @+1
(Ate LC somewhere in here)
41 @ +3.3 (At LC - 3 teaspoons)
44 @ +3.5
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on gums)
46 @ +4.1
41 @ +4.5
47 @ +4.75
55 @ +5.1
(Refused HC; Rubbed Karo on each side of his gums; He's furious! Refused his chicken breast treat.)
54 @ +5.5 (Ate chicken breast treat sometime in the last 20 minutes)
62 @ +6.3 (Refused HC)
71 @ +6.7
75 @ +7.1
23 @ 8.25
93 Retest! @ 8.25
99 RE-retest!!! @ 8.25 (Breathing into the paper bag: ". . . . hawoooo . . hawooo . . .hawooo . . . Ok, Ok, heart is slowing")

I'm leaving him food and going to get some myself at a restaurant. I'll be back. His shot time is 9 pm Pacific Time. I'll post a +11 at least if not a +10 or +10.5.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

If a cat is determined to go OTJ, there's little that you'll be able to do to interfere with a cat on a mission. There's no way to predict what will or won't happen. It's all up to Max and his pancreas!! Remember, we're not leading this dance.

I'm leaning toward reducing the dose. It's your call.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

"Max refused the HC, and I thought some food was better than nothing
He definitely did the right thing then! I see "refused HC" three time in today's excellent adventure... Is it the same HC you've used in the recent past? Wondering if he either burnt out on it, or if it was something new and different.

I tend to side with the "bean" on something like your dilemma. I can't answer the questions about what chances on remission the various options affect. I just know Max needs you to be on top of your game, and you know your limits and where/when you cross the "this is TOO MUCH" line, Dale. DH did great today, and he'll do great next time too. Bottom line, you need to put you first, and do what you can within reason.

It sounds like from what Sienne said earlier that sometimes the regular rules don't apply, and cats come down the dose ladder like it's an elevator. And apparently nobody, including me, has a crystal ball that actually works, so there aren't any guarantees.

Not really much help, huh? :?

Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

I'm sort of glad I was typing that when you posted the 23 so I missed it.

Enjoy your dinner, Dale.

Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

FWIW, I vote for the reduction. I think his depot is getting ahead of you at this point.

Dale....grabbing dinner myself. I'll be checking in with you at +11 ok?
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75 +11 141

Hey, everyone!

At +11 he's at 141. I'm not sure when he ate LC. We weren't here. The trip to get strips after dinner was longer than expected. This might be a food spike.

Well, it's nice to hear that Sienne thinks it doesn't matter if I slow him down - he will go OTJ or he won't. If he simply needs less insulin that's better than nothing.

He was eating the Hills k/d. Hubs thought it might have gone bad. I don't think so. No matter - all is well.

I reduce to 1.0 tonight if that's what everyone means by "taking the reduction." I could use 1.25, but I think that if I have to go back up to that later, I'd rather be in that position than having another 36 show up. If I could avoid that, it would be nice.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

Why don't you try the 1u and see what he does. Your energy is amazing but sooner or later, you are going to burn out. And there's always the option to skip and then try 1.25u.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

Two votes for 1.0 u -- just what I wanted to hear. :smile:

We have a baby golden eagle here who was born just a few months ago. He sits on the tallest tree at least 2x a day and screams for his dinner. I guess Mom drops it by sometimes, because we've seen him flying off with something once in a while. We had one last year, too. Pretty cool.

Emma started eating again today. I told her there was a baby golden eagle out there who would gladly eat her food if she didn't. (Just kidding.)

Well, here we go getting ready for the blood test. Gotta find that furball. THANK YOU all for the help. How does anyone do this alone?

See ya later I'm sure.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

I have no idea how anyone does it alone other than shoot and go about their lives...they don't even know the danger.
 
Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75

He was at 104 at shot time, and I gave 1.0. He's as sick of all the drama as I am. He tried to bite me when I stuck him the first time. I had to re-position the needle just in case. Poor little guy.

I think it will be a busy night in his blood stream. Oh, well. I've got a couple of hours to rest before the fun begins!
 
Re: 8/6 Max PMPS 104 +1 110 +2.5 104 +3.5 83

Congrats on the 1.0u, Dale - it's got my vote too. (FWIW, We reduced by 0.5u too, right at the beginning of Karre's apparently temporary return to Lantus. Different circumstances of course, but even so I think another echo of the safe assumption that if a cat is going OTJ, even less run-of-the-mill dosing decisions won't stop it!)

Hope you get some rest!!
Jane
 
Re: 8/6 Max PMPS 104 +1 110 +2.5 104 +3.5 83

The polls are closed, but I have mailed in my vote for 1.0 too. Hope you have a long and green surfy day, but high greens, Max. :-)
Carl
 
Re: 8/6 Max PMPS 104 +1 110 +2.5 104 +3.5 83

Hey! The +10.75 was 110. I assume he cruised along close to that number all night. I set my alarm for +5.5, but I don't know why I didn't wake up. It didn't go off!

Max ate at +10.5 because I didn't wake up early enough to take away his food. He also ate at +9.00 or so. I hope there wasn't much left in the bowl at +10.5.

Jane, Karre's still doing great. So glad to see it.

Carl, thanks for the vote. I think it held!

Hope Marje has her electricity back.
 
Re: 8/6 Max PMPS 104 +1 110 +2.5 104 +3.5 83 +4 92 +10.75 11

Dale, wow and congrats on the reducie. You have one of the most exciting condos here watching Max. Hope you are holding up okay. Neat with the baby Golden Eagle. Glad Emma is eating. Hope Max has a nice easy surf today.
 
Re: 8/6 Max PMPS 104 +1 110 +2.5 104 +3.5 83 +4 92 +10.75 11

Thanks, Ann. Yeah, I hope he has an easy Green day, too!

I know! The eagles are great. They seemed to have been driven out of this area by all the construction, but they are making a small comeback. Apparently, last Fall a young one was found injured out by the Safari Park and nursed back to health by the hospital there. They think he was hurt in turf war. Maybe's he's this one's daddy!
 
Re: 8/6 Max PMPS 104 +1 110 +2.5 104 +3.5 83 +4 92 +10.75 11

Plus 11.5 is 130.

Don't you love it when your cat is so ready to eat and he gets his head over the bowl to get the last little bit from the last feeding -- then, when you try to put the spoonful of new food in it lands smack dab on his head? Max is still covered in dried food this morning. He looks so disreputable.
 
Re: 8/6 Max PMPS 104 +1 110 +2.5 104 +3.5 83 +4 92 +10.75 11

then, when you try to put the spoonful of new food in it lands smack dab on his head? Max is still covered in dried food this morning. He looks so disreputable.
:lol: :lol: Poor Max; that is so funny, as I've done something similar with adding a spoonful. Max is probably thinking, these silly humans. Have a nice day you two. Nice blue cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top