Re: 8/6 Max Amps 165 +3.3 41 +6.7 71 +4 75
Ha, ha, Carl, I did review Emergency Step 1 with Dad. Dad said, "Max refused the HC, and I thought some food was better than nothing." I've been learning this stuff for months; he hasn't.
Sienne,
I really need to slow him down unless it will have a medium to high probability of making it impossible for him to go OTJ. (I understand there is no guarantee he will go OTJ, but I don't want to ruin his chances.) Even if we see higher numbers, I think that will be okay. It's not like a day or two of that is going to cause that much more damage than the 4 months of high BG he had right after diagnosis.
However, I'm concerned that there is some mystery here and that slowing him down is going to jeopardize his chances of going OTJ, but then I thought about it: I am going to crash if we don't slow him down. If I crash, this will all be for naught regardless.
Will it make OTJ less likely if we skip doses or take bigger reductions? If I KNEW it would ruin his chances I would power through. He's going so fast that it will be over before I know it. Hubs would have to trade off with me. Now that he has handled a near hypo by himself, he'll would be fine with it.
We are going to have to trade off anyway (just handling the interim between shots). Trying to leave the house, ever, always results in something going wrong; two different mornings this week I have aborted take off. I was bound and determined to go to this kids' thing today. This morning what went wrong was the meter being filched by Emita in the split second I was entering the data. However, I have to leave once in a while; and I have to get some work done (at home) this week before a meeting I will have on Thursday or Friday. I have this one project only, it will be over on Sunday, and I can't screw it up or be late getting it finished.
Any thoughts?