8/6 kit AMPS 211,+2.5 179,+4.75 125,+5.25 103,+6 84,+6.6 84,+7 78,+8.5 77,+9.5 70,PMPS 82,+2.5 210

125 @4.75 without food for just over 2 hours
kit is acting really hungry.
i'm inclined to feed small amount LC and see what she does with it.


thoughts?


eta: fed 0.4 LC 6%. ate very willingly
 
Was there a reason that you reduced her dose from 4.5 to 4.0u? Generally, the reduction is by 0.25u.

hi, thanks for replying.
yes. high dose reductions are larger.

for reference elise and wendy on our thread 7/29


tiffmaxee said:
So I have a question in case this comes up again. Joji was increasing at ,25 until she hit 5.0 and then started .50 increases. At what point will she go back to decreasing at .25 increments?

Wendy&Neko said:
The answer is not one size fits all. In Kit's case specifically, the answer is when 0.5 decreases fail. In the back of my mind is the thought that Kit was seeing some glucose toxicity, which is now broken. When that happens, there can be a bit of a crazy ride down dose for a spell. Being at a higher dose can make for some overfull depot. These last couple larger decreases may be all she needed. Time will tell.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-55-8-25-56-9-64-9-5-61.232834/#post-2603375
 
Please link the thread. I'm at work and have precious little time to track down the thread since it's a week old.

Your cat is not on a high dose. A high dose is generally over 5 or 6u. There may have been a specific reason Wendy made the suggestion but even with cats on much, much larger doses, the reductions are typically 0.25u.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) i had suggested a .25 decrease but a Wendy disagreed with me because she felt glucose toxicity was no longer involved and therefore a .50 decrease was warranted. Based on how’s things have gone since I think Wendy was right.
Since she just had a decrease maybe I’m wrong but I would keep her surfing.
 
Rinse, lather, repeat.
ha, you must have been watching the ss and you type faster :)

so to recap for anybody lurking along:

78 @ just before 7
i'm inclined to see where she is without food support when we hit the 2 hour mark in about another 30min so just a bit after @7.5
eta: just a bit after @8 is 2 hours mark
reasoning: we still have plenty of time before the 2 hours no food before shot time rule to help her out w food if needed.
 
Last edited:
77 @ 8.5

still plenty of time in the day for kit to pull one of her fast ones as she loves to converge nadir w PMPS.:rolleyes:
will test her again in about an hour.
 
Another thought. The two hour rule once you know your cat is not always required I’ve read. Check the maths sticky. I always followed that rule though.
Very interesting thought...thanks for the sticky:)
When Moey was losing dramatic amounts of weight, shortly before he decided to leave us, I left the food down 24 x 7. I knew that AMPS/PMPS could potentially be food influenced but, also knew I was in control of the cycle;)

****NOTE to LURKERS**** this was only for Moey as I have tons of experience and he was dying from cancer.
 
she also has a late nadir.
Hold on to your surfboard

well here we are
70 @9.5

kit does like to keep it interesting.
i'm tending to feed her some more LC 6%, like 0.4oz
ya know, just to keep my hair from bursting into flames at PMPS.
maybe.

thoughts?

eta: kit voted for the food. so let's see what she does with it.
 
Last edited:
The two hour rule once you know your cat is not always required I’ve read.
Once you know your cat, and you know how much of a food bump she gets, there is wiggle room in the two hour rule - which is generally for newbies who don't know their cat yet. Basically if you feed later than +10, can you answer the questions "is her preshot number safe to shoot - subtracting the food bump"?

And to recap, my suggestion on the 0.5 unit decrease that one time was based on higher dose/depot, some pretty closer together reductions, and some late nights with not much sleep. And I see she's working this new dose well. :D
 
Back
Top