8/6 Casey AMPS~204 PMPS~267

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49281

Hi everyone again!!

I figure you have noticed no middle-day test, I am trying to conserve the few I have left. I did order some online but have to wait until they arrive by mail…I will figure out how to pay for them later. I do not have the $$ to buy some at the store if I run out before the new ones get here.

Also, by looking at her PMPS, I wonder if I got her meds inside her this morning or could they still be wonky #’s at this stage. This leads me to my question.

If I understood it, the protocol states that I should up Casey’s insulin after 10 cycles. :?: Should I raise her dose now, while I am low on test strips, or stay with the 1.0u until I have enough to do a nadir test? :?: And when I do change the dose, it would be by .25u…right?


8/6
AMPS~204
Put down 3oz can FF Free Feed
8th cycle~1.0u
Put down half of 3oz can FF Free Feed
PMPS~267
Put down 2nd half of 3oz can FF Free Feed
9th cycle~1.0u

Roberta
and Casey
 
I am really not qualified to give advice, but I am roughly at the same place in this process as you are. I just did a dose increase, and soon after, S'mores had very unexpected results (see my SS). So, if you are short on strips, and what happened to me happens to you, you would be in trouble...
 
when do you think you'll get the strips, and how many do you have until then? Casey has been getting lots of blue and even a touch of green on this dose, so I don't think I would push it too much by increasing until you know you can test.
 
Hi Roberta!

Nice numbers for Casey today. If it were me I'd wait until I had enough strips to do mid day tests before increasing a dose, so that you can monitor after the dose change. And yes, you would want to increase by .25. It looks like the meds got in her OK, there often is a difference between amps and pmps, the 60 points for Casey is common. If it didn't you probably would see a much higher pmps.

You've done great so far. I know how overwhelming it all can be - so much information to absorb. Have a nice evening tonight! Scritches for Casey! :cool: :-D
 
Thank you everyone for responding so quickly.

Sam, that is exactly what I am afraid might happen!! I Hope S’mores is feeling better now.

I found some, Free Style Lite, on healthwarehouse.com for $31.50 for 50. (The lowest price in stores is over $61 for 50.) I ordered them last night and it stated that it would take 2-9 days for shipping. I have 7 left. nailbite_smile

Oh, well, I just have to have faith that they will be here before I run out of the ones I have left!!

Thanks again,

Roberta
 
Roberta:

Let me suggest that you pick up a Relion meter and strips if there's a Walmart anywhere near you. The meters and strips are inexpensive. You can't manage on 7 strips if it takes 9 days for the mail to get to you. You can always use one meter or the other as your backup. It is inevitable that if you are this low on strips, Murphy's Law will go into effect.
 
my Casey bear said:
I found some, Free Style Lite, on healthwarehouse.com for $31.50 for 50. (The lowest price in stores is over $61 for 50.) I ordered them last night and it stated that it would take 2-9 days for shipping. I have 7 left. nailbite_smile
We went through our share of test strips. I started buying them on ebay and many times found them priced as low as 17.99 for 50 (we have they Bayer glucometer whose name escapes me just now). Those prices were a result of buying in bulk, anywhere from 2-6 boxes at a time, and I'd factor shipping (if any) into the price when shopping. Never had a problem (always looked for 99-100% approval ratings) and they always arrived pretty quick. One time I thought I got burned - turned out to be because I bought from a merchant in Canada the package had to go through customs. Very important to be mindful of the expiration dates though, especially if you buy a couple hundred.

I remember running out once and having to get them at the local Rite-Aid - I almost had a heart attack! It was $60. . .
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
You can always use one meter or the other as your backup.

Oh Yes! You should follow Siennes advice - hopefully a Walmart near you!
We learned about the importance of having a back up meter when one day BK decided it was a toy to bat around and hid it.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Roberta:

Let me suggest that you pick up a Relion meter and strips if there's a Walmart anywhere near you. The meters and strips are inexpensive. You can't manage on 7 strips if it takes 9 days for the mail to get to you. You can always use one meter or the other as your backup. It is inevitable that if you are this low on strips, Murphy's Law will go into effect.
Ok, I just looked on the healthwarehouse website again and found a shipping map indicating the estimated transit days. My area indicates 2 days. (1 day processing & 2 day shipping) I should have them by Wed evening...just in time.

Yes, I do have a Walmart near by and if push comes to shove, I will greatly consider your suggestion. Do the Relion meter require only a little blood to test too? If is does, then maybe I will have to consider changing meters.

Thank you,

Roberta
 
I don't use the Relion but I believe they require a small amount of blood. If you put something like "Relion question" in your subject line, someone will be able to tell you. A lot of people here use that meter. (There's not a Walmart near me so I use a Bayer Contour -- the name of which Sandy couldn't remember!!!)
 
I've been using the Relion Micro, and it works great. It's a very small amount of blood and the strips are cheap (~$35 for 100) with no shipping.
 
Roberta:

I think Sienne's suggestion is a great one. Even on days that I don't test much, I still use six strips. You don't want a surprise in the middle of the cycle (see Enana's condo today) and have to run out and get a glucometer and strips. Plus...having an additional glucometer gets you a membership in our Glucometers' Anonymous group. :lol: :lol: :lol: Most of us have more than two uh one. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top