8/5 SOX AMPS 575

Status
Not open for further replies.

Soxtiger

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21237
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=20765


Got AMPS reading from Sox at 584. Seems overnight BG went up by 110 points. Last nights reading was 473 and that was about +4 / +5 after insulin. Kitty might be slightly dehydrated this morning. I'm thinking a stop at the vet is in order. Second day with black reading, not good. Sox also slept through the night, which is very very rare..I actually woke in anticipation of hearing paws on the carpet. Still sticking with RC wet food only and chicken for snacks.
 
Re: 8/4 SOX AMPS 584

Have you been able to put a spreadsheet together yet? It's very difficult to spot any patterns without a spreadsheet.

Just for the heck of it, could you try feeding a low carb food (e.g., Fancy Feast Classic Chicken or Turkey, Wellness Chicken or Turkey) for a day or two and see what Sox' numbers look like? Adding some water to canned food can help with dehydration. If you are still giving dry food overnight, that may be contributing to dehydration, as well.

Also, were you able to pick up any Ketostix in order to test for ketones?
 
Re: 8/4 SOX AMPS 584

I have an excel spreasheet, haven't had a chance to convert to google yet, been having difficulties at download. We don't really have good pattern on Sox BG levels, the testing has been difficult, mostly due to user error with the lancet. I added water to the wet food this morning. I'm very hesitant of going back to dry food, that made Sox number go to 600 the other morning..don't want that again..
 

Attachments

Re: 8/4 SOX AMPS 584

Most Royal Canin is pretty HC. I'd be curious if you were to use a food we know is LC, what would happen to Sox's numbers.
 
Re: 8/4 SOX AMPS 584

see if this spreadsheet works:

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key= ... ey=CJPq8wk

It's in my account, but it's set so anyone can edit it. You can either copy it to your own Google account (which I recommend so I don't have to keep it!) or just update it at this link for a while. If it works, copy the link into your signature and then you won't have to remember to put it into your threads. I can only speak for myself, but I generally will not download files from the internet, so I wouldn't look at your spreadsheet often (if ever) as a download. I did today, so I could transfer your numbers into a Google spreadsheet.

Before we can make any dosing recommendations, we really need you to test at every preshot, and try to grab a few more mid-cycle tests. We're not vets, we can't make dosing recommendations without cold hard data to go on.

I see that the RC Modified Renal wet food is about 8% carbs. Some cats are carb sensitive enough that 8% is too much, but it does still fall within the realm of what the board generally considers "low carb" (less than 10% carb). I would say that could be something to experiment with some time.
 
Re: 8/4 SOX AMPS 584

ps.... you'll want to copy/paste your comments, I only copied the numbers but the comments are important too.
 
Hello everyone and thanks for all the great advice! I'm sorry I haven't checked back yesterday and thank you, thank you Libby for putting the spreadsheet together. This is so nice of you. :) Overall I want to credit this forum for being so very supportive and helpful. Our vets chin dropped yesterday when he saw the spreadsheet info with all the deligently kept tests. He wishes every diabetic kitty owner would keep track of their cats BG this way. I wouldn't have been able to do it without you guys, I had no idea a week ago and I feel like Iearned tons since.

I crashed yesterday, the past few weeks caught up, work, Sox..everything. Something had to give, so I passed out on the couch. We did take Sox to the vet yesterday, as suspected he was slightly dehydrated. He was given s/q and Jorge was shown how to administer the s/q liquids, so we can do that at home next time. We're feeling pretty confident with the syringe for the insulin and the poking of the ear has been a lot more productive. I free hand it now on the tip and gives me the right amount and doesn't stress out Sox too much either. He sure loves the chicken afterwards..which kitty wouldn't..;)

As for diet, we're going more and more raw, boiled chicken seems to be a huge hit around the house and seems to keep the numbers leveled no rapid spiking. The RC modified renal is 8% carbs and we have to be careful with switching since Sox is borderline kidney kitty. We do have some new flavors to try, such as Friskies Turkey Dinner which I believe has 7% carb, but you're right we may want to go even lower. There'e definetly no dry kibble in our future with Sox's BG still being high. I want to avoid too rapid of a switch, but we're trying a few things right now. I have to watch that I keep the other 3 kitties healthy, it's quite a juggle.

As for BG, we increased the Lantus injection from 2 to 3 units last night. Sox morning test was 584, +5 was 450 at the vets, PMPS was 565 and +5 was 475. This morning back to 575. Will only get an PMPS in. I hope we can do a curve over the weekend and/or next week when we're taking some time off. That may be the best time for us to switch things up a bit as well since we'll be around to monitor kitty.

Which other wetfoods do you recommend besides the ones on the canned food chart? What seems to be liked widely, which ones aren't so great? We have some discriminating eaters at home.. :lol:
 
....As for diet, we're going more and more raw, boiled chicken seems to be a huge hit around the house and seems to keep the numbers leveled no rapid spiking. The RC modified renal is 8% carbs and we have to be careful with switching since Sox is borderline kidney kitty. We do have some new flavors to try, such as Friskies Turkey Dinner which I believe has 7% carb, but you're right we may want to go even lower. There'e definetly no dry kibble in our future with Sox's BG still being high. I want to avoid too rapid of a switch, but we're trying a few things right now. I have to watch that I keep the other 3 kitties healthy, it's quite a juggle.

As for BG, we increased the Lantus injection from 2 to 3 units last night. Sox morning test was 584, +5 was 450 at the vets, PMPS was 565 and +5 was 475. This morning back to 575. Will only get an PMPS in. I hope we can do a curve over the weekend and/or next week when we're taking some time off. That may be the best time for us to switch things up a bit as well since we'll be around to monitor kitty.

Which other wetfoods do you recommend besides the ones on the canned food chart? What seems to be liked widely, which ones aren't so great? We have some discriminating eaters at home..




You'll want to be careful with the raw food, if it will become the main source of food, it does require additional supplements...please read thru Dr Lisa's website link:
Dr Lisa's Feline Nutrition

Are you working with your vet with dosing?
Now especially that dry food is out the picture, you really want to be monitoring the cycles. with spot checks.
Just to let you know, we don't suggest whole 1unit increases, as you may miss the ideal dose along the way.
I would not wait till next week to see what is happening with the new dose.


Link to the dosing protocol Lantus users here follow:
Tilly's Protocol: Modified Version
If you like, pass it along to your vet, we do suggest working with your vet, but unfortunately, some like to raise doses to fast, too high and to discourage the need for further home testing.
Safety first is very important.

With other canned food choices, it's pretty much trial and error, what ever they will eat. For myself, I went thru a few brands until we settled on one that was a good carb choice for my cat plus helped his numbers along the way too. ECID (every cat is different) so tracking the changes is a good idea, you see what works and what doesn't work for your own kitty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top