8/5 Skooter +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96 +6.25 103 +11 125

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 08/05 Skooter AMPS 78

Ok shot it.....at 0600.....

I called work and said I would be in late, I am just not sure at what +# I can consider him, a-ok....I think he probably went lower last night, but I didn't set my alarm right to get additional testing...ugh.....

Guess I need to get a +1 and a +2 and go from there?
 
Re: 08/05 Skooter AMPS 78

Hi, it is nerve wracking with these low AMPS. Skooter is doing so well. When do you have to go back to work? How many hours after the shot? Was the 100 a little while after the 78 reading.

You can feed a little higher carb food or a MC food if you need to steer the cycle higher if you need to.

Sometimes with a lower AMPS they do surf and don't drop that much. Sometimes they nadir a little earlier to. However, Skooter likes to earn his reductions and he is in the faster track improving phase now.

I would definitely do a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 08/05 Skooter AMPS 89n-SHOT IT **GULP**

I told him I might not be in until +5 or +6....I wasn't sure how long I would need to keep an eye on him for.....Funny how as soon as that AMPS goes to double digits, I freeze up a weeeeeeee bit....
 
Re: 08/05 Skooter AMPS 89n-SHOT IT **GULP**

Gotta be honest. When I saw that AMPS, I also gulped. I am so glad you are going to stay home this morning to monitor him. I was going to suggest that you drop him at your vet to monitor if you had to go to work. Of course, I am a complete wuss when it comes to shooting low.

I am beginning to think your Skooterman has his sights set on an OTJ party.
 
Re: 08/05 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP**

:sad: :sad: :sad: I think I just realized I am a wuss too and its too late :sad: :sad: :sad:
 
Re: 08/05 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP**

You have a good amount of time to see where he is headed.

I agree Skooter is looking to kick this insulin.
 
Re: 08/05 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66

Hi Molly,

I can completely relate to your unease; I cringed when I shot a low number with Jersey. Just remember that you can steer the numbers with food if you need to.

It's great that you're able to go into work late; I remember sneaking home from work to get a check here and there and my husband staying home from work one day to steer the numbers. It's definitely stressful to juggle work and a diabetic cat with low numbers.

Hang in there!
Shelly
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66 +3 46

Ugh...I feel so stupid for shooting his 89 now.....

I just gave home 2 teaspoons of HC food and will test in 30 minutes....

I guess I should be happy for the reduction, but I hope I didn't totally screw up by shooting it.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66 +3 46

Way to go! Congrats on the earned reduction.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66 +3 46

Most members would shoot an 89. We know that Skooter was getting really close to a reduction. Congratulations! You will bring him up with the food. No harm done.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66 +3 46

So if I remember correctly, I gave him 2 teaspoons at +3....I am going to get a +3.5 and then if I get two rising numbers after that (without food) I should be ok, yes?

I just worry as he hasn't hit his nadir time yet....he seems to nadir between +4 and +6 most of the time....I am starting to get a little nervous.....ok A LOT nervous
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66 +3 46

Excellent! You did exactly the right thing. You can carb him up a bit now. He's earned his reduction, nothing left to prove. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66 +3 46

I gave him 2 teaspoons of HC at +3 and I am going to test him at +3.5....

Then again at +4 and then I might need some advice/help.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

So I am probably freaking out when I don't need to be as he didn't go down any, but he didn't go up.

Should I give two more teaspoons of HC food?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

Yes, more hc. I sometimes even add a drop of karo to it in times like this. A reduction was already earned so you can give whatever it takes to bring him up.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

I would add a bit of Karo in the HC since you need to get back to work.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

I found out the amount of work I thought I had to do today, isn't as much, so even if I have to go in later or not at all, they can figure out a way to survive without me for a day....don't think I can say the same about something happening to my Skooter....more HC with a titch of Karo it is!

Thanks so much for being here!
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

molly, you're doing everything right, but you can't leave for work now. perhaps today can be a sick day.

i agree with adding a drop of karo to his high carb. we don't like to see surfing in the 40's because there isn't a margin for error there. just increase his carbs a little. keep repeating the process.

you're doing fine.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

cross posting.

good call on skipping work. skooter needs you more.

i think you can take off the 911 for now. lots of eyes on you and you're doing ok.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

He just got 2 teaspoons of HC with 3 drops of karo syrup....

I am getting nervous because this is the first time I have had to break out the karo syrup....

I am REALLY wishing I had just skipped his dose all together.....

OT: I cook when I get nervous, so I have a LOVELY turkey breast cooking in the oven right about now.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

I know you're really nervous, but you're doing great. Don't let breaking out the Karo scare you more; just think of it like high-powered, high-carb canned food. ;-)
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89-SHOT IT **GULP** +1 79 +2 66 +3 46

Good Morning ~O) ~O) :cool:

An exciting morning in Skooterville :mrgreen:

You are doing fine - How is Skooter?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

there are different high carb foods - you might have one that isn't high enough carbs. you want over 20% carbs in the gravy for pulling up low numbers.

nothing wrong with using karo - some people use it instead, especially since some cats are bothered by the grains in gravy.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46

The high carb I have, according to catinfo.org is 20% carbs (if I am reading it correctly).

It is FF gravy lovers chicken.....normally he is pretty carb sensitive and it brings him up pretty quickly.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51

So I know the 51 is probably the karo syrup, so I am guessing that a 4.5 is next for us?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51

yes, another test in 1/2 hr.

you can hold off on carbs when he's testing over 50 to see if he'll hold up on his own. don't want to overcarb him. probably what you already gave him may be taking longer to kick in.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51

Perfect! No changes in mood or behavior all morning. Still interested when I go for his food. Just chillin like he normally does.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51

Good job!!! Great helpers :-D

You're doing great, Molly, and Skooter looks good.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51

Ugh....

I am gonna have to use my back up meter for the first time because I must have misplaced his primary one in the whole three feet I have been keeping myself in....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5

Last time he ate was the 2 teaspoons and karo syrup at about 3.5 I believe.....


Is it safe to say that he this last increase was not completely due to the karo and HC?

I hate to keep poking him, but I am guessing I should do a +5
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5

Sorry but I would do a +5 as he was oy 51 and the karo can wear off.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5

I think the rise is from all the various carbs. You will have to be vigilant for a while more.
It's gonna be a poke-a-thon . . .
See you in 30 mins :cool:
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5

I will put some Neosporin on his ear after the next test....but assumed I would be doing a +5


So I wonder how badly he will bounce tonight......
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter AMPS 89 +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5

Skootersmom said:
So I wonder how badly he will bounce tonight......
It will be good data, whatever it is - and it will be temporary.
Back in the day we called it a 'save-a-strip night' - a time when beans can sleep and kitty ears are poke free :cool:
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +1 79 +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5 61 +5 8

Since it has been about an 1.5 since food...

Am I good to take a quick nap and test him at +6?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5 61 +5 80 +6 8

Lovely :cool:

I would stay put for now - BG could go either way - too soon to tell.
See you in 1 hour
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5 61 +5 80 +6 8

Just called my boss and said his numbers aren't coming up the way I want them to, so I won't be in today.

Now I worry about shooting greens during the AM cycle nailbite_smile

I might run out for food (I was not prepared to be home all day today).

As for tonight, if he is not above say 120, I am a bit nervous and worried about shooting him, even with his reduction.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5 61 +5 80 +6 8

Glad to hear you can stay home today :cool:

Skootersmom said:
Now I worry about shooting greens during the AM cycle nailbite_smile
Don't be scared - Be prepared. :mrgreen:
I recommend you beef up your ss with some +10 and +11 testing on the PM cycles.

Becoming Data Ready, from the Shooting Low sticky:
Why the +10s and +11s? These spot checks will help keep you out of trouble. Again, let’s say that you have a lower than usual preshot. If your preshot is higher than +10 or +11, you know the insulin from that cycle is waning, the cat is on his way up, and the number is probably shootable. If you have a preshot that is much lower than your +10 or +11, knowing why will help you decide whether or not to shoot.

Regarding tonight, by the time PMPS rolls around you will know.
It's all good :cool:
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +2 66 +3 46 +3.5 46 +4 51 +4.5 61 +5 80 +6 8

You and Skooter are both doing GREAT, Molly!!

Looks like he's got his surf going! If you haven't fed him anything for a couple of hours and he's holding in the 80's that's purrfect!

I'm sure Skooter will enjoy the baked turkey for dinner too! :-D

I think we all knew he was going to earn this reduction soon...he just chose to do it at an inconvenient time...A work day! It's great that you could take off though!
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69

Ugh...down again....

I used the primary meter and got 66, so tried my back up and got 72, so took the average of the two and got 69.....regardless he is going back down....

I have not given him his midday meal (which he gets around +5) in case I needed to load him up some....

I am going to give him about half of what he gets in his midday meal now
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69

Now Skooter....you're worrying your mamabean!

Once you get up on that surfboard, you're not supposed to fall off!...LOL

Hopefully giving him his midday meal will help get him (and keep him) up on that surfboard!

69 is still a nice safe number...just need him to stop dropping
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69

Should I be worried that he is still coming down even past the average cycle nadir (considering he normally nadirs around +4 to +5.5)?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69

I wouldn't worry. With the allowance for meter variance it is around the same. He is surfing nicely. You do need to keep monitoring though. I might give a teaspoon of lc to keep the surf going nicely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top