8/5 Skooter +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96 +6.25 103 +11 125

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+

At +8 and he STILL hasn't hit his AMPS number....

I know I shouldn't borrow trouble, but I am very concerned about shooting another green PMPS if he doesn't bounce......
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69

Skootersmom said:
Should I be worried that he is still coming down even past the average cycle nadir (considering he normally nadirs around +4 to +5.5)?
Worried - No
Mindful - Yes

You are closely monitoring. You have plenty of supplies. You have been guiding the numbers in a calm, evenhanded way.

It's all good :cool:
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+

Wow, Molly! You've had a busy, stressful morning. You are doing WONDERFULLY!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I'm thinking he may not bounce, or at least not a big one, since he didn't have a big drop - he started fairly low. Just my opinion. Wiser minds could tell me I'm all wet. ;-)

Keep up the good work.

You could take a few of the earliest readings off your main subject line if you want to keep adding the new ones.

Don't forget to breathe. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+

:sad: So if he doesn't bounce I am gonna have to shoot another green?

After today, that makes me waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

I admit, after today, I am a bit BOK BOK chicken of shooting green....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+

Remember the mantra, shoot low to stay low!! Scary? Yes. But better than a bounce. Take it from a bean who owns the king of bouncing!!
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+

Another random question.....

If he goes below 50 during his PM cycle, do I take him down another .25 tomorrow morning?


ADDED: Just answered my own question....re-read the dosing in the TR...hold for 3 days or 3 cycles, I can't remember which....so guessing if he goes below 50 tonight, still stick with the 1.5 that he earned today
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+2 66+3 46+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+

Skootersmom said:
So if he doesn't bounce I am gonna have to shoot another green?
You do not have to do anything you are not comfortable doing.
Like I mentioned earlier, beefing up the ss in the +10 and +11 hours will give a fuller, clearer picture and that will go along way in terms of future comfort level.

That said, lets see how the rest of the cycle plays out .

Skootersmom said:
Another random question.....

If he goes below 50 during his PM cycle, do I take him down another .25 tomorrow morning?
In general, back to back reductions are not a good idea. If that happens (it's not uncommon) it's likely due to "depot action" from the previous dose.
Best to give it a few cycles and let the dust settle before making further dose decisions.

This is a general guideline. There are cases (like BK, who had a depot the size of Lake Michigan) where back to back reductions are taken.
ECID
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85

At this point, only three hours left, so mind as do an hourly test...he doesn't seem to mind TOO terribly (knock on wood)....

I can't believe how tiring this day has been when I really haven't been DOING a lot...thinking time for a nap before his +10.....

I never thought I would see an entire cycle of aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllll greens......

I even caved and got some pop with caffeine in it for tonight's cycle.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85

great job today.

i'll just add a word of encouragement - shooting greens is the path to long flat green cycles, dose reductions and OTJ.

keep that in mind when making decisions on what to do tonight.

it can be hairy and intense, but for some lucky people it is short-lived and their cats go off insulin. that's quite a pay-off for the nervousness.

i wouldn't worry one bit about his numbers bobbling around in the 60-90 range today. it's all good. in fact, great. those aren't dropping numbers, just wobbling around.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+3.5 46+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85

I have already made up my mind, I will shoot the reduced dose of 1.5 tonight.

I just have to do it. Since I stayed home today, I can't stay home tomorrow, nor will I most likely be able to come home during the day to check on him. So if he is green tonight and tomorrow....I don't want to skip both doses and after today, I would not be comfy shooting him tomorrow morning knowing I cant check on him or stay with him. Since I don't want to have to skip two doses, I will shoot tonight and if need be skip tomorrow.....

Nap time for a whooping 40 minutes before his +10

Thanks for the encouragement....I know I will get used to this, but not gonna lie, this first one was a weeeeeeeeee bit scary.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+4 51+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85 +10 11

How nice of Skooter to finally have a decent size jump. At +10. When the work day is basically done. :roll:

Gotta love our kittehs, right?!
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85 +10 113 +11

cat_pet_icon :cool:

Suggestion -
On the ss note the times/carb %/amounts of what you fed today.
Everyone has their own method - I personally like to put that info in the cell of the corresponding +hour. That way I (and others) don't have to go searching for info.
Check out a few other kitties ss's and see how other folks do it.
It is important data and will come in very handy down the road.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85 +10 113 +11

looks like you're doing ok, molly.

several of us will be watching for you tonight, just in case you need help. you're not alone.

i came on FDMB just as Jojo was stopping posting - she and Jill were the long-time advisers on a previous board as well. Jojo was a vet tech who really understood FD. Even though I didn't know her, she had a saying, however, that i've remembered.

"Be the tank. A tank gets where it's going."

I may not have it exactly right - so someone on longer than me can correct me. but i think the sentiment is worthwhile with FD.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85 +10 113 +11

AM RECAP:

AMPS = 89
+1 = 79
+2 = 66
+3 = 46
+3.5 = 46
+4 = 51
+4.5 = 61
+5 = 80
+6 = 83
+7 = 69 (average of each meter)
+8 = 73
+9 = 85

+10 = 113
+11 = 130

PMPS = 112

Here we go again, Round 2! I did cave and purchase a 2 liter bottle of a caffeinated beverage, JUST IN CASE I needed it.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter+4.5 61+5 80+6 83+7 69+8 73 +9 85 +10 113 +11

you'll be fine.

isn't just a little teeny bit exciting, too?

Skooter may have turned a corner here. This is his 6th day since yellow numbers, and it looks like he may have been green since somewhere around +5 last night.

as far as dose reductions - definitely reduce tonight to 1.5u. we know previous doses can influence as many as 6 subsequent cycles, so typically, if he were to go below 50 again tonight, we'd blame it on the previous dose and suggest you hold the 1.5u a little longer.

another factor we consider is how difficult it was to get him above 50 and keep him there.

however, cats go down the dosing scale very individually. so let's play it by ear.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112

Exciting? I think I will feel that once all of today settles in lolol

I am hoping for a somewhat calm night tonight, but we will see what Skooter has in store....

I was just thinking....I don't think he has used his LB all day today....but he seems just fine
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112

Well Done ! :cool:

Be attentive. Skooters BGs didn't flinch after the skipped shot on 08/02/PM which makes me think you may indeed see action from the depot on the PM cycle.
Also, he does not seem like a bouncy boy. . .
Glad you got some caffeine :lol:

I will be unavailable for the next couple two three hours, however like Julie said, you're not alone.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
"Be the tank. A tank gets where it's going."
OMG yes - That was a Jojoism I heard many times . . .it's a good one!
(can't believe I forgot about it) Thanks for the reminder Julie -
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103

Skooter has been such a trooper today with all the ear pokeys....

I am wondering if I should do a +2 or if I can give him a small break and wait til +2.5 or +3.

If it is recommended that I do the +2 no problem....he is enjoying his turkey treats :)
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103

Hi there. Great day in Skooterville. :mrgreen: :cool: Just checking in to make sure the TV is set to the Skooter show tonight.

To help answer the question on next test, when does Skooter get his next meal?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103

Normally after PMPS he gets one around +4 or +5....the last few nights hasn't really worked out because of his numbers and wanting to make sure he would not be too full for if I needed him to eat...
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103

Given Skooter's tendency to be an early diver, I wouldn't wait until +3 for the next test. Maybe a 2.25 like last night, or 2.5 might be OK.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103

I will go with the 2.25 or 2.5, just to give him a small little break from the pokies he has been getting today.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103

Oh, Molly, I feel your pain! Hope you can catch some rest and that Skooter surfs comfortably tonight.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103

Just a small observation, Skooter has been in normal numbers for about 36 hours now. :cool: :cool: I'm discounting last night's 121 which is one point off cause of the MC dinner.

Great work Molly!
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91

flip_cat Woo Hoo 36 hours in the normal range!
flip_cat
Skooter really seems to be on a mission!!! I have to say, he has been so much more social.....laying in the same room with me, laying on the couch with me, sleeping with me for most of the night. He is still not really playing that much, but I am guessing that might have a little bit more to do with his age.

I am thinking +3 will be my next test. But I am wondering at what point do I start intervening with LC food? He already got his reduction today, but I also don't want to interfere with what he has going on.

OT: My DM got released from the hospital today, which is great. She will be on blood thinners for a bit, among other medications. It is a sad day because they had to rehome the puppy they got a few months ago. Sully was a great dog, but a bit over excited to see my mom and left a lot of scratches on her. With her being on blood thinners, we simply just could not risk Sully in all her excitement scratching her. If she gets a bruise, we have to draw a circle around it to see how badly it is growing and if she even has a small cut, off to the ER we must go, due to the blood thinner.

Sending comforting vines to my mom and sister who had to give up puppy. We are hoping that in a few months, we may be able to get her an older lap dog so she can still have a friend to snuggle with and spend her days with.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91

I think you could give a tsp or two advance from his next meal, but Skooter isn't dropping fast so may not need a lot of intervention yet.

Great news on your DM being released. :YMHUG: Sorry they had to rehome the puppy, but probably best for both sides. Puppy's can be a LOT of work.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91

I will give him a couple teaspoons and a small taste of turkey breast. I know they should be for pokey treats, but I haven't given him one with each poke because I knew it would be a lot, so I will give him just a small one.

I am holding off on opening the bottle of caffeinated beverage until I for sure need it. I was really hoping to be able to go without the caffeine but, we shall see. He is currently sleeping so sweetly beside me... cat_pet_icon

It is best for all, but I just feel heartbroken for them.....I think they know it was the right thing to do, but still having trouble with it.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91

looking great so far. nice and slow. 21 points movement total in 2.25hrs.

:mrgreen:

glad you're mom's come home, but that's sad on the puppy. understandable though. your mom's health is most important.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91

Glad your mom is home. I know what a relief that is for you. The blood thinners are a challenge but hopefully it will be short term for your mom. Mine has been on one for years.

Look at Skooter having another great cycle. :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93

Might I be able to get away with waiting til +5 or should I do one sometime in the +4 hour?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93

Beautiful surfing!
wave.gif


I'd test either 1/2 hour after his +4 meal if you give it then or before his +5 meal if that's when it's going to be served tonight.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93

I am thinking I will give it at +4 tonight as **knock on wood** all seems well....

I am already thinking about tomorrow....I am just worried about shooting him when I can't be home to monitor him.......
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93

Get that +11 for the PM cycle and that may help your decision. Remember that last time you skipped, Skooter barely missed a beat.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93

That is why I am feeling a little bit better about skipping tomorrow's AM shot if I am not 100% comfortable in shooting it....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96

Still hovering around the same number.....can I give him a break til +6?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96

You can give him that break. One word for today... A-M-A-Z-I-N-G

And you definitely earned these:


bos_zpsb029e400.jpg
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96

Thanks Marje.....

I regretted shooting him as soon as I did it, but it was an experience....

Now Skooter, this is not an experience that momma wants to repeat anytime soon, especially on a work day.....

I am hoping his +6 will allow me to get some sleep tonight.....
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96

Beautiful :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cool:

I too think you did the right thing. . .

I'm curious, why the regret following shooting this morning?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter PMPS 112 +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96

Would've been nice if it hadn't been a work day, but this is so good for him.

The thing is the opportunity comes when it comes.

You've done great today Molly.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96 +6.25 103

Thanks :)


Regret because work day and after I shot it, re-reading the TR protocol is said first time shooting green to stall and post for assistance, and I just kinda did it.

At this point, am I good until doing like a +10 or +11?
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96 +6.25 103

I think you could probably give him some lc food and go to bed. See if anyone else has ideas. If you are worried you could set an alarm and check him in 2 hours.
 
Re: 8/5 Skooter +1 103 +2.25 91 +3.25 93 +4.5 96 +6.25 103

I put some extra food out while he was downstairs...did it very quietly so he didn't come running when he heard the can open...I spread it out on the plate, so I am thinking he should be good....I will plan on getting up for a +11 in four hours so we I can see where he is at for his AMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top