8/5 Savannah pmps 340, spot checks...

Status
Not open for further replies.

dd & savannah

Member Since 2010
Hi again,

So I did increase to .75 this morning...it looks like a repeat of her first day of Lantus
amps 331
+4 314
+9 354
+12 340
Oh well let's see what tomorrow brings us.
Have a good night everyone!
dd

Yesterday's Condo

Good morning all!

I gave my numbers to my vet over the phone yesterday and she thinks I could give Savannah a full 1 unit but when I reread the sticky about tight reg. it looks like I should probably just increase her by .25, making her up to .75. She hasn't really had many consistent nadir readings. I plan on giving her insulin soon so if someone else could give me some advice I'd appreciate it.

Hope everyone is well!
D
 
Re: 8/5 Savannah amps 331, vet wants to increase dose

Good morning! I see that you guys were started on N and also noticed that you didn't stay on that to long...GOOD GIRL!!! LOL, I'm only saying this because Spot was on N also and I kept him on it for 7 months before switching to Lev and I was kicking myself in the you know where for taking so long to switch.

I certainly do not feel qualified to give dosing advise, so I'm going to leave that part alone. I hope you have a great day today!
 
Re: 8/5 Savannah amps 331, vet wants to increase dose

hmm I think 1Unit might be alot but I'll wait for the experts to weigh in. Good luck
 
Re: 8/5 Savannah amps 331, vet wants to increase dose

you're right, with nadirs in the 100's it would be a bit much to double her dose to 1 unit. Usually we wait 8-10 cycles before increasing when there is blue. I would probably hold the 0.5 dose today, then see where she is at PMPS before deciding whether to increase. When you do increase, I would only go to 0.75.
 
Re: 8/5 Savannah amps 331, vet wants to increase dose

SO glad that Libby is here! :mrgreen: My vet was kinda radical with the dosing too. I decided to follow the Protocol and go it alone with the guidance from the board here. I never regretted that. If you increase more than .25u, there is a good chance you might bypass the RIGHT dose so that's why we go slow. :razz:
 
Re: 8/5 Savannah amps 331, vet wants to increase dose

I'm wondering if you shot.

Good instinct. You're correct -- according to the protocol, you would increase by 0.25u. Libby covered the "when" to increase.
 
Re: 8/5 Savannah amps 331, vet wants to increase dose

LOL, the thing is, we often get to the same dose the vet recommends and sometimes even in the same period of time, we just get there differently. A lot of vets say to increase by 1 unit and hold it for 2 weeks. We say increase by 0.25 unit and hold it for 3-4 days. At that rate, we do still get to a 1 unit increase in 2 weeks, but we're a lot more confident that our dose is correct by doing it our way.
 
Re: 8/5 Savannah amps 331, vet wants to increase dose

For some reason I wrote back a few moments ago and thought I submitted but I do not see it. Hmph.

In any case. I'm sorry I could not wait, I did not want to miss her dose time so I did give her .75 u this morning. I am home so I can do spot checks.

I wanted to also increase her so that she had some time to adjust and then I could do a full curve on Sat/Sun and give that info to my vet since she will be leaving soon.

Thanks everyone for helping, it's nice to know you're not alone!
Dianne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top