8/5 Muffin amps 96-Advice if can't be here for shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21540

Well, she turned up her nose at the canned beef. I did not force feed it, but I did smear some on her paw, and dipped some dry food in it. Civvie Kibby ate that...This morning again uninterested in the dipped dry food, but I'll leave it out and see what happens. This is not going to be easy...
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

I hope you are able to transfer to wet food soon. I saw such dramatic drops within days of switching. Try as many different kinds as you can. My cat, Trouble, loves the FF classic chicken feast and tender liver & chicken feast. They are the only two flavors he will eat. He hates all other flavors and brands! You just have to keep trying until you find that magic taste! Good luck and keep trying.
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

this is a great start to the day! I know changing kitties over to wet food can be a real hassle but it is so worth it!
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

Sorry Ronnie, didn't see your post and did not get a +1. Just did a +3 and it's 64. Don't want to feed her now, trying to use hunger to get her to eat something new, so I'll check every hour for a while, and she's sitting right here with me at the computer so can easily keep an eye on her. If she goes much lower I guess I'll have to feed her.

Since her numbers have been pretty good, what about skipping a shot so I can let her get hungrier before I have to feed her? Or a lower dose? What are your thoughts?
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

Anne&Muffin said:
Sorry Ronnie, didn't see your post and did not get a +1. Just did a +3 and it's 64. Don't want to feed her now, trying to use hunger to get her to eat something new, so I'll check every hour for a while, and she's sitting right here with me at the computer so can easily keep an eye on her. If she goes much lower I guess I'll have to feed her.

Since her numbers have been pretty good, what about skipping a shot so I can let her get hungrier before I have to feed her? Or a lower dose? What are your thoughts?


hmmm, I don't think you want to withhold food early in the cycle...little snacks are ok, like a teaspoon or so...you really don't want a big sudden drop.
you'll have to test more frequent if she drops too fast. You want to keep her gently surfing the same range of numbers.

might be easier to temp her to eat new foods by topping it with a little chicken dust
(freeze dried treats like chicken-they crumble easily and most kitties love them)
or a little bit of fishy flavour food.

I would not suggest skipping a shot - as that will deplete the shed - wait for more feedback ok?

keep an eye on her :mrgreen: you never know...
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

Forogt about son's dentist appt - just got back and checked her, so +5.5 is 86.

I won't skip a shot then, and it doesn't seem like she's going to get dangerously low. I'll keep checking tho. I ordered Fortiflora which should be here tomorrow and I'll try a different flavor of canned tonight, as she's not even eating her dry dipped in the beef gravy. She's by far my pickiest eater - the others are all already on the good canned food from the list.

+6 81
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

+7 81 Fortiflora just came, so I'll try that on some canned tonight for dinner. (Well, I won't, but I'll give some to Muffin!) ;-)
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

Hi Anne

will you be able to get at least a before bed time check in tonight?

would be good to have some numbers back on for the evenings now that you're back home.

If you can ok?
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

Yes, I can continue to check until I go to bed. Her shot times are 9am/pm and I'll probably be up til around midnight.
 
Re: 8/5 Muffin amps 96

You might want to try freeze dried chicken or fish crumbs too. I get my at Walmart but people in the US can order online.

I'm with Ronnie, I don't think withholding food is a good idea - although you may need to adjust the insulin if there is little food intake. Trial and error with different foods will be your best bet.... even if it means wasting food.

and I'm also with Ronnie with respect to the spot checks in the evening.... look around at other condos and SSs, lots happens at night. Without checking then, you are missing 1/2 of the story.
 
Just found out no one can be here at 9am tomorrow for her shot. I have to leave at 7:45 and won't be home until after noon. What should I do? Give the shot early or just skip it altogether?
 
I'm laughing at your comment yesterday that Muffin loves Taco Bell. :lol: Every cat is different, that's for sure. Lucy loves Chick-Fil-A.

I'm curious why you increased back to 2 units yesterday, when Meadow was doing really well on 1.5. So far 2 units looks good too, but keep an eye on her the next few cycles when the shed fills. It could be too much. Definitely night spot checks are essential at this point. Lots of cats go lower at night than they do during the day, and she's getting 60's during the day so if she's lower than that...

In the numbers range Muffin is in right now, I don't think I would shoot an hour early unless she's in a bounce. I would test before you leave in the morning, if high or rising fast then you can maybe shoot. It will depend on the number. Otherwise you can shoot when you get back, or skip.

And I agree with the others that withholding food could be asking for trouble if Muffin decides to drop. She needs to eat to be able to work with the insulin. Try lots of different foods, something will click. For my dry food addict, it was Wellness Turkey & Salmon and the Fancy Feast one that looks like real tuna (can't remember the name).
 
Just to add on to Libby's note, if you delay your shot until you get home tomorrow, remember that your PM shot time will be 12 hours from the time you actually gave your AM shot. Depending on your schedule, that may or may not work. You will have the weekend to begin to gradually move the time back to your usual shot time.
 
Libby - the reason I increased was only because that was the dose the vet put her on. I only dropped to 1.5 while I was on vacation and my teenage son was taking care of her to decrease the chance of something bad happening. But you're right, she was doing really well on only 1.5 - should I have just stayed with that?
 
+9 67 Gave small snack of dry; pmps 134. She seems interested in the Fortiflora, but would not eat canned with some sprinkled on top. Sprinkled some on her dry food to try to get her used to it, and she did eat that, so that's promising!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top