Wendi and Milo (GA)
Member Since 2009
Never thought we would be here on a Gum trial, but here we are and it is already Day 5 
For those of you that haven't a clue who we are . . .
Milo was dx with DM - Aug 23rd, 2008, and started on Caninsulin at the time of dx he weighed 9lb. His BG numbers where in the high 400-500's, the vet kept increasing his dose and he continued to go down hill.
Then we found this board, and on Sept 23, 2008 we switched to Lantus and followed the advice of the people here 100%. Since Milo's numbers continued to climb we encouraged to get an acro test.
(Our vet thought we were nuts by the way & charged us $700.00)
On Nov 18th, 2008 Milo's Acro test came back positive, along with a positive result for Pancreatitis, and we switched to Levemir.
Jan 13 -16, 2009 - Milo went to CSU and received SRS, the experimental radiation treatment for Acro. Because Milo was part of the research/study for this treatment we took him for follow-up blood tests, ect every 3 months - those test results are on our spreadsheet. At the time of treatment we were up to 15.5u +R.
We started down the doseing scale and in Aug, 2009 (6 mths after treatment) we had a "Cat" scan done and his tumor was now 1/2 the size, his Growth Hormone was normal & his IGF was way down.
We stalled out around the 3-4u mark and Dr.L figured since Milo's GH was normal he was now a "normal" diabetic cat and would need insulin for the rest of his life.
ANTIJINX****And, a year later here we are on DAY 5
****ANTIJINX
For those of you that haven't a clue who we are . . .
Milo was dx with DM - Aug 23rd, 2008, and started on Caninsulin at the time of dx he weighed 9lb. His BG numbers where in the high 400-500's, the vet kept increasing his dose and he continued to go down hill.
Then we found this board, and on Sept 23, 2008 we switched to Lantus and followed the advice of the people here 100%. Since Milo's numbers continued to climb we encouraged to get an acro test.
(Our vet thought we were nuts by the way & charged us $700.00)
On Nov 18th, 2008 Milo's Acro test came back positive, along with a positive result for Pancreatitis, and we switched to Levemir.
Jan 13 -16, 2009 - Milo went to CSU and received SRS, the experimental radiation treatment for Acro. Because Milo was part of the research/study for this treatment we took him for follow-up blood tests, ect every 3 months - those test results are on our spreadsheet. At the time of treatment we were up to 15.5u +R.
We started down the doseing scale and in Aug, 2009 (6 mths after treatment) we had a "Cat" scan done and his tumor was now 1/2 the size, his Growth Hormone was normal & his IGF was way down.
We stalled out around the 3-4u mark and Dr.L figured since Milo's GH was normal he was now a "normal" diabetic cat and would need insulin for the rest of his life.
ANTIJINX****And, a year later here we are on DAY 5