8/5 Milo DAY 5 - AMBG 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendi and Milo (GA)

Member Since 2009
Never thought we would be here on a Gum trial, but here we are and it is already Day 5 :)

For those of you that haven't a clue who we are . . .

Milo was dx with DM - Aug 23rd, 2008, and started on Caninsulin at the time of dx he weighed 9lb. His BG numbers where in the high 400-500's, the vet kept increasing his dose and he continued to go down hill.

Then we found this board, and on Sept 23, 2008 we switched to Lantus and followed the advice of the people here 100%. Since Milo's numbers continued to climb we encouraged to get an acro test.
(Our vet thought we were nuts by the way & charged us $700.00)

On Nov 18th, 2008 Milo's Acro test came back positive, along with a positive result for Pancreatitis, and we switched to Levemir.

Jan 13 -16, 2009 - Milo went to CSU and received SRS, the experimental radiation treatment for Acro. Because Milo was part of the research/study for this treatment we took him for follow-up blood tests, ect every 3 months - those test results are on our spreadsheet. At the time of treatment we were up to 15.5u +R.

We started down the doseing scale and in Aug, 2009 (6 mths after treatment) we had a "Cat" scan done and his tumor was now 1/2 the size, his Growth Hormone was normal & his IGF was way down.

We stalled out around the 3-4u mark and Dr.L figured since Milo's GH was normal he was now a "normal" diabetic cat and would need insulin for the rest of his life.

ANTIJINX****And, a year later here we are on DAY 5 :)****ANTIJINX
 
Wow! What an inspiring adventure you guys had. And I'm so glad that Milo was considered a 'normal' diabetic kitty, hahaha!
Now look at him! :lol:

Way to go Wendy!
 
Woo hoo! Just took a little longer 'cause of that thick skull, do you think? Just kidding, I have always thought Milo is one gorgeous kitty boy.

This is really exciting, Wendi.
 
What a great story so happy for you Windy & Milo hope to see you at the falls Trey is on day 10 Trial.so good luck to both of you :lol: :razz: bcatrun_gif :YMHUG: dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat drinking24 Kath & Trey
 
I have tingles from reading your brief recap of Milo's history! Wendy -- this is so wonderful. I hope you will let us help you celebrate when Day 14 rolls around.
 
Nina and KB said:
Woo hoo! Just took a little longer 'cause of that thick skull, do you think?

I've purposely refrained from making that comment, but I sure was thinking it!!! :mrgreen:
 
It really IS inspiring! I often hear people say that newly diagnosed kitties can go into remission, but I didn't find this board until almost 2 years after diagnosis. We are definitely not newly diagnosed!! It's so amazing to hear that kitties that have been around the block a time or two can also go into remission!! It gives me hope!!

Congratulations!!

s
 
Day 5??? Wow....well.... HAPPY DAY FIVE MILO!
What a wonderful story...thank you so much for telling us about your adventures....handsome Milo is amazing! SO happy for you both!!! :mrgreen:
 
MILO!!!!!!!!!! WENDY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Day 5???? What???? Oh my, Oh my...I'm so excited! Go Milo.

So happy to see a Milo condo and what great news :-D
 
Boo said:
Nina and KB said:
Woo hoo! Just took a little longer 'cause of that thick skull, do you think?

I've purposely refrained from making that comment, but I sure was thinking it!!! :mrgreen:

Poor Milo, being teased by his aunty Nina & Heather, shame on you both. ;-)

I have such a crazy busy week this week and was planning on starting the trial next week, so we will try our best to pull this off.

Lanky and Susan gave Dr. Lunn the news and she was "thrilled."

Thank you for all the well wishes everyone!!!!!!

PS: Milo's PMBG 75 :-D
 
Wendi!!! Milo!!! Oh my goodness!!!

This is so, so amazing! Well done for your GUM trial - we've got all of our fingers and paws crossed for you both! What a *antijinxantijinxantijinx* party it will be when it comes to *antijinxantijinxantijinx* Day 14!

Watching this space...

Jane and Jack
 
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT
Happy,happy for You,Wendi! Milo...You deserve to go to the Fallls and stay there forever!
Can't believe it! Miracles happen!
All the best and will wait for day 14 and........ dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Wow! This is wonderful :mrgreen. I'm so happy things worked out well for Milo. Still a little sad about Cecil, just wish his heart wasn't messed up and he could have gone through the procedure. :sad: I know Joan is sad about Maddie, too. Darn kidney disease took her out. :sad: I hope Milo continues to do well and gives hope to other newly DX Acro Moms & Dads.


Take Care,

Sandy - Dottie
Jeter & Tilly (coming home soon! :-D )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top