8/5 Kasha AMPS 172, PMPS 156 Dose Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Some sneezes this morning toward the end of breakfast. She ate like a champ, though - over 2 Tbsp Wellness Turkey and Salmon that I mixed with a little water. She also ate a full Tbsp for her +9 snack - that's unheard of.

She has been getting these little bloody mucus plugs in her nostril since the dental - wondering if it has something to do with anesthesia or something? Could be unrelated - it's the same nostril where she has had some mucus/blood and drainage for some time now. Just never quite like this. It's not a lot of anything, but I've had to remove it where it dried up a few times now since surgery and it was never dried like that before. I'm wondering if it has something to do with them giving her something to dry up her mucus membranes prior to surgery. Of course, the air conditioning is on here too, which doesn't seem to help her sinus/nasal issues.

Otherwise, she slept all night on the bed with me. Had her snack in bed but was up for breakfast and ate from a bowl, on her own, without me sitting next to her to encourage her to finish. I actually got to take my own morning supplements while she was eating breakfast.

Ok - I'm still feeling tired. Got to get ready for work, but I really don't feel like it.

Yesterday
 
Re: 8/5 Kasha AMPS 172

sounds like Kasha is recovering nicely after her dental, despite the blood and mucus. I wonder if she has a little clot that keeps bursting and reclotting. I get them in the winter time always in the same nostril. Hope it clears soon
 
Re: 8/5 Kasha AMPS 172

Hi Krys,
It sounds like Kasha is having a better day and eating better is a good sign, too. Hope you can get some answers as to why the bloody mucus plugs. I hope work goes okay for you, too.
 
Re: 8/5 Kasha AMPS 172

Hi Krys, I hope the mucus blood clot clears up soon. Keep your eye on it and maybe ask the vet about it; it is probably related to the extractions. Good AMPS this morning for Kasha. Hope your day goes well and that you will get some rest later.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/5 Kasha AMPS 172

Happy Friday Eve to you both! Maybe the vet will have input on the dried mucus situation....
not a bad AMPS for Kasha today...glad she is eating so well too! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/5 Kasha AMPS 172, 210 @ +6.5 Dose Question?

I know - I'm impatient... but I hate seeing these numbers on her. Should I consider increasing or fattening her dose till she starts heading down into normal territory? I feel like we're losing all the progress we made...
 
She ate about 1 1/2 Tbsp Wellness chicken mixed with water... So - she probably had more like 2 Tbsp when you add in the water... I guess.

I'm going out to eat... I'll check back in a little later.
 
if you'll be able to monitor closely the next few days, then an increase should be fine. She is probably still having some pain from the dental, and when that clears the numbers might drop. It's fine to increase the dose to combat the high numbers (I would) but you do want to be able to catch it when the numbers go down.
 
Hey Krys!
Sounds like she is doing great! Her higher numbers may have to do with her eating more. I've noticed when Purrcie eats heavier his numbers go up. I used to try to "allow" him to only eat so much at a time but then he would lose interest and not eat,then he would get starved and do a scarf and barf, so I have to just let him eat when he wants and as much as he wants and adjust the insulin instead of adjusting the cat, :lol: It's working well right now. With his CRF I am so grateful when he wants to eat as CRF makes him lose his appetite, so to me it's a blessing seeing him wanting food.

Purr said he'd be happy to come by with the Catillac and pick up Kasha for the party. I'm sure he's already texted her by now and they have it all worked out. :-D But I thought you might like to know who she is cruising around with.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
if you'll be able to monitor closely the next few days, then an increase should be fine. She is probably still having some pain from the dental, and when that clears the numbers might drop. It's fine to increase the dose to combat the high numbers (I would) but you do want to be able to catch it when the numbers go down.

Any suggestions on how much to increase? Should I just fatten it a bit? I'm hesitant to go back up to .25, since I've probably been giving less than .1 u (or at least, a skinny .1 to a fat 0 is probably what I'm giving). I won't be around to monitor tomorrow during the day (I'll be at work) but should be able to keep an eye on her most of the rest of the weekend... wondering if I should increase in the morning and give the shed some time to fill up.
 
If you're not comfortable raising the dose a full 0.25u then fatten and do so whenever you're ready. If you're not going to be around, you need to consider safety first.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top