8/5 Fritz AMPS 385 +5 344 +9 334 PMPS 269 +5 236

Status
Not open for further replies.

DebG

Member Since 2016
yesterdayhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-4-fritz-amps-7-293-11-321-pmps-351-5-5-310.181729/

Did I increase from 9.5u too soon? his numbers started to rise from there.
He seems fine I did notice him drinking a bit more water except for the high numbers.
He eats good , grooms,bathroom department is good no changes maybe a bit more pee.
He is enjoying is fresh catnip.
I am just so concerned about his numbers.
Any ideas????
Now that I have him on 10.5u should I hold on this dose and see what happens? If so how long? Should I consider dropping down to 10 and see if his numbers go down?
You would think after doing this for almost 2 years I would know what to do but I don't:arghh::arghh::arghh:
 
Hi Deb, I haven't been around much lately so am not up on Fritz's history (I will work on catching up). However, looking at your spreadsheet I absolutely think increasing to 10.5 units was a good decision. You gave him 10 cycles on 10 units and he didn't get below mid-blue, so I would have increased too. It looks like some glucose toxicity may be setting in (he is getting used to high numbers again). Usually the best way to combat that is to keep increasing the dose, within whatever protocol you are following, until he has another breakthrough. Just keep monitoring because when he does hit a new breakthrough, he might need quick dose reductions.

It looks like he had a failed reduction when you went from 9.5 to 9, and that slowed his momentum a bit. He'll get it back. A lot of cats do this, and I know it is very frustrating when you are used to seeing good numbers, then all of a sudden they are gone.

Am I correct (looking at your signature) that he was not diagnosed with Acro or IAA? I only ask because his spreadsheet reminds me a lot of my Jazzy, who was acro. She would be soooooo consistent with her numbers, then all of a sudden would decide she needed much bigger or smaller dose for no apparent reason. It drove me crazy sometimes! In an acro cat, that usually means that the tumor is excreting varying amounts of hormones, but in a non-acro it is probably just glucose toxicity. Either way, more insulin should take care of it. Don't second guess yourself, you're doing great!
 
Hi Deb, I haven't been around much lately so am not up on Fritz's history (I will work on catching up). However, looking at your spreadsheet I absolutely think increasing to 10.5 units was a good decision. You gave him 10 cycles on 10 units and he didn't get below mid-blue, so I would have increased too. It looks like some glucose toxicity may be setting in (he is getting used to high numbers again). Usually the best way to combat that is to keep increasing the dose, within whatever protocol you are following, until he has another breakthrough. Just keep monitoring because when he does hit a new breakthrough, he might need quick dose reductions.

It looks like he had a failed reduction when you went from 9.5 to 9, and that slowed his momentum a bit. He'll get it back. A lot of cats do this, and I know it is very frustrating when you are used to seeing good numbers, then all of a sudden they are gone.

Am I correct (looking at your signature) that he was not diagnosed with Acro or IAA? I only ask because his spreadsheet reminds me a lot of my Jazzy, who was acro. She would be soooooo consistent with her numbers, then all of a sudden would decide she needed much bigger or smaller dose for no apparent reason. It drove me crazy sometimes! In an acro cat, that usually means that the tumor is excreting varying amounts of hormones, but in a non-acro it is probably just glucose toxicity. Either way, more insulin should take care of it. Don't second guess yourself, you're doing great!
His Acro & IAA came back negative. I greatly appreciate your looking into his SS. Because of people like you I and I speak for others here are able to press forward and keep going when everything looks bleak and when we experience what appears to be failures. I will go your to follow the TR and increase and monitor as protocol.
 
His Acro & IAA came back negative.
You had him tested at the beginning of his diabetes journey. Acromegalic cats can produce false negatives for newly diagnosed and unregulated cats, which Fritz was at the time you had him tested. I suggest you get him tested again. A cat on 10 units likely has a secondary condition causing insulin resistance. It'd be worth trying to figure out what that is. He has other symptoms of acromegaly - large size without being a big eater, leaking eyes. Yesterday you mentioned taking him in for blood work, which I think is a good idea if it's been a while, and I would tack on the IGF-1 test too. If nothing else, to eliminate that possibility.

I totally agree with Libby that this looks like Fritz has decided he needs more insulin. If at the end of end of six cycles at this dose you aren't seeing at least low blues, I would increase by 1 unit. That is the size of increases we suggest for over a 10 unit total dose, unless you are just tweaking a dose with some green in it.
I only ask because his spreadsheet reminds me a lot of my Jazzy, who was acro. She would be soooooo consistent with her numbers, then all of a sudden would decide she needed much bigger or smaller dose for no apparent reason. It drove me crazy sometimes!
I so remember those times with Neko too. Nothing you can do but chase after the numbers with increases and reel him back in. You are doing a good job keeping on top of his insulin needs Deb. Fritz is just proving to be more challenging at this point in time. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
You had him tested at the beginning of his diabetes journey. Acromegalic can produce false negatives for newly diagnosed and unregulated cats, which Fritz was at the time you had him tested. I suggest you get him tested again. A cat on 10 units likely has a secondary condition causing insulin resistance. It'd be worth trying to figure out what that is. He has other symptoms of acromegaly - large size without being a big eater, leaking eyes. Yesterday you mentioned taking him in for blood work, which I think is a good idea if it's been a while, and I would tack on the IGF-1 test too. If nothing else, to eliminate that possibility.

I totally agree with Libby that this looks like Fritz has decided he needs more insulin. If at the end of end of six cycles at this dose you aren't seeing at least low blues, I would increase by 1 unit. That is the size of increases we suggest for over a 10 unit total dose, unless you are just tweaking a dose with some green in it.

I so remember those times with Neko too. Nothing you can do but chase after the numbers with increases and reel him back in. You are doing a good job keeping on top of his insulin needs Deb. Fritz is just proving to be more challenging at this point in time. :bighug:
I will get him in for BW including the Acro IAA & IGF-1. I'LL post as soon as I get results. Wendy thank you!!!!!!:)
 
I'm in the same boat... he was doing well now I'm chasing increases. Getting acro/IAA tests done next week. In the meantime :banghead: hang in there. You're not alone :bighug:
Thanks Susan :bighug:Hope things go well with Jimmy and you are able to get on the right path to better numbers!
 
What a beautiful cat, he's got that 'leave me the XXXX alone look" that my Marvin loves to give me.... So many people have been talking about dental this week, maybe an infection is causing his BG to be higher than normal too. Our fur babies may like to act tough but they are fragile :)
 
I'm gonna get him in for a through exam and BW asap. Poor guy hates going to the vet as we travel so much and rarely gets too see the same vet. He use to not mind all the poking and tests but somewhere along someone must of hurt him now he growls kisses and is not tolerate of any of them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top