8/5 FLUFFY AMPS -541|PMPS - 309|

You asked why bouncing occurs. From the basic sticky:


  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Nothing to do. Just put NS in the dose column for last night. Carry on as usual. You won’t need to test much today. Maybe just grab a mid cycle.
 
Nothing to do. Just put NS in the dose column for last night. Carry on as usual. You won’t need to test much today. Maybe just grab a mid cycle.
This farm work is very exhausting I feel like I'm working from sunrise to sunset not exactly but 8:00 in the morning to 9:00 at night I'm so exhausted I ain't no spring chicken anymore.

I don't need to adjust his dose or anything? Now how far back is this mistake going to send us back in our progress? I just got a BG from him, it's 499
 
No more tests until pmps. I don’t know how long he will take. The count starts over at this dose for a week according to SLGS.
 
Last edited:
I figured out why his BG numbers are high because last night at his 8:45 shot time I must have been so tired I forgot to shoot him and I found the syringe with the insulin in it on the bed the bed that we don't sleep in.. oH NO!! WHAT DO I DO????
.
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Diane Tyler's Mom
@Chris & China (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
Elise said it all. It will be okay. I'm sorry this happened, but he will get back on track. They always do!
 
This farm work is very exhausting I feel like I'm working from sunrise to sunset not exactly but 8:00 in the morning to 9:00 at night I'm so exhausted I ain't no spring chicken anymore.

I don't need to adjust his dose or anything? Now how far back is this mistake going to send us back in our progress? I just got a BG from him, it's 499
Give it time. It would only be a guess if I tried to say how long it will take... one missed shot drained the depot a bit, but should not have completely drained it. You're only human and an exhausted human at that. I hope this farm work will be over with soon!
 
Give it time. It would only be a guess if I tried to say how long it will take... one missed shot drained the depot a bit, but should not have completely drained it. You're only human and an exhausted human at that. I hope this farm work will be over with soon!
I go home Monday early evening
 
It was really lovely of you to do that for your daughter. I am sure that it must be difficult to ever get away if you live on a farm; I am sure she appreciates it.

True. I'm sure she does. She's on lived here for 15 mos now. But its very tiring for me. But I love being out here. Can't seem to get to my cucumbers to make pickles tho!
 
Back
Top