? 8/5 Ember AMPS 309 Reduction or hold?

Elaine and Ember

Member Since 2025
Good morning! I did a reduction this morning just in case, but I don’t feel like Ember truly earned it since her low number was caused by an external factor and not her just reacting to the insulin. Our ant invasion is back and her feeder was swarming in thousands of ants and she didn’t eat that food (for obvious reasons) and she wouldn’t settle in to eat her dinner either. She only picked at it despite my adding fortiflora. So she didn’t have as much food in her system as she usually does. She ate her gravy 14% food at +3.5 and her BG went shooting back up way more quickly than it usually does when she goes low, so I think she just didn’t have enough food in her system to counteract the insulin.
So do we take the reduction or hold the dose at 3.5? I’m not sure what the correct course of action is in this case. (She’s eating normally this morning since there aren’t any ants swarming in her dishes.)
Safe surfing all! 😻
8/4 Ember AMPS 307
 
The thing with IAA, you want to get them on a dose that sees as much (safe) green as possible. 3.25 units wasn't doing anything for her last time. You've been doing SLGS for long enough with Ember, that you have a good feel for what is best for her.

Ugh on the ant story.
 
Ugh we're actually having an ant problem at our place too and had to throw out a bunch of avocados yesterday. We have 5 cats but I guess only the humans are responsible for hunting said ants 😭 . Good luck with the ants and wishing Ember a nice safe surf!
 
The thing with IAA, you want to get them on a dose that sees as much (safe) green as possible. 3.25 units wasn't doing anything for her last time. You've been doing SLGS for long enough with Ember, that you have a good feel for what is best for her.

Ugh on the ant story.
Thanks! I think it’s best to stay the course with this dose then since I don’t want the ants to derail our progress (or lack therof😜). Actually she’s due for an increase tomorrow, so I’ll proceed as planned (barring anything crazy tonight, of course. ) Thanks for the advice as always!
 
Ugh we're actually having an ant problem at our place too and had to throw out a bunch of avocados yesterday. We have 5 cats but I guess only the humans are responsible for hunting said ants 😭 . Good luck with the ants and wishing Ember a nice safe surf!
Why can’t they just hunt the ants?!? My kitty Hoodoo LOVES to sit and stare at the ants but doesn’t eat them or try to catch them. I keep telling her to earn her keep and kill at least a couple, but no luck. 😹
 
Back
Top