8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.8(42

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy-and-Cleo

Member Since 2012
Morning folks - hope everyone is having a great Sunday.

Cleo started out the day pretty high, after upping her insulin dose last night. This happened last time we increased her too - she was a little higher than normal. Cleo's not having the best day today, poor kitty. We're cleaning, so she's running and hiding a lot!

Yesterday's 8/4 Cleo Condo
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117);+8(111)

Looks like we're having a long coast in the very low blues - can almost see green from here :0 I was thinking we might be a little lower with the increased dose, but we'll see how it goes tonight.

We also had a short vet visit today at around +8 for a blood draw (to check on Cleo's low potassium and see if the supplement we've been giving her is helping any), so we'll see what +10 looks like! Cleo does noooooot like the cat carrier or being at the vet (but what cat does?)
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117);+8(111)

A blue surf is nice. Was the blood test for potassium conclusive?
Carl
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117);+8(111)

Sometimes, cats bgs will go down from a vet visit. Hope the test comes out good, and his potassium levels are improving.

That's a very nice blue surf
00002042.gif
you got going there, Cleo.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117);+8(111)

Thanks for the checkins :) They are sending the bloodwork out to the lab, so I'll have a phone call with the vet tomorrow and find out about the potassium level. My vet indicated that a lot of times for a cat that starts with low potassium, she may continue to need potassium supplements until her insulin level is stabilized... I'll let you know what I find out tomorrow!
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117):+12(145) - Shoot

I just did my AM +12 reading, normally my PMPS - but Cleo is only at 145. Normally she's up in the high 100s or low 200s. Do I go ahead and shoot? I know I'll be feeding her momentarily, but still concerned.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117):+12(145) - Shoot

Kathy...don't feed her. Hold on just a second and let me look at her SS, ok. BRB.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117);+8(111)

Bob needed potassium supplements even after he went into remission. He's living in the low end of "normal" nowadays. But sprinkling powder on his food once a day is easier than doing the diabetes dance, so I'm not complaining! He's much better than he was, activity-wise and muscle strength-wise for sure.

Carl
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117):+12(145) - Shoot

Ok...Do you have plenty of strips, HC food/gravy/karo, can you test tonight...even if you have to stay up or get up?

If so....I'd like you to shoot. What do you think? I'll be on and watching. If you shoot...and I hope you will, please get a +1 and +2 and post as you get them.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117):+12(145) - Shoot

I would go ahead and shoot. The numbers are rising, you're going to feed which will bump numbers up further and Lantus won't kick in for at least another hour.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo - AMPS (274);+4(114);+6(117):+12(145) - Shoot

I was just reviewing the "how to handle shooting low" and I agree with you guys. She's quite a bit above the 'worry zone' but she does tend to drop dramatically in the first few hours. Going to give her her dinner and shoot her 1.75U. I will do a +1 and +2 and post back.

All my emergency supplies are set, so no worries there.

Thanks for the quick answers :) I'll edit out my subject when i come back. I don't want to push her shot time back unnecessarily.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -AMPS (274);+4(114);+8(111):PMPS(145)

Alrighty, dinner is done and 1.75U shot. I will test in one hour and post :)
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163)

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163

Going up for now, probably because of dinner. We'll check in again in another hour :)
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85)

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85

We're definitely falling now, which I kind of expected. Should I check her in 30 min or an hour?
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85)

I'm thinking you need to be prepared to be up, Kathy. :-D :-D

I'd get a +3, ok? I'll be waiting. N(sorry to be late for +2...I thought you would bump).
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85)

No problem Marjorie... I will be getting a +3.

Sorry for the confusion at +2. I edited the subject of the start post and posted a reply. I thought posting a reply bumped the thread back up to the top?
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85)

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51

Ok, definitely still falling. Usually she doesn't hit nadir for about another hour, so I'm leaning towards giving some food here.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51)

How about two good tsp of LC and retest in 30 mins. I'll wait for your number.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51)

Ok Marjorie, will do. LC coming up - that'll make Cleo happy - she loooooves her food.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51)

Ok, 2 tsp (measured out) of FF Classic Chicken given. Will test her again in 20 min.

She was super excited when she saw me pull out the can. Jumped off my desk and toddled into the kitchen and did her normal snapping-turtle imitation in gobbling the food down as quick as I would give it to her.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51)

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51
+3.5 = 40

Down to 40. Giving 1 tsp. grilled turkey with gravy (HC - 18%).

Still looking alert and lively. Apparently loves the HC food :) slurped it right up and is laying in the kitchen, sniffing the air, looking for more. Tail is swishing and eyes are bright. She seems very alert. Will be retesting in 10 min.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51)

Good..give her a good tspsnof the gravy. Lather, rinse, repeat....see you in 30.

And she just earned a reduction :-D she gets 1.5u for her new dose :-D
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40)

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51
+3.5 = 40
+3.8 = 42

Just gave her an additional 1 heaping tsp. of HC (18%). She's eating right now.
WCR: She seems to be acting normally and is hanging out in the kitchen drinking some water. Off to test her again - poor ears!
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Keep on keeping on... Another tsp gravy, retest in 30. :-D
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51
+3.5 = 40
+3.8 = 42
+4 = 50

Looks like we're on the rise. Since she's just exactly at 50, per the treating low numbers sticky, I went ahead and gave another 1 tsp. HC (18%). She's busy licking that up right now, quite happily :)

I'll be retesting in 20 min.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Great job, Kathy and Cleo! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Resistance if futile. You know you're dealing with the Borg Queen (Marje)? :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Younsrendoing greet, Kathy. Handling this like an old pro!

See. You in 30.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51
+3.5 = 40
+3.8 = 42
+4 = 50
+4.5 = 48

Bobbling - maybe she's trying to earn 2 dose reductions? (Kidding).

Anyhow, gave another 1 tsp. HC (18%). By the time this night's over she'll have scored an entire extra can of food! Will be checking her again in 20-30 or so.

I think she's starting to get disenchanted with the frequent testing. I had to drag her down from upstairs this last time!
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Poor CLeo!!!! This testing every 30 minutes is tough and I don't like doing it but because of the wobble....you have to. But I'd give it 30 min...not 20. It takes at least 30 mins for it to bring the BG up.

What do you think about giving her a little HC food? SHe's earned her reduction....I'd prefer she not sit in the 40s. Just a tsp of HC food.

See you in 30.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51
+3.5 = 40
+3.8 = 42
+4 = 50
+4.5 = 48
+4.8 = 58

Hi Marjorie,

I waited til 20 min to test, I was contemplating 30, but I wanted to make sure she wasn't wobbling down further.

Good news, she was up to 58 this time! I am feeding her an additional 1 tsp. of HC (she's gotten 1 tsp after every reading - so that's 5 tsps of HC tonight), per the sticky. The sticky says to keep feeding HC 1 tsp at a time and testing every 15-20 til you get 2 readings over 50 in a row. Crossing my fingers her next reading will be over 50/rising also, so we can step back a little here!

Anyhow, I'll be testing her again at +5, I might push it a few extra minutes to give her a little more recovery time. I will post back with results.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Ok...I'll be here :-D you are doing great.

One thing about the sticky...they are there for a lot of good reasons but mainly as something to help you if you are alone. I know this is her first time this low and it is a little nailbite_smile

But I've found that if you poke every 15-20 minutes, then the kitty is going to get real tired of that quickly AND you might feed more than you need. It does take time to see more than a little shift in numbers so if you are feeding every 20 minutes instead of every 30, kitty is likely to get full.

Of course, if kitty is lower than 30, I'd be feeding karo and checking every 20 minutes.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51 (fed 2 tsp. LC)
+3.5 = 40 (fed 1 heaping tsp. HC)
+3.8 = 42 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4 = 50 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4.5 = 48 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4.8 = 58 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+5.2 = 60

She looks to be steady/rising and above 50, so I'm not giving her any more food for the moment. Going to give her ears a rest until +6 I think, unless you guys think I need to check her earlier.

Thanks, as always, for the excellent advice and hand holding :) You guys are the best!
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Oh...I just saw the Borg Queen thing from Liz :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

She means I "coax" new members into shooting :lol: :lol: :lol: even them at one time :-D now they have major BOS!

Ok....she's up, Jane is here...I think I might go to bed . This is the fourth night in a row up late for me :smile:

One thing...don't trust Cleo! She's had a lot of HC. It wears off in about two hours and she might start to wobble. I always like to end the testing with a nice meal of LC. If you have to give it after nadir, that's ok when you are dealing with low numbers but no food after +10 unless she's in the 40s :shock:

Great work Kathy....you were cool as a cucumber! I'll find Jane for you. Hope you get some rest.

Don't forget about the reduction in the morning except if she bounces. If she bounces up high 200s or above, you can shoot through the bounce with the current dose one time and the. The next cycle, take the reduction


oK? Nighty night :-D
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Got it, thanks Marjorie! Have a wonderful and well-earned night's rest!
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

I'm here! Somehow I'm not shown as online (??) but you're good to go sleepus Marje! Stellar work as always. Bowing before you as behooves the Borg Queen's minions :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

:lol: :lol: ....that's weird....I just saw you online a minute ago.

Thank you! Even the BQ needs sleep ;-)

Have a fun night, ladies.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

NiNi Marje! Enjoy your queenly slumberings :mrgreen:

Kathy, hello! Quite a cycle you've had, fantastic job again!! I'll look out for that (+6) and then we'll go from there, k?
Jane
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Sounds good Jane, and thanks for the encouragement :-D

I'll be posting back with a +6 in about 15 minutes.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51 (fed 2 tsp. LC)
+3.5 = 40 (fed 1 heaping tsp. HC)
+3.8 = 42 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4 = 50 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4.5 = 48 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4.8 = 58 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+5.2 = 60
+6 = 112

Looks like all that HC is hitting and/or nadir is past and she's swinging up now...

I will stay up for another check at +7. If she's still in the low/mid 100s at +7 I would like to go to bed... should I give her a couple tsp of LC? How much did Marje mean when she said she liked to end the testing with a LC meal? Normally for a full meal I give Cleo a 3 oz. can of FF Classic, but I'd rather not give her that much mid-cycle unless it's necessary.
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Hi Kathy

Glad to see that (+6). Just looking at your SS. Cleo *has* wobbled/slipped back down a bit at (+7) and even (+8) tests, I see. So yes, a (+7) is a great idea, and then hopefully, we can send you to go sleepus. Lets' see when we get there.

Hmm, Marje wouldn't pick the word "meal" if she meant only one or two teaspoons, I think... How does half her regular meal sound to you?
Jane
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

Sounds good, that will be in about 35 minutes, so I'll post back then :)
 
Re: 8/5 - Cleo -PMPS(145);+1(163);+2(85);+3(51);+3.5(40);+3.

PMPS - 145
+1 = 163
+2 = 85
+3 = 51 (fed 2 tsp. LC)
+3.5 = 40 (fed 1 heaping tsp. HC)
+3.8 = 42 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4 = 50 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4.5 = 48 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+4.8 = 58 (fed 1 tsp. HC)
+5.2 = 60
+6 = 112
+7 = 177

She's definitely climbing quick now. Do you think I need to go ahead and give her LC food considering how high she already is?

And, assuming she's high in the AM (high 200s) should I go ahead and shoot the 1.75 like Marje suggested and then reduce for the PM dose? I can't be home to monitor tomorrow since I have work, so I'm a little hesitant on that front...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top