8/5, Binie AMPS 415, +4 308

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-4-binie-amps-500-6-317-increase.292804/

Good afternoon,

seems like Binies increase from 1.25 to 1.5 yesterday evening was too much. After +1 she went down quickly and I fed high carb (10 %, 20 % and later 50 %) between +2 and +4. I stayed awake with her until +6.5 to keep her safe. I managed to do an ear prick when she was 84 on the Libre and she was 98 on the handheld. She went further down to 72 on the Libre but I did not manage to test her again. So I am not 100 % sure, if she went below 90 on the handheld.

Anyhow, I can not manage something like that on a regular basis and I decided to reduce again. As I know that 1.25 IU is not enough insulin, I was giving a 1.25 f this morning. We'll see how the next days go. Strange, she is reacting this strong on the increase. There is not even a depot yet!?

This lack of sleep is really difficult for me. This morning I put raisins in the flake squeezer instead of oats. :rolleyes: While this is just funny (besides the cleaning part...), I start making mistakes at work and forget things. So I have to find something, which is sustainable for Binie but also for my health.

Hope everyone is having a nice day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-4-binie-amps-500-6-317-increase.292804/

Good afternoon,

seems like Binies increase from 1.25 to 1.5 yesterday evening was too much. After +1 she went down quickly and I fed high carb (10 %, 20 % and later 50 %) between +2 and +4. I stayed awake with her until +6.5 to keep her safe. I managed to do an ear prick when she was 84 on the Libre and she was 98 on the handheld. She went further down to 72 on the Libre but I did not manage to test her again. So I am not 100 % sure, if she went below 90 on the handheld.

Anyhow, I can not manage something like that on a regular basis and I decided to reduce again. As I know that 1.25 IU is not enough insulin, I was giving a 1.25 f this morning. We'll see how the next days go. Strange, she is reacting this strong on the increase. There is not even a depot yet!?

This lack of sleep is really difficult for me. This morning I put raisins in the flake squeezer instead of oats. :rolleyes: While this is just funny (besides the cleaning part...), I start making mistakes at work and forget things. So I have to find something, which is sustainable for Binie but also for my health.

Hope everyone is having a nice day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh boy, Heike, it's exactly the same as last time at this higher dose. I'm so sorry Binie went down so fast and you had a hard time with keeping her elevated with higher carbs:eek:
I wonder if a fat 1.25 unit dose would work?
But I'm not qualified to suggest dosing.
Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) can suggest something since she was helpful yesterday.
Or, perhaps post a question in your title.

I hope the rest of your day got better. I do understand the exhaustion factor and making mistakes. It scares the crap out of me.
Wishing you a much better night with more sleep tonight:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh boy, Heike, it's exactly the same as last time at this higher dose. I'm so sorry Binie went down so fast and you had a hard time with keeping her elevated with higher carbs:eek:
I wonder if a fat 1.25 unit dose would work?
But I'm not qualified to suggest dosing.
Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) can suggest something since she was helpful yesterday.
Or, perhaps post a question in your title.

I hope the rest of your day got better. I do understand the exhaustion factor and making mistakes. It scares the crap out of me.
Wishing you a much better night with more sleep tonight:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Hi Staci,

yes, it was exactly like the last time, when I went from 1.25 to 1.5. I also thought a fat 1.25 might work and I gave it in the morning and tonight. I find it incredibly hard to draw it and it took me quite some time staring at the syringe to decide if it was o.k. I am using these German paper rulers and only with the scale on the syringe, I would not be able to do it.

We'll see what happens tonight. She started quite high with 424. Maybe she is also bouncing from last night.

Tonight I will try to go to bed earlier and if I've got the feeling that she will go deeper I can always put my alarm clock on. Sometimes I stay up late even though it does not make too much sense. I have to stop that because I really need the sleep to function well.

I always wonder how you manage Staci, if I see you being awake so many nights for these long stretches of time. Having family and a house and work to do. Here it is just Binie and me and besides my work I don't have any important obligations.

I see Ivy has a long and beautiful string of blue today. Good girl! :cat:

Hope you have a beautiful day and thank you so much for your support and for checking on us! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

yes, it was exactly like the last time, when I went from 1.25 to 1.5. I also thought a fat 1.25 might work and I gave it in the morning and tonight. I find it incredibly hard to draw it and it took me quite some time staring at the syringe to decide if it was o.k. I am using these German paper rulers and only with the scale on the syringe, I would not be able to do it.

We'll see what happens tonight. She started quite high with 424. Maybe she is also bouncing from last night.

Tonight I will try to go to bed earlier and if I've got the feeling that she will go deeper I can always put my alarm clock on. Sometimes I stay up late even though it does not make too much sense. I have to stop that because I really need the sleep to function well.

I always wonder how you manage Staci, if I see you being awake so many nights for these long stretches of time. Having family and a house and work to do. Here it is just Binie and me and besides my work I don't have any important obligations.

I see Ivy has a long and beautiful string of blue today. Good girl! :cat:

Hope you have a beautiful day and thank you so much for your support and for checking on us! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am sure she is bouncing from last night. Makes sense!

Can you get calipers where you live?? That paper ruler looks like it would be hard to use :(

I set an alarm on my phone for every 20 to 40 minutes when she is dropping fast and keep resetting it after I give her some food. Then if she stretches to an hour I set it for an hour.
I absolutely cannot trust myself to stay awake, since I know I doze off too easily all night long.
Yes, it's very very difficult with the sleep deprivation.

It has definitely affected my life. I can no longer make too many commitments or venture too far from home. And travel is absolutely out of the question.

We are both doing the best we can, Heike. All we can do is take this one day at a time.
I'm sending you many hugs and good wishes for a very restful sleep and Binie's safety :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am sure she is bouncing from last night. Makes sense!

Can you get calipers where you live?? That paper ruler looks like it would be hard to use :(

I set an alarm on my phone for every 20 to 40 minutes when she is dropping fast and keep resetting it after I give her some food. Then if she stretches to an hour I set it for an hour.
I absolutely cannot trust myself to stay awake, since I know I doze off too easily all night long.
Yes, it's very very difficult with the sleep deprivation.

It has definitely affected my life. I can no longer make too many commitments or venture too far from home. And travel is absolutely out of the question.

We are both doing the best we can, Heike. All we can do is take this one day at a time.
I'm sending you many hugs and good wishes for a very restful sleep and Binie's safety :bighug::bighug::bighug:


I already bought calipers (after I figures out the German word for it... :)) but so far I am not sure if they really make it easier. Maybe I used them the wrong way. I finde these paper rulers quite easy to use but even though you have to trust your eyes that the plunger is in line with the ruler. It's the same with the caliper, isn't it? I don't understand how people can work with the scale on the syringe. On my syringes, the scale is printed very often in a slightly different place. Sometimes I would give up to 0.5 units more or less if I would trust the scale on the syringe.

It's a good idea to set the alarm as you do. I just wonder if I would manage to sleep inbetween. I'm not that much in panic anymore as I used to but still there is a lot of adrenalin in my body, if she is going low. Yesterday I had a hard time to fall asleep when she was finally going up again.

Yes, life is different with a diabetes kitty. And I think it is as you said. It's a process and taking it one day at a time is definitely a good way.

Binie is still high now and I think I will prepare myself to go to sleep early.

I hope you have a calm and peaceful night and you can rest! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike :)
I'm sorry Binie didn't hold the dose. I think you're right that the depot hasn't yet been built so I'd say that it was the 1.25 that gave her the low. But I'm really not that experiences to say something with authority about this.
I'm also using the printed ruler. I never got int other calipers. Don't know why. I guess there's so much fiddling around with managing so many details that I thought I'd make my life easier where I can.
I too sooooo get the tiredness. I think many of us here do. It seems to be part of managing FD. I hope that with time as Binie finds more regulation and when you learn more her patterns you can manage more rest. I got so used to get up in the middle of the night that I do things with my eyes half closed :p
I wish you a lovely evening and hopefully a good, deep sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike :)
I'm sorry Binie didn't hold the dose. I think you're right that the depot hasn't yet been built so I'd say that it was the 1.25 that gave her the low. But I'm really not that experiences to say something with authority about this.
I'm also using the printed ruler. I never got int other calipers. Don't know why. I guess there's so much fiddling around with managing so many details that I thought I'd make my life easier where I can.
I too sooooo get the tiredness. I think many of us here do. It seems to be part of managing FD. I hope that with time as Binie finds more regulation and when you learn more her patterns you can manage more rest. I got so used to get up in the middle of the night that I do things with my eyes half closed :p
I wish you a lovely evening and hopefully a good, deep sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Shelly, oh, that is a new thought for me, that the low came from 1.25 IU. My comment about the depot just meant, that 1.5 is giving her lows even though it has no depot to make it even stronger. I really hope it was not the 1.25. :nailbiting:

Great you also use the paper rulers! I was surprised, that Americans don't use them but I learned here, that in the US there is no A4 paper. I also think the rulers are simple and reliable.

Thank you for having empathy with my tiredness! I can imagine you didn't sleep much the last days as well. I also hope things get a bit more normal one day. But somehow I get the feeling, that things never get normal with an older cat with health challenges. :rolleyes:

I hope Fistuk finally feeling better helps you to relax today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top